English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 March 2005, 05:16   #1
Rebel-CD32
Amiga will never die!
Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 529
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
Fixing WHDLoad installs to run in NTSC

I'm making a small compilation CD with some WHDLoad installed games. All of the games came out in NTSC resolution, with only 200 lines instead of 256, and so have a massive black bar across the bottom when run in PAL. I'm sure all these games actually came out in NTSC countries too, so they shouldn't be coded to only work in PAL. The games are:

Street Fighter
Final Fight
Street Fighter II
Super Street Fighter II (ECS and AGA)

Luckily the AGA version of SSFII has an NTSC option in the menu, but the intro is still in PAL. SSFII Turbo also has an NTSC option in the menu, and shows the intro in NTSC, so it's fine.

The CD will be an Amiga Street Fighter Collection. The other consoles all got a Street Fighter Collection CD, so I reckon we should have one too. I'll be using the good old Arcade Game Selector program for the menu, and would like to include several installs of each game on the CD (there's PLENTY of space to spare on the CD) for PAL and NTSC versions, as well as 2MB and expanded versions (using preload options and such).

So, does anyone know how to get these games working in NTSC ? I've tried the NTSC command in the WHDLoad icon prefs and command line, but I can't tell if they work because this is in UAE. I won't be able to test them for real until my SX32 Pro arrives. Also, if anyone can manage to get SSFII AGA to work on an unexpanded CD32, which has GOT to be possible some how, I'll pay them a reward. Remember, this game was made for CD32 as well, and the CD was released to the magazines for review, it just never made it to the shops. As far as I can tell, it was the same as the AGA version, it just didn't need a boot disk in the floppy drive to run. There's got to be a way to hack the install to get it to run in 2MB.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys

Rebel
Rebel-CD32 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 March 2005, 06:17   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
The NTSC command works. I tried it in my NTSC Amiga.

Why is FInal Fight in a SF2 compilatoin anyway?

By the way, don't be a-typing "Rebel" at the end of each of your posts, configure a signature in your USerCP instead!
Akira is offline  
Old 25 March 2005, 07:20   #3
Rebel-CD32
Amiga will never die!
Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 529
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
Do you know if the NTSC command will work just as well in a PAL Amiga ? I have a PAL CD32, but my TV can display NTSC, and most games look and play better in NTSC.

Final Fight is in the Street Fighter canon. Guy, Cody, Rolento and Sodom are in the Street Fighter Alpha games as playable characters, and Haggar and some others are in some backgrounds.

I forgot to remove the "Rebel" bit, I copied and pasted the message from another board that I asked on (no that I expect to get an answer there).
Rebel-CD32 is offline  
Old 25 March 2005, 13:13   #4
EmuChicken
Senior Member
EmuChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nagoya, Japan (moved!)
Age: 35
Posts: 724
Yeh the NTSC option works fine on my A1200 - but you need to be careful- it speeds up other things such as the sound- and in Turrican 2, er... the songs are so great it'd ruin em if you sped em up! :E

Remember that most of the games were intended for play on PAL systems- unlike teh Playstation, which is the other way round (intended for 60hz displays but slowed down for PAL systems)
EmuChicken is offline  
Old 25 March 2005, 16:19   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel-CD32
Final Fight is in the Street Fighter canon. Guy, Cody, Rolento and Sodom are in the Street Fighter Alpha games as playable characters, and Haggar and some others are in some backgrounds.
That's sretching it for not having any more Amiga SF gaes, eh? You forgot to add Turbo to the list, though.

NTSC command should work just fine in a PAL Amiga that supports both systems, too...
Akira is offline  
Old 26 March 2005, 16:08   #6
Rebel-CD32
Amiga will never die!
Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 529
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
SSFII Turbo will be on the disc, but there's no need for a special install for it as it already runs in NTSC for the intro, and has a PAL/NTSC option in the menu. I'd really like to know how this game runs on an 030 with extra RAM, if it's any smoother, or still jerky as hell.
Rebel-CD32 is offline  
Old 26 March 2005, 17:04   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I'd be interested in that, too...
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some non-whdload or JST HD-Installs Gaula92 request.Old Rare Games 6 29 August 2012 13:20
Creating WHDLoad installs Djay project.WHDLoad 2 24 February 2011 15:16
KillerGorilla's whdload installs slk486 project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 7 09 May 2010 11:20
HD installs (not WHDLoad) antonvaltaz support.Games 13 16 November 2009 21:37
WHDload installs of the following... Kristian95 Games images which need to be WHDified 9 18 February 2006 16:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06392 seconds with 12 queries