English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 November 2001, 21:49   #61
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
I've thought about it already, samurai ninja pig Once I get an 030 I will tower it, but it loses that 'compact, demiportable' feel the A600 has...

So I'd need a new A600
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 November 2001, 22:21   #62
Kodoichi
Banned
Kodoichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: I'm the smiling face on your TV, I exploit you still you love me
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
I've thought about it already, samurai ninja pig
Weee! You just reminded me of an anime I've completely forgotten - Samurai Pizza Cats
Kodoichi is offline  
Old 08 November 2001, 23:15   #63
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
I was thinking about that very same anime, porcupine friend It was quite funny for me
Akira is offline  
Old 09 November 2001, 04:15   #64
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,543
The Amiga isn't setup anymore, as I have a PC, but TBH it didn't bother me

It was okay and I ran a BBS which was on 24/7 so it needed to be cool
BippyM is offline  
Old 29 November 2001, 10:28   #65
Tim Janssen
Junior Member

Tim Janssen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Den Bosch / The Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 1,271
Angry I want more room

Since my appartment is only 30 square metres in size I donít have a game room. I am already glad there is some room for my PC, printer and scanner! Oh, I have also an Atari Lynx with some games (inlcuding original boxes) in my posession. It is stored in a cabinet between cans of soup and packs of milk.

My god what do I h-a-t-e my house. :kill
This morning I have found out my toilet is broken (and turned the bathroom in a jacuzzi) and water would not go away in the kitchen sink. Tomorrow a plumber will repare the mess for 'only' 60 Euro!. Until then, I will dream of a house consisting of multiple rooms including a computerroom for my Lynx, PC and Amiga and where I can go to the toilet without getting wet feet.
Tim Janssen is offline  
Old 29 November 2001, 12:31   #66
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Quote:
Originally posted by Twistin' Ghost
That's my room (above).
Sure, Twist, whatever you say.....

That also happens to be my dream room. Except I'm dreaming of one with a few extra additions of my own..... maybe an extension to put all my various consoles and handhelds in perhaps.
MethodGit is offline  
Old 30 November 2001, 17:23   #67
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
Quote:
Originally posted by MarzAttakz
maybe an extension to put all my various consoles and handhelds in perhaps.
Do tell me about your collection. Let's share lists.

(now dont you say i dont try to have normal conversations with you :P)
Akira is offline  
Old 02 December 2001, 03:07   #68
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
I've thought about it already, samurai ninja pig Once I get an 030 I will tower it, but it loses that 'compact, demiportable' feel the A600 has...

So I'd need a new A600
http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI...tem=1303807367

Here you'll find an Apollo 620 accelerator but the bastard only ships to United States

BTW, Do this accelerator use standard PC EDO simms ?
 
Old 02 December 2001, 11:16   #69
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,841
Re: I want more room

Quote:
Originally posted by Tim Janssen
This morning I have found out my toilet is broken (and turned the bathroom in a jacuzzi) ...
...where I can go to the toilet without getting wet feet.
LOL !
RCK is offline  
Old 03 December 2001, 19:25   #70
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
Quote:
Originally posted by Uukrul

BTW, Do this accelerator use standard PC EDO simms ?
AFAIK, standard it is. Though I think yopu can put up to 32MB... or was that the Apollo 630?

Not a bad price, I might try to score it
Akira is offline  
Old 03 December 2001, 19:42   #71
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
Info on the A620

Quote:
* 10 times speed increase, or more on math intensive applications!
* Mounted internally on top of the 68000
* 68020 CPU running on 25 MHz!
* 68882 math co-processor running on 25 MHz included!
* Approximately as fast as the Amiga 4000! (030 version)
* Up to 8 MB of 32-bit RAM! (One SIMM socket of 1, 2, 4 or 8 MB)
* Uses cheap and easily available standard 72-pin SIMM without parity
* PCMCIA friendly - PCMCIA port available up to 4 MB
* Autoconfiguring memory
So 8MB it is, the 630 must be the one that accepts 32MB... what can you do with just 8 megs? but afaik, the 630 is very rare... ;(
Akira is offline  
Old 03 December 2001, 20:36   #72
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
And here's a nice comparison:

http://user.tninet.se/~ohp942r/Apollo/600.html
Akira is offline  
Old 29 December 2001, 13:55   #73
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Back to top due to this thread

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=2821
Paul is offline  
Old 08 June 2002, 05:24   #74
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
Nice to see you've got an arcade cab, samo!

here are pics of almost everything I have:

http://www.theblastshack.com/bsakira.htm
Akira is offline  
Old 08 June 2002, 07:22   #75
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Damn, dude! A freakin' museum!
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 08 June 2002, 14:02   #76
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally posted by Twistin'Ghost
Damn, dude! A freakin' museum!
Too right! Are you opening to the public? How much is the entry?
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 08 June 2002, 18:48   #77
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
Open for free to anyone who loves old computers as much as me

I have a dream that someday I'll have enough spare money to open up an old computers/videogames store, just for the fun of it, and not to gain any bucks! I could repair old machines for free, to make someone happy reviving his/her hardware.. that sounds nice! And it could havea section with classic arcade machines! Wow, I'll never have enough money

On those pics, only my latest addition is missing: the Mattel Intellivision. And all the machines I've got in the US (6 of them). I dont know how to bring those babies now that shipping prices have skyrocketed over here!

PS: can you see the old amplifier and turntables too? oldschool city!
Akira is offline  
Old 11 June 2002, 19:07   #78
DPainter
Junior Member
DPainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: California
Posts: 342
This is my command center. No stand up arcade cabinets or Amiga 4000 towers here, but proof that I do buy some games.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	myroom.jpg
Views:	770
Size:	37.4 KB
ID:	3846  

Last edited by DPainter; 18 October 2002 at 20:33.
DPainter is offline  
Old 11 June 2002, 19:37   #79
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
DPainter, WHERE is the A1000?
Akira is offline  
Old 11 June 2002, 20:01   #80
DPainter
Junior Member
DPainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: California
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
DPainter, WHERE is the A1000?
Well, it's on my dresser with its case half open. I hooked it up a few months ago and it was working for about two minutes, then the floppy drive went out. I opened the case and pulled out the floppy drive because I was curious, then put it back minus a few screws. The sad fact is, my A1000 is dead and I don't know what to do with it.

It reminds me of when my parents' dog died ten years ago. They got the dog's ashes in a brass urn and planned to bury it somewhere in the hills. They never got around to burying it and the ashes are still in the urn in a drawer at their house. :eek
DPainter is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Amiga Room/Office :) fitzsteve Hardware pics 10 06 June 2012 06:11
Changing geek room 4pLaY Amiga scene 8 13 September 2010 19:22
Sega 'find' room containing every game tney ever made! Mick_AKA Retrogaming General Discussion 14 17 August 2008 00:01
Room 101 Dastardly Retrogaming General Discussion 40 16 May 2005 14:34
Wizkid - hidden room MethodGit support.Games 16 27 May 2004 17:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23196 seconds with 12 queries