English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 February 2005, 12:07   #1
darket69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 25
transfering Whdload to amiga

Hi .. is it possiable to transfer whdload games to the amiga HD ? i have amiga forever but am unsure of where to go now .. i have a null moden cable and have a win 98 pc standing by

Thanks in advance for any help !!
darket69 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 February 2005, 14:42   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,414
Ifyou installed XP or 2000 ou could connect your Amiga's HD intothe PC and use WinUAE to read and write to the drive.

It is obviously possible to do it with Amiga Explorer...
Akira is offline  
Old 26 February 2005, 14:45   #3
darket69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 25
yeah thanks .. iv sorted it now .. but im having problems extracting lha files on the amiga .. i type into a shell for example lha x whdload.lha and it says lha: unknown command where as i can extract lzx files fine
darket69 is offline  
Old 26 February 2005, 14:58   #4
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 5,508
You need the lha command in the c directory. Lzx is probably there already if it's working.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 26 February 2005, 15:06   #5
darket69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 25
Hi .. please treat me like a complete noob .. im only just getting my head around all this ... ..

If i type lzx in a shell lzx starts and lists the various swiches etc however if i type lha i get the uknown command ... where can i find lha ? where do i put it ? .. my main folders are workbench and work dh0 and dh1

Thanks for all the help
darket69 is offline  
Old 26 February 2005, 15:55   #6
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 5,508
First go to User CP -> Group Memberships and join The Zone on this forum. Once you've joined it you can access The Zone from a link at the top of the webpage. I've uploaded LHA there.

Next transfer the file to your Amiga and copy it to the dh0:c directory. This is where commands reside in Workbench. It means that if you type LHA Workbench will first look in the current directory for the command and if not found then in the c directory.

You should then be able to use 'lha e myfile.lha' to decompress lha archives.

A good idea would be to set up Directory Opus 4 and do all the disk management stuff from there.
CodyJarrett is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help transfering files Scolioza New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 17 March 2012 20:35
transfering files from PC to amiga 500 via null-modem radio waves New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 04 November 2007 22:00
Transfering .adf files to amiga Raffaz New to Emulation or Amiga scene 18 08 July 2007 11:39
Amiga Explorer and Transfering ADF file wlcina support.Apps 29 03 June 2005 16:34
Transfering Sir Kidd New to Emulation or Amiga scene 11 22 December 2003 22:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11515 seconds with 11 queries