English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 March 2005, 19:30   #1
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Way too long 'drawer reading' times...

Since i'm planning to upgrade my amy 1200, to 32MB with a 030 onboard, i was wondering if with that much of memory i can just go crazy with the AddBuffers command and speedup the loading a 'bit'.


1. What should be the usual/standard size for a normal wb drawer?
2. How high can i get with this size, so it would really speed loading times in my WHDLoad games drawer with about 2000 games inside?


...or maybe when i'll softkick 3.1 rom into my amy things'll speedup (i'll do that anyways )... or an upgrade into OS3.9
Shoonay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 March 2005, 20:00   #2
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 37
Posts: 657
Won't the drawing of the icons in drawers depend on your chip memory, which is still 2MB?
TikTok is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 21:11   #3
Turbo2Xs
Zone Friend
Turbo2Xs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: o
Posts: 62
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbo2Xs
My system: 1200 030/40mhz 8mb. Just off the top of my head here as its been years... I believe I created a massive addbuffers value and just today noticed that it STILL takes forever to open the FONTS drawer (lots of them)

That said, there may be a limit to where your gains drop off?
Turbo2Xs is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 21:14   #4
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Well, since i use FBlit which saves some chip (probably not much with this problem), and doesn't use any icon-upgrades (NewIcons/MagicWB) nor the the drawers inside the drawer have any... and let's pretend i use a 2 color WB to speed things up ...

So just for testing purposes, what are the max. values that would really show some improvenments?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 29 March 2005, 00:19   #5
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
I add 100 buffers to my Workbench partition, and 600 to my games partition (would be 300, but I've got Quake, Doom, Heretic, Hexen, and a few ScummVM games on there). The others I just leave as they are.
ant512 is offline  
Old 29 March 2005, 01:28   #6
tin
eezeenow!

 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: chester
Posts: 407
AFAIK times just get longer with number of items in the drawer, icons or not, shitloads of mem or not, because of FFS. I guess it's the way they are stored (so much more efficiently than 'doze) that makes FFS cope less well with shitloads of stuff in the drawer.

Use PFS or other prefered filesystem, or to paraphrase the great disksalv (I think, somebody correct me if i'm wrong) haven't you ever heard of subdirectories? This will sort you out I am sure!
tin is offline  
Old 29 March 2005, 07:30   #7
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Aren't the buffers for HD's configured via HDToolBox?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 29 March 2005, 10:00   #8
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
I think you can configure the buffers in HDToolBox; however, you can just use the "C:AddBuffers" command from any CLI. This means you can use it in your startup-sequence.

If you open a new shell window and type "ed S:startup-sequence", you can see that Commodore use the command to increase the number of buffers for the floppy drive:

"C:AddBuffers DF0: 15".

Using the command line program instead of HDToolBox is handy if you occasionally need extra buffers, but normally use the standard amount.
ant512 is offline  
Old 29 March 2005, 10:53   #9
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
@Shoonay: You won't get it much faster with more buffers.

I agree to most of what is said above:

1. create subdirectories. Devide your games into categories and create drawers with not more than 500 games in each.

2. use an alternative file system. PFS3 with 100 buffers is much faster than FFS with one million buffers. The same is true for SFS.

Buffers are configured statically with HDToolbox and dynamically with AddBuffers.

You can also use negative numbers with Addbuffers to dynamically reduce the number of buffers.
thomas is offline  
Old 29 March 2005, 14:42   #10
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
I have over 1500 dirs in my games-directory which with PFS3 loads up in DOPUS within seconds. Very fast i think. And i use the max. 500 buffers suggested in PFS-docs (it's over 10gb partition).
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 29 March 2005, 20:42   #11
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Alright, i'll create some sub-directories... which of i've never heard about ...
..nevermind ...

Thanks everybody
Shoonay is offline  
Old 30 March 2005, 18:31   #12
tin
eezeenow!

 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: chester
Posts: 407
subdirectories? what are they? Is there such a thing as a sub-drawer?
tin is offline  
Old 30 March 2005, 19:33   #13
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
C'mon, they are dirs inside dirs .
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 30 March 2005, 22:11   #14
tin
eezeenow!

 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: chester
Posts: 407
yeah but you don't get dirs in amigaland, no?
tin is offline  
Old 30 March 2005, 22:20   #15
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Dirs, directories, drawers..., what's the difference man?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 30 March 2005, 23:09   #16
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,170
have you ever seen a turtle? same thing.
Marcuz is offline  
Old 30 March 2005, 23:47   #17
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Sorry guys, with the dirs/directories/drawers - my bad

Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana
have you ever seen a turtle? same thing.
Uhmmmm ... what?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 30 March 2005, 23:49   #18
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by tin
yeah but you don't get dirs in amigaland, no?
Unless the CLI "dir" command has recently been renamed "drawer", yes, you do.
ant512 is offline  
Old 31 March 2005, 00:12   #19
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 37
Posts: 657
Ah, but maybe 'dir' means 'show me a directory of the files' in the same way that you have a 'directory' of phone numbers
TikTok is offline  
Old 31 March 2005, 00:26   #20
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoonay
Sorry guys, with the dirs/directories/drawers - my bad

Uhmmmm ... what?
just a quote from a movie, a character was wondering what was a tortoise
Marcuz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Skinny long haired character in medieval times lesta_smsc Looking for a game name ? 6 12 June 2013 14:23
How to CD to a drawer that has a SPACE in it's name? DDNI support.Other 6 30 November 2011 09:22
reading long threat with ibrowse3.2 mrodfr project.EAB 10 11 November 2005 08:10
Towers (Warning, long shot and long post) Drake1009 Looking for a game name ? 2 13 May 2005 00:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22601 seconds with 11 queries