English Amiga Board   Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Sprites

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 April 2005, 21:43   #1
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
Ripping - Captive

Started another!

I really need to stay commited to the one game eh!!

Anyway this is my all time fave amiga game so I just had to do this!!

It's a difficult one to categorise too as it is mission based, but each mission gfx varies.. so I have just named them Captivex.png etc

The outdoor levels are always same gfx, so are named captivex(outdoor).png

Also only differences between base gfx are the wall tiles, I'll upload the new wall tiles as I finish the respective bases

Last edited by bippym; 22 February 2006 at 19:23.
bippym is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 April 2005, 01:19   #2
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
Only the Space Station gfx left to rip I think
bippym is offline  
Old 17 September 2005, 17:25   #3
deepshadow
 
Posts: n/a
hi bippym

Hi, captive is my favoret amiga game to!!, im new to this web site i was just wondering do you no of any way i can copy my original captive game save disk from 15 years ago, so i can play it on my pc with winuae, ive tryed load's of programs but the image never works. any help would be welcome.
 
Old 17 September 2005, 18:02   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 14,527
rawread (search older threads) may work with captive's savedisk. (If I remember correctly, it has non-standard format so regular adf readers won't work)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 September 2005, 19:01   #5
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
If it's from an original copy then I don't know, do as Toni suggests!

If its from the Classic crack then it writes to a standard Amigados formatted disc and can be converted to adf with any of the current adf progs (Check aminet)
bippym is offline  
Old 19 September 2005, 15:02   #6
deepshadow
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
rawread (search older threads) may work with captive's savedisk. (If I remember correctly, it has non-standard format so regular adf readers won't work)
Thanks
I will try this and let you no how i get on...and i will search older threads as well
 
Old 23 September 2005, 01:35   #7
deepshadow
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
rawread (search older threads) may work with captive's savedisk. (If I remember correctly, it has non-standard format so regular adf readers won't work)
hi had a go with no luck but!!!!! I downloaded a whdload package specially designed for captive installed it on my original amiga 1200 with hd and i am now transfering it to the pc emulator...i'll keep you posted it looks like it might work, i will have my saved game from 15 years ago on pc forever!! ....I feel like its cheating though, i still havant done what i set out to do.... that is, copy the save game disk into an image on the pc.

Last edited by deepshadow; 23 September 2005 at 23:32.
 
Old 23 September 2005, 23:37   #8
deepshadow
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym
If it's from an original copy then I don't know, do as Toni suggests!

If its from the Classic crack then it writes to a standard Amigados formatted disc and can be converted to adf with any of the current adf progs (Check aminet)
yes yes yes it worked, if anyone would like a save state of my captive game just email, its on mission 4 or 5...its been so long i cant remember!, it has special memoreis for me because it was me and my brother who used to play it my name is sean my brothers was clive, he died in 1991 and it just brings back memories playing it.
SEAN.DONOHUE1@NTLWORLD.COM
 
Old 19 February 2006, 13:26   #9
Gambit37
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brighton, England
Age: 42
Posts: 25
As discussed in the Knightmare thread, here's a comparison shot of some of the problem images. Basically, anyting with a range of blues or reds in will display the problem (water, clipboard guards, blue doors, fire sprites, etc).

You've swapped the darkest blue with the next one, plus they are a fair bit different from the actual blues.

The red palette has some kind of flesh colour in there, not the rich orange from the game.

Ignore my comments about bright greens -- I realised these must be mapped to the flashing colours in game.

Also, your colours are a bit more washed out which makes me think you may have captured in 16-bit mode rather than 24.

Hope this helps!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	compare.png
Views:	388
Size:	45.0 KB
ID:	10309  
Gambit37 is offline  
Old 19 February 2006, 13:47   #10
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
Ahh.. I see.. I'll fix this over the next few days
bippym is offline  
Old 22 February 2006, 19:23   #11
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
Okay I have decided to re-rip these using the files directly out of the release

Here we go.. any colour problems please let me know
bippym is offline  
Old 22 February 2006, 19:24   #12
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
All files are named as they are in the actual game
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Captive_Case.png
Views:	320
Size:	25.3 KB
ID:	10334   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fed2a.png
Views:	371
Size:	15.2 KB
ID:	10335   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed2b.png
Views:	320
Size:	14.8 KB
ID:	10336   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed3a.png
Views:	319
Size:	14.8 KB
ID:	10337   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed3b.png
Views:	302
Size:	16.4 KB
ID:	10338  

bippym is offline  
Old 22 February 2006, 19:26   #13
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
Next 5
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fed4.png
Views:	490
Size:	5.6 KB
ID:	10339   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed5.png
Views:	281
Size:	13.8 KB
ID:	10340   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed6a.png
Views:	293
Size:	16.9 KB
ID:	10341   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed6b.png
Views:	270
Size:	18.0 KB
ID:	10342   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed6c.png
Views:	281
Size:	18.5 KB
ID:	10343  

bippym is offline  
Old 22 February 2006, 19:27   #14
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
next batch
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fed6d.png
Views:	286
Size:	18.7 KB
ID:	10344   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed6e.png
Views:	263
Size:	16.0 KB
ID:	10345   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed6f.png
Views:	257
Size:	7.7 KB
ID:	10346   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed7a.png
Views:	275
Size:	15.7 KB
ID:	10347   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed7b.png
Views:	247
Size:	16.3 KB
ID:	10348  

bippym is offline  
Old 22 February 2006, 19:28   #15
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
more
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fed7c.png
Views:	233
Size:	12.1 KB
ID:	10349   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed7d.png
Views:	246
Size:	10.3 KB
ID:	10350   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed7e.png
Views:	299
Size:	16.3 KB
ID:	10351   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed8.png
Views:	281
Size:	17.1 KB
ID:	10352   Click image for larger version

Name:	fed9.png
Views:	231
Size:	5.3 KB
ID:	10353  

bippym is offline  
Old 22 February 2006, 19:29   #16
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
Last set

As you can see the complete set is here now (minus the title screen which I'll do later as it uses a different palette)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fed10.png
Views:	226
Size:	3.9 KB
ID:	10354   Click image for larger version

Name:	fedAnni-1.png
Views:	246
Size:	12.1 KB
ID:	10355   Click image for larger version

Name:	fedAnni-2.png
Views:	272
Size:	13.3 KB
ID:	10356   Click image for larger version

Name:	FedAnni-3.png
Views:	286
Size:	9.3 KB
ID:	10357  
bippym is offline  
Old 23 February 2006, 01:00   #17
Gambit37
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brighton, England
Age: 42
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym
Okay I have decided to re-rip these using the files directly out of the release
??? Are these on the floppy in a readable format then?

Sweet rips though! Nice job indeed.
Gambit37 is offline  
Old 23 February 2006, 01:02   #18
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
Sort of.. they are RNC compressed and stored as RAW binary files!

I simply decompressed them and loaded the file into the gfx ripper.. Then it was just a case of sorting out the palette on the first one and then re-using the palette for the rest of the rips (The game uses same palette throughout!!)
bippym is offline  
Old 02 September 2007, 15:58   #19
Lyverbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 48
Bringing an old thread back to life!

I've been reverse engineering Captive for a couple of months now and saw you guys rippped its graphics from the Amiga version (I'm RE'ing the Atari ST version which is 99% identical). I've found the location of the graphic files and they do begin with "RNC", but the only two RNC decompressors I've found say "CRC error". What did you use to decompress the files?

Ps. Tried to contact bippym privately, but never could find his email address
Lyverbe is offline  
Old 02 September 2007, 19:20   #20
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 41
Posts: 5,628
The Rob Northen Computing (RNC) compressor also has an option to pass a serial key to the file when being packed, does Captive require a serial key to depack?

If you edit the header of the file, you will see the 'RNC' header and the next byte after that should have 1, 2 or 3 to tell you what pack type was used.

There exists RNC depackers on Amiga and PC and I would assume ST, if you are using the ST version, consider using one of the other two as there maybe improvements considering RNC Propack (to give it its full name) was used considerably longer on Amiga than it was on ST.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Captive help Obliterator support.Games 3 25 April 2011 21:04
Captive II frikilokooo support.Games 0 11 February 2011 22:58
Captive bippym project.SPS (was CAPS) 43 28 March 2009 00:18
Captive 1.1 Lyverbe request.Old Rare Games 31 07 February 2008 16:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24053 seconds with 12 queries