English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 February 2005, 11:10   #1
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
New snapshot of Feelin

Gofromiel @ amiga.org posts:

"
Feelin is an object-oriented system (OOS) for the AmigaOS. It provides two things : A small shared library, fast and powerful (the object-system's core), offering everything needed to create a complete object-oriented environnement ; And an extensible system to create and maintain GUIs. Although Feelin comes with a lot of GUI oriented classes, Feelin is not limited to that, and can be used for a variety of projects.

This is a small update. I made it because I won't be able to work on Feelin for a moment, due to a lot of changes in my life. I decided to made Feelin open-source because I received a lot of mails asking for a port of Feelin to AROS/MOS/OS4. With the source available this is now fully possible.



IDCMP flag are now deprecated, Feelin now comes with its very own event system.

Drag'n'Drop has been partially rewritten, especially the graphic part.

Miscallaneous small imporvements.

Feelin in now open-source !

Give Feelin a try !!
"

Source: amiga.org

Last edited by Akira; 08 February 2005 at 14:20.
Paul is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 February 2005, 12:35   #2
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,235
it looks interested. I'm not sure ppl will support it as they generally used MUI but hoepfully i can be wrong as some ppl ask for an AROS/OS4/MOS port.


oh and look at the whole site, quite funny
Frog is offline  
Old 08 February 2005, 14:18   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 15,665
If this works beter than MUI it should be worth a try, but as Frog says, it will be hard for people to switch over to something new, MUI is way too established for my liking!
Akira is offline  
Old 08 February 2005, 15:08   #4
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Could give this a test-drive...does it interfere with MUI?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 08 February 2005, 17:11   #5
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,235
More and more people own a quite powerful configuration. And so they wanted to have something good looking. MUI isn't slow on high CPU... at least i guess you shouldn't notice it. So gadtools and older GUI are not used anymore... or not too often. It also give a "general" looking for all your application.

Only "old" amiga freak with use 68000 or standard A1200 still doesn't like MUI for slowing down their system.
This new GUI could give a good alternative. I quickly test it with give example and it doesn't seems to be so fast... perhaps using less bitmap could help a bit
Frog is offline  
Old 08 February 2005, 18:18   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 15,665
I have an 030@50 and I still think MUI is slow, and shit looking. What pisses me off the most is the looks, it really looks pathetic and I gasp in disbelief with the generic look of all MUI apps. I prefer standard ASP library shit.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 February 2005, 18:40   #7
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,235
Pathetic ? what do you means ? You can configure it as you want.
Frog is offline  
Old 08 February 2005, 20:15   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 15,665
It always looks the same way, no matter how much you configure it. The "MUI look"
Akira is offline  
Old 08 February 2005, 23:00   #9
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,235
ok
Frog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New e-uae snapshot mtb support.OtherUAE 12 16 November 2008 22:43
New version of Feelin Paul News 0 18 December 2004 15:59
Snapshot function Eny- support.Apps 4 16 July 2004 08:52
How can I snapshot WB on Uae? ElectroBlaster support.WinUAE 23 22 July 2002 15:35
new snapshot available Worfje support.WinFellow 14 28 November 2001 00:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16995 seconds with 11 queries