English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 March 2005, 14:37   #1
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 32
Posts: 2,723
UAE unleashed on the PS2!

Looks like somebody went to all the hard work of porting UAE to the good ol' PlayStation 2.

http://www.volny.cz/molej/ps2/uae.htm

It appears to be based on an older version mind you, and there are seperate ECS and AGA executables available. What with me not having a modded PS2, I unfortunately can't test it out. Anybody care to give it a test drive?

Now if only I also had an Xbox - a modded one at that - so I can finally see what all the fuss over WinUAEX is about.
MethodGit is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 March 2005, 16:39   #2
frostwork
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 152
Cheers!
I have a modded x-box and WinUAEX is quiet fine (fast forward and stuff like that).
The only prob is that it seems to have some trouble with several cd32-isos....
frostwork is offline  
Old 06 March 2005, 18:23   #3
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
I am too bored to try it on my modded ps2...
keropi is offline  
Old 07 March 2005, 10:11   #4
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 32
Posts: 992
I want to play MGS 3, can't wait for that to hit .nz

But I think I'd rather run linux or the NetBSD port on the PS2 then the UAE.
redblade is offline  
Old 07 March 2005, 13:52   #5
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,741
I take you can't try this on a bog standard PS2 right? What do I need to upgrade on Andy's PS2 so I can give this a try?
Pyromania is offline  
Old 07 March 2005, 14:04   #6
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
basically u need a modchip, to allow you to boot from a burned cd/dvd...
keropi is offline  
Old 07 March 2005, 14:35   #7
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 32
Posts: 2,723
Or you could obtain something like this.
MethodGit is offline  
Old 07 March 2005, 20:24   #8
Dalai
Junior Member
Dalai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 147
Do those slide card things actually work well enough to use regularly? Seems a bit odd slamming something in the side of your PS2 everytime you turn it on. o_O
Dalai is offline  
Old 07 March 2005, 20:34   #9
Ebster
Registered User
Ebster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Frankfurt / Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 300
as far as i know it will break your console after a quite short while
Ebster is offline  
Old 07 March 2005, 22:28   #10
Peanutuk
Registered User
Peanutuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The North, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 1,067
I'll give it a go tommorrow.
Peanutuk is offline  
Old 07 March 2005, 22:35   #11
icewizard2k5
Junior Member
icewizard2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 30
Posts: 200
hmm i COULD mod my ps2 so i can use an amiga emulator...

nah i think i'll just use my REAL one

what a task to port it though, i'm interested to know how it runs...

suggested disc contents:
ps2uae emul
walker adfs

icewizard2k5 is offline  
Old 07 March 2005, 22:47   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 15,680
All methods of discswapping are potentially dangerous for consoles. I always recommend modding.
Akira is offline  
Old 07 March 2005, 23:43   #13
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
yep, modding is the way to go.... slidecards are lame and eventually damage any console...
keropi is offline  
Old 08 March 2005, 00:28   #14
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 32
Posts: 2,723
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira
All methods of discswapping are potentially dangerous for consoles. I always recommend modding.
But I'm not sure if any place in the UK still mods PS2s these days. Wasn't it declared illegal in some court case?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 08 March 2005, 12:43   #15
EmuChicken
Senior Member
EmuChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nagoya, Japan (moved!)
Age: 33
Posts: 707
yep, been made illegal the modchips have in uk

You'll prolly be able to import some by some dodgy company in the US or somet, I'm with HDLoader at the moment, but its not too good for the snes / megadrive emulators, unsure how HDLoader would handle UAE (probably sucketh!)
EmuChicken is offline  
Old 08 March 2005, 21:44   #16
Peanutuk
Registered User
Peanutuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The North, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 1,067
Back on-topic: I tried to give this a try but I can't seem to burn the CDR properly for it to boot in the PS2, how exactly do I need to do it?
Peanutuk is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fs-uae.net - New home page for FS-UAE FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 4 01 May 2013 11:10
[FS-UAE] Amiga Game Database for FS-UAE Launcher nexusle support.FS-UAE 31 24 August 2012 20:24
[FS-UAE] Control FS-UAE with iOS devices nexusle support.FS-UAE 0 18 July 2012 22:57
UAE compiled on Blackrhino Linux (PS2) :) Seti support.WinUAE 6 12 August 2003 14:11
New Amiga Forever unleashed (in a witty way) MethodGit Amiga scene 2 29 November 2001 13:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18460 seconds with 11 queries