English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 February 2004, 19:28   #301
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
It's not gonna change, Apple has done it to get on par with teh PC craze.

Personally I would preffer that the prices are kept a bit higher but the final product to be solid, like what Apple was back then. My Classic II is some sturdy piece of shit and I love it, they don't make Macs like that anymore.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 February 2004, 21:14   #302
Oscar Castillo
Junior Member
Oscar Castillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 282
Send a message via AIM to Oscar Castillo
Quote:
Originally posted by cv643d
Nope not really, but I know how Linux/BSD and such work, I got it from a friend who worked at Ericsson. He took lots of things from there. Im probably going to get a new mouse pad though. I wanted a frosted glass one, but I fear it will be to hard on my wrist

I got a great price for my TFT at the time I got it. . I think 2 years or more ago... Nowday its a bit small. So for the Gameroom2k5 screenshot I will hopefully have a 20+ inch TFT to show off (been looking at 20 inch Apple screens)

Also I have been looking out for the new slim Apple G5 USB keyboard that looks awesome. But I havent decided if I should give up using my excellent IBM keyboard from 1988.
I've never been very comfortable with Apple keyboards. A little too mushy and too compact. I thought about an Apple 20" Cinema Display, but since I'm not gonna watch movies on it, I prefer the extra vertical space when viewing code or a webpage.
Most affordable one I've seen was the Samsung at 21.3" for $1199 and then a Dell 20" for $999 at times $899 if you catch it during a promotion.
Oscar Castillo is offline  
Old 17 February 2004, 21:21   #303
Oscar Castillo
Junior Member
Oscar Castillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 282
Send a message via AIM to Oscar Castillo
Quote:
Originally posted by Unknown_K
Doesnt really matter when you get your G5 since they will increase the speed every 6-12 months anyway, you can either wait forever or buy what you need.
I don't mind the speed bumps that's always gonna happen, but the thing is I don't want to get last generation gear, for example a G4 prior to a G5 release or 1st generation G5 vs a 2nd generation G5. Which happened to me twice before because I bought before MacWorld NY.
Oscar Castillo is offline  
Old 17 February 2004, 21:21   #304
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 524
Wow, everyone seems to have a fairly clean setup.
This is basically what my computer looks like most of the time.

Here's my main system:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	desk.jpg
Views:	415
Size:	84.3 KB
ID:	6431  
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 17 February 2004, 21:22   #305
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 524
And this is my server:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	server.jpg
Views:	405
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	6432  
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 17 February 2004, 22:30   #306
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Quote:
Originally posted by th4t1guy
And this is my server:
My 2 desks and table are a mess at the moment (dont have a digital camera to take pictures anyway).

Any reason why your power supply on the server is mounted on the 5.25" drive bay area?
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 17 February 2004, 22:57   #307
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
Quote:
Originally posted by Unknown_K
Any reason why your power supply on the server is mounted on the 5.25" drive bay area?
Yah that's odd...

Anyway, I don't understand why people need to have their server machines with their case lid off. Is it a worldwide fashion thing?
Akira is offline  
Old 17 February 2004, 23:34   #308
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,310
My server is sat in a room with nothing other than a Power cable and 2 network cables running to it (with 2 routers on top) with the case ON.
Enverex is offline  
Old 18 February 2004, 01:31   #309
Oscar Castillo
Junior Member
Oscar Castillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 282
Send a message via AIM to Oscar Castillo
Quote:
Originally posted by th4t1guy
Wow, everyone seems to have a fairly clean setup.
This is basically what my computer looks like most of the time.

Here's my main system:
What are the specs? And what is that wallpaper?
Oscar Castillo is offline  
Old 18 February 2004, 01:32   #310
Oscar Castillo
Junior Member
Oscar Castillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 282
Send a message via AIM to Oscar Castillo
Quote:
Originally posted by th4t1guy
And this is my server:
What do you use the server for? File server? Firewall, router?
Oscar Castillo is offline  
Old 18 February 2004, 02:58   #311
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 524
Quote:
Any reason why your power supply on the server is mounted on the 5.25" drive bay area?
I dug that case out of the trash, and built the machine out of spare sparts laying around. It was an old pentium pro gateway machine, and the power supply wouldn't fit in the normal spot, but it fits almost prefectly in the drive bay area. I even had to cut the back plate off for the motherboard.


Quote:
I don't understand why people need to have their server machines with their case lid off. Is it a worldwide fashion thing?
Yeah. I call it Derelict


Quote:
What are the specs? And what is that wallpaper?
My main machine is a Asus p4p800 with a 2.6c p4, 512meg ram, an 80gig harddrive, an el cheapo geforce2 mx, and a dreamcast hooked up to a tv tuner card and the serial port.

The server is an Athlon XP 1800 with some super cheap motherboard ( it's pc bits or something), 512ram and a 40gig harddrive. I mainly use it to host Battlefield: Desert Combat games. The background is http://gfxzone.planet-d.net/personal...ron-beetle.jpg
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 18 February 2004, 08:11   #312
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,656
O my friend Bubblo who works with me at Kiken came to visit. He's been on vacaion and my iBook missed her friend, his Titanium.

As a bonus, his sexy iPod came to visit. Looks better with my iBook than with his Tita, I will have to steal it

Last edited by Akira; 14 August 2017 at 20:11.
Akira is offline  
Old 19 February 2004, 05:09   #313
Critter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Nth^Dimension
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally posted by CodyJarrett
Here's a low quality scan of some of my Amiga games about half a year ago. The full collection is a bit bigger.

Which ones can you spot?
third isle, near the bottom - spotty cover

WORMS

good guess?

Critter is offline  
Old 25 February 2004, 06:27   #314
Oscar Castillo
Junior Member
Oscar Castillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 282
Send a message via AIM to Oscar Castillo
Quote:
Originally posted by cv643d
I played with my A1200 today and took a picture.
Off topic. That TV you have looks like a Samsung I want to buy for my bedroom or office. Does it always stretch video sources that are not widescreen format?
Oscar Castillo is offline  
Old 25 February 2004, 15:03   #315
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
No its a Sony 32 inch TV. You can select widescreen mode, normal mode with black borders on left and right side, and zoom mode, which zooms the picture (great for console games), and smartzoom which I run all the time. With smartzoom the picture gets zoomed a bit and fills all the screen, its a cross between zoom and widescreen mode. People look a little bit deformed then but not too much and I almost never notice it.

And it remembers any setting of the one above I mentioned which is really handy.
cv643d is offline  
Old 25 February 2004, 17:12   #316
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,126
WOOHOO! I have exactly the same TV

It was only 500 in my local TV store sale and 300 cheaper than a 21" widescreen!!

Heres a pic off the mess it sits in!:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tvdesk.jpg
Views:	454
Size:	48.5 KB
ID:	6469  
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 25 February 2004, 23:11   #317
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
since this topic has ended up as a free for all....i thought i would up this circuit bent synth i have done. For akira`s viewing pleasure....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vss.jpg
Views:	318
Size:	41.9 KB
ID:	6472  
thinlega is offline  
Old 25 February 2004, 23:37   #318
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,126
My keyboard setup is very old (first used with my ST) but if fulfills my two main requirements which are:

a) Its all general Midi
and
b) It all works!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kbrd.jpg
Views:	309
Size:	28.9 KB
ID:	6473  
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 26 February 2004, 05:34   #319
Oscar Castillo
Junior Member
Oscar Castillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 282
Send a message via AIM to Oscar Castillo
Quote:
Originally posted by Mick_AKA
WOOHOO! I have exactly the same TV

It was only 500 in my local TV store sale and 300 cheaper than a 21" widescreen!!

Heres a pic off the mess it sits in!:
what is that? a side panel with svideo, audio and coax?
strange place for it. don't you think?
Oscar Castillo is offline  
Old 26 February 2004, 05:39   #320
Oscar Castillo
Junior Member
Oscar Castillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 282
Send a message via AIM to Oscar Castillo
Quote:
Originally posted by thinlega
since this topic has ended up as a free for all....i thought i would up this circuit bent synth i have done. For akira`s viewing pleasure....
Akira may enjoy this. I know Frederick will. I just had to get one. Suffering withdrawl.

Last edited by Oscar Castillo; 07 December 2006 at 11:51.
Oscar Castillo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Amiga Room/Office :) fitzsteve Hardware pics 10 06 June 2012 06:11
Changing geek room 4pLaY Amiga scene 8 13 September 2010 19:22
Sega 'find' room containing every game tney ever made! Mick_AKA Retrogaming General Discussion 14 17 August 2008 00:01
Room 101 Dastardly Retrogaming General Discussion 40 16 May 2005 14:34
Wizkid - hidden room MethodGit support.Games 16 27 May 2004 17:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27779 seconds with 12 queries