English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 March 2005, 14:15   #1
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Cd-rom games

Anyone here who plays newer cd-rom games on their miggy's like for example Nightlong, Freespace, Feeble Files, Quake 1 & 2 etc?
Just interested if anyone has managed to play these games on a 68k based amiga with gfx card.
Have been trying the newer games since I bought my A4000 but I'm a retro gamer deep in my heart
AMIGAZ is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 March 2005, 14:39   #2
Swierk
Registered User
Swierk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Krakow / Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGAZ
Have been trying the newer games since I bought my A4000 but I'm a retro gamer deep in my heart
me too
Swierk is offline  
Old 27 March 2005, 19:44   #3
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Well, I bought those game but Iīm playing on my PPC since it only got an 040er CPU it wouldnīt be very satisfying to play them on 68k
RetroMan is offline  
Old 27 March 2005, 20:03   #4
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroMan
Well, I bought those game but Iīm playing on my PPC since it only got an 040er CPU it wouldnīt be very satisfying to play them on 68k
Anyone have a Cyberstorm PPC for sale?
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 27 March 2005, 20:44   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
A costy upgrade, not really worth it for that IMO, my friend...
These work like cack even on an 040, dunno about 060. People will say "they are playable!", I cannot deny that, if you are ok about playing them at 15fps ;p
Akira is offline  
Old 27 March 2005, 21:32   #6
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira
A costy upgrade, not really worth it for that IMO, my friend...
These work like cack even on an 040, dunno about 060. People will say "they are playable!", I cannot deny that, if you are ok about playing them at 15fps ;p
c'mon, I thought you liked the PPC accelerators..you're just afraid to confess, hehe
A PPC board would probably melt inside my A4000 without 3-4 extra cooling fans.
My case is hot now with just a '060 and some zorro cards.
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 01:09   #7
icewizard2k5
Junior Member
icewizard2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 31
Posts: 200
the idea of ppcs and graphics cards for the amiga just cant be justified with what you actually get for the money you spend.

play quake on a pc. play classics on your amiga.
icewizard2k5 is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 01:46   #8
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Well, some people ask me : "Why do you play Quake with 25FPS on your Amiga ? You can play with 200FPS on your PC !"

My answer : "Because I can ....."
RetroMan is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 02:48   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Yeah, anybody can be lame and play Quake at 25FPS. It surely is something to brag about, isn't it? Girls dig geeks with old machines running games at lame framerates.

This would be something I'd do ONCE (like emulating ZX Spectrum in my Classic II... slooooooow!!! or MAME in my 030... even worse!!!!), but not something I'd regularly do as if I had no choice. That's pointless masochism.

Want to appoint for a job as a professional yogi? My friend Dhalsim is taking apprentices :P
Akira is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 09:42   #10
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira
MAME in my 030... even worse!!!!),
Sorry Akira, I use MAME on my 030 because I can. At 3 fps! What a joy!
manicx is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 09:53   #11
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
bah, quake and the likes are crappy on my system.... my p200mmx played them better! There is no fun in playing at 25 fps, even with the ppc the game is slow, I cannot mention how shitty it is on the 060/60
keropi is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 11:48   #12
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Why spend stupid amounts of money to play a game that plays better on any PC you rescue out of a dumpster? Life is too short, play the best games that were made for the system you have and spend your extra money on other systems!
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 14:09   #13
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Well sorry but why should I play old games on a PPC Amiga ???????????

Hey I got A500, A1000, A2000, CDTV, CD32 and so on that play those old games without problems, so why waste my PPCs CPU time for that

I use my A1200 PPC for nearly everything today, maybe except Video Encoding, just because I think that AmigaOS is one of the greatest OSes ever made ....

I know the System, it does what I want it to do ...

But hey, most of you donīt even WANT to understand this, so why bother ? Hey, I even played through all levels of Quake on my A4000/040 with max 7fps
RetroMan is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 14:16   #14
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroMan
Well sorry but why should I play old games on a PPC Amiga ???????????

Hey I got A500, A1000, A2000, CDTV, CD32 and so on that play those old games without problems, so why waste my PPCs CPU time for that

I use my A1200 PPC for nearly everything today, maybe except Video Encoding, just because I think that AmigaOS is one of the greatest OSes ever made ....

I know the System, it does what I want it to do ...

But hey, most of you donīt even WANT to understand this, so why bother ? Hey, I even played through all levels of Quake on my A4000/040 with max 7fps
Just tried Quake on my A3000 '040@40mhz now with CV64 gfx card and I thought it woould run slower than on my A4000 '060 but it ran with the same speed which proves that 3D games run like crap on amiga's if you don't have a beefy PPC which costs a fortune.
Only trying some cd games now to see what my computers are capable of, as I said before I'm a retro gamer and from time to time I play some new extra super multi hyper games on my PC but my Radeon 9700 pro is getting old
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 14:37   #15
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGAZ
Just tried Quake on my A3000 '040@40mhz now with CV64 gfx card and I thought it woould run slower than on my A4000 '060 but it ran with the same speed which proves that 3D games run like crap on amiga's if you don't have a beefy PPC which costs a fortune.
beefy ppc? that's a joke!

my "beefy" ppc with a "beefy" voodoo3 on grex, suck, at least on 3D perfomance...
keropi is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 14:38   #16
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
Oh, BTW, CD-ROM games I play on my Amiga

Started playing again OnEscapee and periodically play TsotTM, Hell Squad, Chaos Engine. Would love to try Napalm, but I can't find it...
manicx is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 15:20   #17
icewizard2k5
Junior Member
icewizard2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 31
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by manicx
Oh, BTW, CD-ROM games I play on my Amiga

Started playing again OnEscapee and periodically play TsotTM, Hell Squad, Chaos Engine. Would love to try Napalm, but I can't find it...

there is a demo of napalm on aminet i havent tried it myself though.

TsotTM looks like shit from the screens how is the gameplay?

none of these need PPCs to run well afaik and really even if they did are definately not worth paying huge amounts just to get them running *QUAKE*

is there ANYTHING that uses PPC that isnt available on PC?
please dont give stupid answers i mean games.

tax time is coming up soon. hmm let me decide... PPC or x800xt... HMM LET ME DECIDE

I SURE WONDER WHICH WOULD BE A BETTER PURCHASE

IF I GOT THE PPC, I COULD PLAY QUAKE! HORAY!
ITS SO MUCH BETTER THAN HALF-LIFE 2
icewizard2k5 is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 15:25   #18
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by icewizard2k5
tax time is coming up soon. hmm let me decide... PPC or x800xt... HMM LET ME DECIDE

I SURE WONDER WHICH WOULD BE A BETTER PURCHASE

IF I GOT THE PPC, I COULD PLAY QUAKE! HORAY!
ITS SO MUCH BETTER THAN HALF-LIFE 2
Hmmm, I do not play games on PeCe, so what
RetroMan is offline  
Old 28 March 2005, 15:39   #19
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by icewizard2k5
TsotTM looks like shit from the screens how is the gameplay?
Actually, it doesn't look bad for Amiga standards. It plays well, has excellent soundtrack but needs a >040...
manicx is offline  
Old 29 March 2005, 18:58   #20
Mr Creosote
Evil Mastermind
Mr Creosote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 527
Quote:
Yeah, anybody can be lame and play Quake
That quote should have stopped there
Mr Creosote is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga CD ROM games zuluisgrate support.Games 5 30 June 2009 18:59
ROM required message on some WHDLoad games liveevil project.MAGE 19 12 May 2008 23:26
Best place to buy modern CD-Rom games?? Zetec-s support.Games 2 10 May 2007 21:47
Burning HD games to CD-ROM sut New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 16 February 2005 22:01
Playing WHDLoad games from CD-ROM Galaxy project.WHDLoad 3 10 October 2004 00:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35661 seconds with 11 queries