English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 October 2001, 16:24   #1
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
New improved Romcenter!!

I see www.romcenter.com has had a bit of site re-design.
They have even got a forumn now.

Well worth checking out.
Big-Byte is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 October 2001, 16:31   #2
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
Thanks for that Big-Byte

What they really need to do though is update the program because it's a complete joke IMO.

Maybe it's just me, but does it only check the names/CRCs of your files?

Can it rename roms/adfs and such like.

When I last tried it you couldn't do any of that, has this changed??
Ian is offline  
Old 11 October 2001, 17:36   #3
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
Yes it does..

Its the only rom renamer I use..

It uses dat files like Clrmamepro (the other popular renamer)
Ive used it to rename all my Amiga adfs plus my mame collection etc...
I think its great..


Ive just started using clrmamepro and think its ok, however it seems to either put each rom in its own directory or zip the rom up when it re-builds them.. I dont want them zipped or in their own directories - just renamed. How do I do this?
Big-Byte is offline  
Old 11 October 2001, 17:48   #4
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
If you use scan with CLRMamePro and click both the checkboxes next to name it'l just rename them I think.

I'm at work at the moment so I can't test it, but it worked when I renamed my Impact roms a while back

Anyway, if you use Romcenter that's fine Each to there own, unless of course you want to start a renaming tool war

Ian is offline  
Old 11 October 2001, 21:01   #5
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
There was something about Romcenter I didn't like (enough to delete it!), but I don't remember what. And hearing that it doesn't zip is another reason why I don't want it.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 12 October 2001, 11:49   #6
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
To zip or not to zip..

Having romcenter not zip is not a problem as after I rename them
I adz em up with batch zip toolkit and stick em on a cd.
Big-Byte is offline  
Old 15 October 2001, 14:34   #7
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
Why?

adz files offer..
Reasonable compression...
Protects your adf's from being overwritten..
Can load them direct from the cd..

if I had left them as adf's I would have about 18 cds instead of
6!!
Big-Byte is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
improved joystick s2325 Amiga scene 0 18 January 2011 23:47
Improved Debugger AmigaBoy request.UAE Wishlist 50 03 July 2008 09:47
Improved screenshot capabilities Jim request.UAE Wishlist 9 21 December 2004 05:47
RomCenter for dummies Kodoichi Retrogaming General Discussion 3 04 July 2002 22:59
New version of Romcenter.. Big-Byte Retrogaming General Discussion 0 05 January 2002 19:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17311 seconds with 11 queries