English Amiga Board Amiga Lore

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Did you buy OS 3.5/3.9 or not?
I bought OS 3.5 fair & square 11 19.64%
I bought OS 3.9 fair & square 20 35.71%
I don't have either one of these OS's 11 19.64%
I didn't BUY either one of these OS's, altough i still have one/both of them 10 17.86%
No, but i'd like to buy one/both of these in the future 4 7.14%
Voters: 56. You may not vote on this poll

Thread Tools
Old 01 February 2005, 08:31   #1

Bamiga2002's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
How many bought AmigaOS 3.5/3.9

Ok, start answering people

Right, i haven't made a poll before so it's not quite perfekto. If someone has bought both OS's it's not possible to select both options, so if u have OS 3.5 & OS 3.9 (originals) select OS 3.9 in the poll. The OS 3.5 option is obsolete.

How can i edit a poll afterwards?

Last edited by Bamiga2002; 01 February 2005 at 08:50. Reason: poll correction
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 February 2005, 08:46   #2
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
I am lame. I have not bought my copy of os3.9.... but one of these days....!
btw, who will get the money? I think it should be free...
keropi is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 09:49   #3
Joe Maroni

Joe Maroni's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 37
Posts: 1,268
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
i“ve bought os 3.5 and wasn“t really surprised of it...

thats the reason why i never would buy os 3.9 for such a price...
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 10:42   #4
Mr Creosote
Evil Mastermind
Mr Creosote's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 527
As I said in that other thread: both.
Mr Creosote is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 11:43   #5
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 34
Posts: 2,280
i bought both too
kriz is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 12:07   #6
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 44
Posts: 827
I bought 3.5 twice, and I I've bought 3.9 . . . I only downed 3.9 AFTER I already had the CD . . . .
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 12:13   #7
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 34
Posts: 7,924
I have both 3.5 and 3.9 as original CDs because they came with an amiga I bought once.

I wouldn't buy them though, I don't think I've used it for more than 20mins.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 12:14   #8
Zone Friend
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 983
I bought OS3.5, and then I traded away my defective Apollo 1260 for a brand new copy of OS3.9. I thought it was a fair trade. He fixed the card though, and probably earned a few bucks on it, but I was happy either way. I got rid of a piece-of-shit accelerator card, and a few weeks later I got myself a Blizzard 1260-50 instead.
StarEye is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 14:25   #9
Jope's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 36
Posts: 5,756
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
I've only ever bought 1.3 (came with my first machine) and 2.04 new.. Oh and 3.9 too come to think of it - I got it with Amithlon.

So I'm legal with 3.9.. Yay!

(Edit: the Kickstart ROM was the unlicensed bit in Amithlon, not 3.9 - Haage & Partner owned 3.9 at that time)
Jope is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 14:57   #10
Amiga-based Cyborg
mr_a500's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 786
I bought 3.9, but I wish I hadn't. It's just 3.1 with some shareware added and support for graphics cards and PPC (I already had 3.1 with better shareware). The ONLY useful thing I got out of it was the scsi.device for harddrives >4Gb.
mr_a500 is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 15:32   #11
Registered User
MacTO's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hogtown, Canada
Posts: 16
I received legit copies of 3.5 and 3.9 with machines I picked up, but never use them. They don't seem to offer much when your best machine has a 68030, and they won't even run on the machine I usually use. I'm the same way on the Macintosh. I own or can legally download more recent versions of the OS, but stick to the older ones because they will run better on my older hardware.

But just because I own them and don't use them doesn't mean that I'll get rid of them. OS 3.9 is way too expensive (IMHO). I wouldn't want to pay to replace it down the road, so I may as well keep my copies in the off chance I did want to use them.
MacTO is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 16:03   #12
Registered User
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
My newest machine is an 030/50 powered 1200, don't see a reason to use anything over OS 3.0 there.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 21:17   #13
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 3,704
I got 2 Original Copys of OS3.5 and 3 Original 3.9

Well, only 1 x OS3.5 and 1x OS3.9 are bought from the shop, the others came bundled with other hardware
RetroMan is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 21:48   #14

Bamiga2002's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
I have both, didn't buy either of them, i feel....umm....<sucker><sucker>....but hey, i didn't have a PPC or graphics card back then!!!

But i've bought a bunch of other stuff so maybe i can wander off without too much guilt.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 13 February 2005, 03:44   #15
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 722
Hmm.. i pirated them booth. Since you are either a pirate 100% or not I decided to stay 100 % pirate.

Besides piracy is cool coz they have cool names for their groups. Piracy 4 ewah!
cv643d is offline  
Old 13 February 2005, 03:49   #16
Posts: n/a
Pirated them both. Decided that they are bloated and aren't worth buying over 3.0/3.1. Am not using them on my real amiga or actively on winuae but I do have a 3.9 setup in winuae.
Old 13 February 2005, 06:36   #17
Powered by Motorola

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,063
I bought both, but lost the 3.9 CD (I still have the case). I'll probably buy another copy soon to backfill and make my other comptuer legal.
adolescent is offline  
Old 13 February 2005, 14:05   #18
Dr. Dude
Senior Member
Dr. Dude's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: On Ami World
Posts: 500
i bought 3.5. Its now shining on my 1200 (whit out a cd-rom)
Dr. Dude is offline  
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just bought an A600HD clownstyle MarketPlace 49 12 January 2013 17:52
Bought two books Doc Mindie Coders. General 17 01 July 2009 21:32
Just bought an A600... what have I done?! tonyyeb Retrogaming General Discussion 56 29 August 2008 21:46
anyone bought from amigastuff.co.uk ? stuntpup MarketPlace 15 26 January 2003 21:41
What have I bought? Big-Byte Amiga scene 7 26 August 2002 17:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:57.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28845 seconds with 12 queries