English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 April 2005, 23:37   #1
poppe
Junior Member
poppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Umeň
Age: 39
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to poppe
samba setup.

Got a problem with setting up samba on a network between my pc running xp and the amiga1200. The network works fine, able to use ftp to transfer files but it would be nice to skip the hassle of running ftpserver and ftp software to transfer files.

I got so far that i can see the xp-shares on the amiga, the other way around seems like a dead end. Also, when i use tango (gui for samba) i cant browse the xp-share so there must be some problems here. I tried the installer script on aminet but it just gives me an error msg...

Anyone got the same problems or know how to do this properly?
poppe is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 April 2005, 02:45   #2
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
I followed this guide and I use the PC to access the entire Amiga's drives:

http://www.birrabrothers.com/tiger/data/samba/
Codetapper is offline  
Old 04 April 2005, 20:38   #3
poppe
Junior Member
poppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Umeň
Age: 39
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to poppe
yeah, did so to. But still got problems, been going trought it three times i think. Does it mather if I use an old version of Miami or do i need dx? The most irritating problem is that i can see the pc-share on the amiga, but i cant seem to browse it at all....
poppe is offline  
Old 07 June 2005, 13:21   #4
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 736
Did you ever sort this out? I've got a similar problem.

I can list the shares on the XP PC and on the Amiga from the amiga shell using smbclient -L, but I get no joy at all from the PC.

I get an icon for the amiga in network neighborhood, but when clicking on it eventually a windows error pops up "the semaphore timeout period had expired".

After trying to access from the PC, the samba log file on the miggy says:

Code:
[2005/06/03 22:56:08, 0] lib/util_sock.c: (1018)
  getpeername failed. Error was Socket is not connected
[2005/06/03 22:56:08, 0] lib/util_sock.c: (499)
  write_socket_data: write failure. Error = Broken pipe
[2005/06/03 22:56:08, 0] lib/util_sock.c: (524)
  write_socket: Error writing 4 bytes to socket 7: ERRNO = Broken pipe
[2005/06/03 22:56:08, 0] lib/util_sock.c: (704)
  Error writing 4 bytes to client. -1. (Broken pipe)
[2005/06/03 22:56:23, 0] lib/util_sock.c: (1018)
  getpeername failed. Error was Socket is not connected
[2005/06/03 22:56:24, 0] lib/util_sock.c: (499)
  write_socket_data: write failure. Error = Broken pipe
[2005/06/03 22:56:24, 0] lib/util_sock.c: (524)
  write_socket: Error writing 4 bytes to socket 7: ERRNO = Broken pipe
[2005/06/03 22:56:24, 0] lib/util_sock.c: (704)
  Error writing 4 bytes to client. -1. (Broken pipe)
[2005/06/03 22:56:31, 0] lib/util_sock.c: (1018)
  getpeername failed. Error was Socket is not connected
[2005/06/03 22:56:31, 0] lib/util_sock.c: (499)
  write_socket_data: write failure. Error = Broken pipe
[2005/06/03 22:56:31, 0] lib/util_sock.c: (524)
  write_socket: Error writing 4 bytes to socket 7: ERRNO = Broken pipe
[2005/06/03 22:56:31, 0] lib/util_sock.c: (704)
  Error writing 4 bytes to client. -1. (Broken pipe)
I'm using amitcp4 which otherwise is working perfectly.
rare_j is offline  
Old 07 June 2005, 18:59   #5
poppe
Junior Member
poppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Umeň
Age: 39
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to poppe
Nope never sorted it out. Havent tried much more either, it ended up with me using a ftpserver on the amiga and using ftptransfers from the pc side... A bit more hassle but it worked out great.

Will try again soon, gonna move to a bigger place with a room only for the computer/music equipment and will try to hook them up properly then... i┤ll post again when/if i sort it out. =)
poppe is offline  
Old 08 June 2005, 18:56   #6
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 736
I got it working eventually; you have to correctly configure users and passwords on the Amiga side, as well as making sure smbd is resident and nmbd is started after inetd, not from it.

On this page http://groups.yahoo.com/group/amigasamba/messages/3802 there is a post from Andreas Hellmann, message#3805, that details what you need to do.
rare_j is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samba 2.2.5 on OS 3.9 Turran support.Apps 5 06 November 2014 23:31
Using Samba with EasyNet NovaCoder support.Apps 18 26 May 2009 07:55
Samba on ClassicWB coze project.ClassicWB 1 16 January 2007 08:28
Samba problems Coma support.Hardware 4 16 February 2006 13:03
Samba World Cup XoreX support.Games 30 07 October 2001 19:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24725 seconds with 11 queries