English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hall Of Light > HOL contributions

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 April 2005, 01:21   #1
Toaks
Registered User
Toaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: norway
Posts: 93
LOOK what i found....OMG

this link might be of interest to HOL....

it seems Mindscape didnt want to make a new engine for their new pacman game...so instead they ripped An Amiga engine(?) to guts to use for their new game 1 year later.

http://www.abandonia.com/games/473/P...ac_In_Time.htm

Fury of the Furries = Pac in time with new sprite.... and some intro pics..

i have not tested the game myself (i have no pc) but the review states its simmilar + i saw the pics....and well...heh.


guess its a job for the conversion box :-)
Toaks is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 April 2005, 01:38   #2
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Amazing stuff I wonder if this is done legally Fury of the Furries also had a PC version so there are two F.of the F. games on PC. Switching between furries and the restrictions of doing so was the part of the gameplay. I wonder how this is handled (and I'll see )
 
Old 15 June 2005, 16:26   #3
JohnnyWalker
aka ThunderPeel2001
JohnnyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 267
I bet they figured they'd sell more if they turned it into a Pacman license for the PC.
JohnnyWalker is offline  
Old 15 June 2005, 18:13   #4
EmuChicken
Senior Member
EmuChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nagoya, Japan (moved!)
Age: 34
Posts: 719
Pacman in Time, yeh...I knew about this before, its available on the SNES from what I remember... have a search on the net :-D
EmuChicken is offline  
Old 15 June 2005, 19:44   #5
astuermer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 101
Send a message via ICQ to astuermer Send a message via MSN to astuermer
Hmm, as you can see. Pac in Time is produced by Kalisto - the same group who produced Fury of the Furries. So where shall there be copyright troubles? Both games by the same coders?
astuermer is offline  
Old 15 June 2005, 19:58   #6
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,620
Yeah!!

Coders cashing in on a game!! Releasing it twice with diff name and gfx

Booooo
BippyM is offline  
Old 15 June 2005, 22:09   #7
EmuChicken
Senior Member
EmuChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nagoya, Japan (moved!)
Age: 34
Posts: 719
Didnt Nintendo do that pretty much by stealing someone else's game, changing graphics- then calling it Super Mario Bros 2 (or Super Mario USA in Japan)... I think Japan had "The Lost Levels" as Super Mario Bros 2 :-)
EmuChicken is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OMG OMG - Finally I got BlitzQuake_WOS to run! fitzsteve Retrogaming General Discussion 17 09 June 2011 18:14
OMG!! How many versions of Protracker are there!!! h0ffman New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 30 October 2008 06:30
OMG .. Icky website .. mr_0rga5m Amiga scene 30 11 June 2007 00:18
Omg!!! Swapping Disks!! Is It Actualy Possable!? bob New to Emulation or Amiga scene 34 19 May 2007 14:39
OMG!!!! poor miggy Heavyweight7t6 MarketPlace 12 30 August 2005 20:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14548 seconds with 11 queries