English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 April 2005, 06:13   #1
ogradyc1984
 
Posts: n/a
Amiga 1200 - Keyboard problems...

Hi Guys,

I'm having some pretty bad problems with my amiga 1200 at the moment... i've been trying to play some games (Rick Dangerous, Bubble Bobble, Clown-o-Mania, Rainbow Islands).

I have Amiga Workbench 3.1 installed on a 2.1GB Toshiba HDD. I have 3.0 kickroms.

The problem is, in workbench I can type and use the keyboard fine... all the keys work etc... but as soon as I load a game up, no matter what keys I press, I CANNOT move the in game character, nothing responds...

I can press 1 to start a game in 1 player mode, or I can press space to add credits to Bubble Bobble to play it, but once im in the game, the keyboard does not respond.

In Rick Dangerous and Clown-o-Mania, the demo just keeps rolling, I can't get into the game, nothing will respond... yet I can reboot the amiga using CTRL-A-A.

Any ideas? I've spent around 70 getting all the kit to get this set up, and im a bit gutted that I can't actually use the thing

Please help!!!!

Craig
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 April 2005, 08:14   #2
Dj Dishcloth
Junior Member
Dj Dishcloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Age: 42
Posts: 22
Smile

May I recommend a joystick
Dj Dishcloth is offline  
Old 10 April 2005, 09:02   #3
wlcina
Registered User
wlcina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 568
rofl :-)
wlcina is offline  
Old 10 April 2005, 10:15   #4
Dr. Dude
Senior Member
Dr. Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: On Ami World
Posts: 500
Dr. Dude is offline  
Old 10 April 2005, 10:53   #5
icewizard2k5
Junior Member
icewizard2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 31
Posts: 200
press fire
icewizard2k5 is offline  
Old 10 April 2005, 12:52   #6
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
May i too, suggest a joystick for you?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 10 April 2005, 12:57   #7
lloyd
Mehh :D
lloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bristol, SW UK
Age: 55
Posts: 242
Hang on guys, there may be a problem here. If the game is SUPPOSED to work with a keyboard it obviously has a problem.
lloyd is offline  
Old 10 April 2005, 13:10   #8
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
Rick Dangerous, Bubble Bobble and Rainbow Islands all *require* a joystick. For every machine other than the PC/Mac, keyboard control went out with the Spectrum.
ant512 is offline  
Old 10 April 2005, 13:14   #9
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
But lloyd, look at the titles he mentioned. Did you ever played:

Rick Dangerous,
Bubble Bobble,
Clown-o-Mania,
Rainbow Islands,

...using a keyboard?
'Couse i didn't



BTW: Just to make sure, ogradyc1984. You do use a REAL amy 1200?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 10 April 2005, 16:28   #10
ogradyc1984
 
Posts: n/a
ok so i didnt know that..

well thanks for solving my problem... guess i better order a joystick. Or could I use one I already have? I've got a sega megadrive, could I use the pads from them? they are serial.

yes im using a real amiga 1200. but im totally new to the scene, so go easy
 
Old 10 April 2005, 16:53   #11
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
Mega Drive pads work as two-button Amiga joysticks. One of the fire buttons won't do anything (either A or C, not sure which), and neither will the Start button. Everything else works fine.
ant512 is offline  
Old 10 April 2005, 17:10   #12
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogradyc1984
but im totally new to the scene, so go easy
Welcome to the Amiga scene

Sorry, we didn't mean to be harsh... it was just funny
Shoonay is offline  
Old 10 April 2005, 18:05   #13
lloyd
Mehh :D
lloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bristol, SW UK
Age: 55
Posts: 242
Shoonay

No dude, never did play any of those games on my Mig. Played a few on my Spectrum - but then used Kempston interface and a megablast stick. I used my Mig for DTP work etc at the time....
lloyd is offline  
Old 11 April 2005, 02:09   #14
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogradyc1984
but as soon as I load a game up, no matter what keys I press, I CANNOT move the in game character, nothing responds...
pff.... PC kids
Akira is online now  
Old 24 April 2006, 22:14   #15
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 903
Is possible to map the cursor keys as if it were a joystick?
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 25 April 2006, 14:21   #16
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by _ThEcRoW
Is possible to map the cursor keys as if it were a joystick?
1) This thread is a year old - you've missed the boat.
2) No. Arcade games hit the hardware directly. The only way to map the cursor keys in this way is to use an Amiga emulator like WinUAE instead of a real Amiga.
ant512 is offline  
Old 25 April 2006, 14:57   #17
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,027
I missed this thread first time around... It is pretty funny though.

_ThEcRoW: You will need to hunt down a joystick or at the very least a megadrive/master system pad.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB - Amiga 1200 Keyboard (No Yellowing) fitzsteve MarketPlace 4 23 October 2009 07:34
Wanted: PC keyboard adaptor for Amiga 1200 Amigamancer MarketPlace 8 25 April 2005 08:36
Amiga 1200 keyboard problem wlcina support.Hardware 6 13 February 2005 14:09
Amiga 500 Plus keyboard problems adgloride support.Hardware 12 07 July 2004 16:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18307 seconds with 11 queries