English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.SPS (was CAPS)

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 April 2005, 20:50   #1
sut
Registered User
sut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: England
Age: 36
Posts: 87
Sorry for the daft question, but

Sorry for asking this question as it has probably been answered but i've scoured the CAPS website & this forum to no avail.

I'll use Aladdin as an example, this game has a manual protection method (eg what word is on page xx column xx etc) I know that the game disks are preserved but when it comes to the point we actually want to play the game and we don't have the manual protection (eg It was purchased second hand without it, or it has been lossed) how can we play it ? So although the game is preserved there is no way of actually playing it ? So would this be preserving something we cannot use in the future when the intention of games is to play.

Apologies if I am being completely dumb. By the way I do think CAPS is a cracking project and hope it continues and the Atari ST & PC games join also, but just would like a response to my question.

Thanks
sut is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 April 2005, 21:01   #2
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 8,387
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
When the manuals/box art etc.. is scanned and uploaded then the CAPS team will send off to contributors and sooner or later it'll turn up somewhere public!
bippym is offline  
Old 07 April 2005, 22:13   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 52
Posts: 2,344
Yeppers, Bippy says it best on this one, I'm sure the manual and all the scans will eventually turn up and be released altogether
jmmijo is offline  
Old 07 April 2005, 22:26   #4
Codetapper
Moderator

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Age: 39
Posts: 2,864
Send a message via Skype™ to Codetapper
For the mean time, use the WHDLoad installs of the CAPS images to actually play the games...
Codetapper is offline  
Old 08 April 2005, 14:12   #5
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 37
Posts: 1,925
Couldn't have put it better
Thanks all.
fiath is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Couple of daft questions about upgrading Bishmanrock New to Emulation or Amiga scene 17 21 September 2012 17:17
My 8Bit Amiga version of Daft Punk "DEREZZED" gibs Amiga scene 10 01 August 2011 23:25
Silly/Daft Question About Amiga 4000 Keyboard CU_AMiGA support.Hardware 6 14 October 2010 23:02
(possibly) Daft modding question(s) Charlie Hardware mods 6 28 November 2009 20:08
A question amiga support.WinUAE 2 27 April 2008 04:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10927 seconds with 11 queries