English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 July 2009, 18:06   #41
ImmortalA1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: london/england
Posts: 347
The coolest mod I think is an internal CD rom drive, yes internal.

The A1200 does have an unbuffered IDE interface but I think it's ok for laptop devices that draw very little power.

Anyway what you need is a notebook CD/DVD to standard IDE adaptor, and a cable that allows two 2.5" IDE drives to be connected to the same connector (may have to make one of these)

Then you just set the old notebook CD drive as slave (most of them will already be set as slave anyway as old Pentium 1 notebooks usually only have one IDE channel anyway).

Parts are cheap enough, maybe less than 10 for a 4Gb drive and an old Toshiba Satellite CD rom drive. The adaptor cost me about 4 from ebay. Just need the cable now and the software to make it work and then it's down to some serious thinking where to mount the CD and cut a slot for the motorised tray.

PS I've never installed a hard drive apart from on the old Amiga 2000s with the Supra 40mb hardcards so don't even have the WB3 or 3.1 hard disk install disks....even if I did they probably have mould on the disc surface and will destroy the internal drive anyway!
ImmortalA1000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 July 2009, 00:13   #42
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
@Info-Seeker
Welcome!
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 07 July 2009, 01:57   #43
Info-Seeker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Palm Beach, Florida USA!
Posts: 75
Thanks Amigakit!

I have always had great service from your site, and I believe I have a $5 coupon code that is still valid. Very much appreciate your company and it's dedication to the Amiga scene!

-Info
Info-Seeker is offline  
Old 07 July 2009, 13:21   #44
khph_re
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 245
just to expand on DopPie's answers for anyone new to the Amiga:

[quote=DopPie;188909]

I added a scandoubler. Why? It enables me to use VGA monitors.

The Amiga flickers like a bastard in high resolution (hi-res interlace PAL or NTSC, TV modes basically) - and those game modes won't work on a standard VGA monitor without having the refresh rate doubled (by a scan doubler).

If you own an LCD TV that scans at 50/60 this won't be a problem, it should handle it just fine.

Most games are in low resolution
anyway , so they won't flicker on a TV, but won't display on a standard PC monitor.



I added an 68030 accelerator. Why? Cause it allowes me to compile / (de-)comress files faster.

You can also play games that are helped by an acelerator, FPS games and PC ports in particular, but some flight sims like TFX and and shadow of the 3rd moon as well.

Amiga Demo scene stuff looks great on accelerated machines.

Work bench will respond faster, and can be made to look nicer, and workbench 3.5 and 3.9 will run.

If your into retro APPS as well as games, there's loads of old packages that will benefit.

You can (just about) play MP3 on an 030 50mhz, and you can easily play all those lovely PC MOD tunes that are out there.

Master system, ZX spectrum, MAC, c64 and gameboy emulation should play ok.

I added 32MB of RAM. Why? Cause it allows me to load lots of stuff at the same time.

As above, don't get an accelerator without ram, but get RAM on its own if you just want to run WHDload to run standard A1200 and A500 games, and don't care about higher end games and demo's.

I added a compact flash adapter. Why? Too be transfer files between PC/Amiga.


You can also add a compact flash as a HDD. The amiga will boot faster, respond better than a 2.5 inch HDD, be silent, and drain less power (important if you are still using the standard A1200 brick).

Iv'e also had a 3.5inch HDD in mine, but you have to bend back a bit of the internal shielding, and buy a new cable. It's faster than a 2.5in HDD, but a real power hog. My compact flash card seems a lot faster.


I added a NIC? Why? For networking ofcourse.

Sweet, you can also add wireless, if that's your poison, through the PCMCIA port on the side.

I'm going to add my newly acquired 68060 accelerator. Why? See 68030 accelerator and multiply that by 4 (or more?).
I'm going to add extra cooling for the 68060. Why? So it may live longer

Some games, and many demo's will benefit greatly from an 060, which runs cooler than an 030, and much cooler than an 040. It should not need a fan, unless you clock it . A 50mhz 060 should be about 5 or 6 times faster than an 030 at 50mhz. Easily able to play MP3's.

Also remember that full Mac os 7.5 to 8 emulation is possible. It's very fast in CPU terms, as its more like WINE than an emulator, you could always try some mac web browsers (although graphic refresh is a bit slow without a graphics card....I wish someone would create a trapdoor graphics chip and accelerator combo!)

Last edited by khph_re; 07 July 2009 at 13:23. Reason: spelling mistake
khph_re is offline  
Old 07 July 2009, 16:43   #45
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
How is the 060 in terms of compatibility? I never went past the 030 because I had fears of every game suddenly running way too fast.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 11 July 2009, 02:44   #46
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest 2084 View Post
How is the 060 in terms of compatibility? I never went past the 030 because I had fears of every game suddenly running way too fast.
Pretty damn good, almost as compatible as an 020/030. Most games are sync to the screen refresh so they are not effected by the CPU's speed...thank God, what a mess that would be in Amiga land!

Just avoid buy an 040, unless of course it is to upgrade it to a 060

God you can tell I'm sleep deprived, just look at the grammer

Last edited by NovaCoder; 21 July 2009 at 12:26. Reason: Grammer
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 11 July 2009, 04:35   #47
Harrison
classicamiga.com
Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 155
As most others have said here, the best upgrades for an A1200 to get the most out of it are:
  • Blizzard 1230 MKIV 50MHz 68030 Accelerator with 32MB Ram.
  • Buffered IDE interface (can get one for 10 from Amigakit).
  • Internal 2.5" Laptop HDD (larger drives possible using SFS filesystem (I'm running 40GB HDD). Or an IDE to CF card adapter and CF card.
  • Internal slimline Laptop CD/DVD drive, using IDEFix'97 software.
  • Upgraded PSU. The standard A1200 PSU won't give enough power with an accelerator installed on most A1200's. So you could try using a 60W A500 PSU, or if that fails convert a PC PSU to work, or track down a Goliath PSU.
  • Optional - Internal scan doubler/flicker fixer - Allows you to run all Amiga screenmodes on a VGA PC monitor, even games.
  • Optional - Amiga to Scart cable - Allows much better quality TV resolution Amiga modes on a TV compared to RT or composite.
  • Optional - PCMCIA 16bit Network card to use broadband connection.
  • Optional - PCMCIA Wireless Network Card. Same as above.
With that setup it transforms a standard A1200 into a very nice Amiga. Install Bloodwych's ClassicWB preconfigured Workbench setup, along with KillerGorilla's WHDLoad Game and Demo packs and you have a setup with all the great games ready to run directly from the HDD. No disk swapping or loading. Just click and play each. Perfect setup to enjoy the best the Amiga has to offer.

Going any higher than an 030 accelerator and you are leaving the realms of sensible upgrading of an A1200 just to enjoy using the system. Opting for an 040 or 060 accelerator starts to get expensive and it more an enthusiasts rute where they are no longer upgrading to make the system good. Instead it becomes an ossession in making the Amiga do as much as possible. There are loads of higher upgrades and customisation possible. 040, 060 or PPC accelerators. Tower case conversions, which then pen up the ability to install a PCI breakout board and then PCI graphics cards, sound cards, network cards etc... but personally I don't see such upgrades as really worthwhile these days. A Blizzard 030 with some fast ram is more than enough to run most Amiga software and enjoy the Amiga.

As for OS3.9. It will happily run on an 030 Amiga. I've been running it on my Blizzard 1230 MK4 based A1200 for some time, and it runs on my 040 A4000 fine too. But 3.9 is really only worth bothering with if you are looking to use your Amiga for more than classic stuff like gaming and demo watching. If you want to use the Amiga as a main system then use 3.9, but to get the most from it higher up upgrades like tower conversions and PCI graphics cards will benefit.

You can spend form a few pounds, to many hundreds on the Amiga as a hobby. It all depends if you are looking to push the system as far as you can, making it as powerful and as expanded as you can, or if you just want to build a nice setup to enjoy playing around with.
Harrison is offline  
Old 21 July 2009, 12:02   #48
Anakirob
Unregistered User
Anakirob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tasmania
Age: 35
Posts: 858
Quote:
....I wish someone would create a trapdoor graphics chip and accelerator combo!
They have, it's calledBlizzard Vision. Good luck finding one 'though. Also, they run rather hot, making them only practical to run in a tower system, or in Norway.
Anakirob is offline  
Old 30 July 2009, 11:34   #49
mully
Registered User
mully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
Apart from second hand / ebay, which current retailer can I buy a big ram expansion or 030 accelerator + 32mb for the A1200?
mully is offline  
Old 30 July 2009, 11:50   #50
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulligans_flat View Post
Apart from second hand / ebay, which current retailer can I buy a big ram expansion or 030 accelerator + 32mb for the A1200?
To my knowledge there are no new accelerators for sale. (Ok, '030+ ones)

Shame really, I'm sure limmited re-runs of the better 'classic' accelerators would prove very popular...
...price? er, pricey - especially as RoHS compliace gets in the way of doing a 'simple' remanufacturing job.
...hmmm, I wonder if such a run could still be done somewhere where less notice is given to such niceties?
Charlie is offline  
Old 30 July 2009, 13:13   #51
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulligans_flat View Post
Apart from second hand / ebay, which current retailer can I buy a big ram expansion or 030 accelerator + 32mb for the A1200?
GVP-M Typhoon A1200 030 40MHz Accelerator
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 30 July 2009, 13:38   #52
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Hmmm, wrong again!
Charlie is offline  
Old 30 July 2009, 13:51   #53
mully
Registered User
mully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
I saw the GVP Typhoon accelerator at Softhut.com. They also advertise a slightly cheaper Apollo 1230/40MHz. Any difference apart from quality, or maybe no longer in stock? Perhaps I'll email the store.
mully is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mods to My A1200 1d4 Mobo. What are they ?? cosmicfrog support.Hardware 19 09 March 2011 07:47
Any recommended internal PS2/USB Mouse products/mods for A1200? AmigaUser2010 support.Hardware 10 05 May 2010 21:47
One For The Mods Loedown support.Hardware 7 12 April 2009 04:32
[ Mods Jbx ] - Mods Jukebox is launched !! RCK project.Mods Jukebox 26 21 November 2006 12:11
Some mods Paul request.Modules 0 13 February 2002 18:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22353 seconds with 12 queries