English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 November 2001, 03:07   #41
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,583
I liked Retroman's room exactly because it's chaotic

Mine used to be chaotic too (of course, not as much as his), when I used the MSX, the Amiga and the Mega-Drive all as my main machines, I had lots of stuff thrown here

Nowadays I use nearly only the PC..
Shatterhand is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 November 2001, 05:53   #42
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
Quote:
Originally posted by RetroMan
But there are also CPīs with Silver Sticks and a blue case ....
Blue TRANSPARENt case. That's mine you psychic Competition Pro STAR Extra. It has many extra features, like slowmotion and autofire/rapidfire. NICE joystick. The Competition Pro Minis are cute, too. Me wants one
Akira is offline  
Old 03 November 2001, 01:49   #43
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 533
First, my bedroom (primary computer) -
Athlong 4 1.53Ghz/ 892MB RAM/ RAID / 21" monitor/ HP PSC 750/ DVD ROM / SCSI CDROM,CDR, & DAT tape drive/ boatloads of original games for PC & Playstation
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	p1010001.jpg
Views:	1267
Size:	35.7 KB
ID:	1172  
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 03 November 2001, 01:51   #44
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 533
Now, the living room. An all-Sony entertainment setup (with exception of the Dreamcast). I have boatload of other consoles too, but dont have them hooked up since the living room has to stay "neat".
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	p1010002.jpg
Views:	1155
Size:	29.7 KB
ID:	1173  
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 03 November 2001, 01:52   #45
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 533
Downstairs, at my electronics workstation. Internet access here, too. Two P3-1000 systems under the desk.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	p1010003.jpg
Views:	1177
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	1174  
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 03 November 2001, 01:54   #46
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 533
This is my Amiga 3000 in a tower case. A3000/25, 8mb Fast, 2mb Chip, 4GB Seacrate Barracuda, 2x/6x CD Recorder/reader, multisync monitor, blah blah blah, also more electronics stuff.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	p1010004.jpg
Views:	1172
Size:	43.3 KB
ID:	1175  
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 03 November 2001, 01:57   #47
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 533
Finally, a dual-cabinet MAME rig. Dual 25" Capcom cabinets, (1 SF2 layound, 1 D&D Layout) powered by a P3-933 w/ 256MB RAM, AdvanceMAME & AdvanceMenu. I converted the bigger one from a 3-player Aliens vs. Predator to a Street Fighter layout. Great fun with friends, but no, I'll never ever put that much work in anything ever again...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	p1010005.jpg
Views:	1607
Size:	32.6 KB
ID:	1176  
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 03 November 2001, 02:45   #48
birdy-scc
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 231
All I can say is .....

BASTARD!!

Cool setup.
birdy-scc is offline  
Old 03 November 2001, 09:28   #49
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Wow. That was very impressive!
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 03 November 2001, 19:21   #50
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Today I got a new item in my "game room" ... a C128D with steel case and a Commodore 1701 Monitor Since I never owned a C128D before, could someone please tell be how to switch to C64-mode and where to get a CP/M disk...... thx in advance

Edit : forget it, I just found out Now I only have to find my X1541 cable

@Shadowfire

VERY impressive "game room"

Last edited by RetroMan; 03 November 2001 at 20:32.
RetroMan is offline  
Old 03 November 2001, 20:59   #51
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 533
Samurai: No, I use AdvanceMenu, an arcade-box frontend for MAME. You can choose what game to launch & launch it. Then I have it set to pull up an Exit menu from within AdvanceMame ... by pressing P1 Start & P2 Start at the same time, then choosing Exit, it goes back to the front end. No mousing about. The Joystick/buttons control the whole thing. When I want to update the emulator/ROMS, I just open the back door, yank out the hard drive (its in a removable swap tray) & bring it to the machine in my bedroom and copy the files right there.
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 04 November 2001, 00:07   #52
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
EXCELLENT setup, Shadowfire... I plan to add a Jamma cab to my room next year... but I'll prolly put proper games in there rather than making it onto a MAME cab... I loved the pics, keep'em coming guys!

retroman: either bootup./reset by holding down the C= key, or type GO64 at the 128 basic prompt Since you live in germany you should avoid thsoe metal case 128Ds and go hunt a rare plastic case german 128D, they are MUCH cooler!
Akira is offline  
Old 04 November 2001, 06:57   #53
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 533
Oh they can be converted back to cps2 cabs in about 15 seconds, the original games are still in there its just a matter of moving the jamma harness from the PC to the CPS2 board. Want pics of the insides?
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 04 November 2001, 09:49   #54
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Well, itīs definitely no rarity, I would call it a "Womens Comp. Pro" cause it also has some silver glitter sprayed all over itīs case
So a "Gays' Comp. Pro" would have a PINK stick, then? :laugh
(and the plastic case would be covered with VELVET, then, I guess )
andreas is offline  
Old 04 November 2001, 18:33   #55
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
Shadow: good, you have space for PCBs in there too That's what Id like to do, making a JAMMA harness for the PC taht would be easily removable for the inclusion of a normal PCB... If I can do that, I might consider a MAME cab
Akira is offline  
Old 07 November 2001, 08:41   #56
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Waiting for pic of Twists joint...............
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 07 November 2001, 08:52   #57
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Here's a pic of my game room (I wish )

 
Old 07 November 2001, 20:55   #58
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
That's my room (above).

I won't shoot a pic until the rest of my stuff gets here (in a few weeks, hopefully) since it just looks like a bunch of PC's right now. But I will eventually shoot something.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 08 November 2001, 04:23   #59
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,543
Lightbulb

Here is my Amiga b4 I got the PC and packed it away!!

A1200/040 +16Mb
4.3Gig HD
Sony CDU928E CD-R
Creative 36x CDRom
33k6 Modem
HP Deskjet 690c

and a few other bits 'n bobs!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	markcomputer.jpg
Views:	1113
Size:	61.3 KB
ID:	1208  
BippyM is offline  
Old 08 November 2001, 18:25   #60
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
Hey bippy, how can you stand having your Amiga all gutted like that? I would drive crazy if I had the slightest bit of computer inners outside of their case. My A600s diskdrive lies outside of the case, and that alone drives me completely nutz
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Amiga Room/Office :) fitzsteve Hardware pics 10 06 June 2012 06:11
Changing geek room 4pLaY Amiga scene 8 13 September 2010 19:22
Sega 'find' room containing every game tney ever made! Mick_AKA Retrogaming General Discussion 14 17 August 2008 00:01
Room 101 Dastardly Retrogaming General Discussion 40 16 May 2005 14:34
Wizkid - hidden room MethodGit support.Games 16 27 May 2004 17:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24196 seconds with 12 queries