English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 January 2005, 01:53   #1
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Happy now i have DCE ScanMagic external working properly!

I bought this piece of hardware a while ago but acquired info that it overheats and thus doesn't work very good. So i tested it: it really does grill itself and after a while the picture is not good! So i put a fan on it as shown in the Big Book of Amiga Hardware site and voila, now it works very well. I just let it be on some time to get a better picture.

Now who said this was a crap thingy?

Now to test if Pinball Illusions or Slam Tilt are still flickering in hi-res modes... better not or it's an ex-SD/FF
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 January 2005, 10:47   #2
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002
Now who said this was a crap thingy?
That'd probably be me. I sent two back and eventually ended up with an Eyetech EZ-VGA box, which is great.
ant512 is offline  
Old 25 January 2005, 10:51   #3
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
wow... why the external box heats up so much? I have the internal DCE FF/SD and it has no probs, but to be on the safe side, I applied a small heatsink over the main chip...
keropi is offline  
Old 25 January 2005, 16:31   #4
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Maybe some models work, some don't. And the heating could be due to too many/few resistors or smthng, dunno. I'm not an electrician...
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 26 January 2005, 09:53   #5
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Both Slam Tilt & Pinball Illusions don't flicker in hires laced modes when screen is still but when the screen scrolls...aargh! It's not updated correctly, i can see the lines going over each other, producing ugly scrolling effect.

Keropi, if u could test this also with your internal model, i'd like to hear the results.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 26 January 2005, 09:57   #6
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Ok, I'll test it this afternoon and I'll inform you.... but I vagely recall that it did not look so well... but I'll test
keropi is offline  
Old 27 January 2005, 22:08   #7
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
Ok, I'll test it this afternoon and I'll inform you.... but I vagely recall that it did not look so well... but I'll test
So have you had time to test it yet?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 28 January 2005, 07:32   #8
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,360
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
That behaviour probably can't be helped if you have a flicker fixer. They just work that way. :-/
Jope is offline  
Old 28 January 2005, 10:47   #9
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002
Both Slam Tilt & Pinball Illusions don't flicker in hires laced modes when screen is still but when the screen scrolls...aargh! It's not updated correctly, i can see the lines going over each other, producing ugly scrolling effect.
This is caused by the flickerfixer. Basically, each time the screen redraws in interlace mode, only half of the scanlines get drawn. The display alternates between drawing the odd and even lines, whilst the persistence of the display makes it appear that they are both drawn at the same time. So:

Frame 1
1 -----------
2
3 -----------
4
5 -----------

Frame 2
1
2 -----------
3
4 -----------
5

The sequence then repeats. The flicker fixer buffers the last frame drawn and sends it to the display with the current frame, thus the entire display is drawn in one pass. However, as the buffered frame is older than the newer frame, it lags behind - hence moving objects seem to tear horizontally, and scrolling looks strange.
ant512 is offline  
Old 30 January 2005, 23:13   #10
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
sorry Bamiga2002, I was away for a business trip.... I'll try to post results tomorrow, when I return back home...
keropi is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 09:51   #11
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
OK, I tested Pinball Illusions HIGH-RES mode, it does get ugly when scrolling, but not too much.... it is acceptable....
keropi is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 16:08   #12
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Ok, thanks for testing. Now i know i'm not alone ... well, it's still playable altough ugly looking.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 16:13   #13
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
either way, this high-res mode makes everything look so small.... not a great loss!
keropi is offline  
Old 08 February 2005, 09:13   #14
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Hey Bamiga2002, try to play Super Skidmarks or Skidmarks 2 (found on BTTR HD games) in HI-RES mode! everything looks OK but the cars are flashing when they move!
keropi is offline  
Old 10 February 2005, 16:23   #15
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Yeah. I'd like to diss the FF cause of these problems. Then again screen clarity is a neat thing, so maybe i oughta keep my old C=1084...
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 11 February 2005, 08:27   #16
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
I have a Phipips CM8833II monitor, but it sucks when comapred to the old 14" VGA monitor I use now with the FF...
I prefer decent display and do not bother with 1% of problematic games...
keropi is offline  
Old 13 February 2005, 15:12   #17
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
I have a Phipips CM8833II monitor, but it sucks when comapred to the old 14" VGA monitor I use now with the FF...
I prefer decent display and do not bother with 1% of problematic games...
Hey, we're talking about Skidmarks & Slam Tilt here...
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 13 February 2005, 20:51   #18
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
nope, we're talking about eye health here! LOL LOL LOL
keropi is offline  
Old 13 February 2005, 23:14   #19
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Oh well...
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apidya not working properly... Predabot support.Games 61 03 February 2009 03:02
PPC not working properly Gavilan support.Hardware 7 05 November 2008 20:03
External ScanMagic questions mykrowyre support.Hardware 0 18 August 2007 05:10
Hi, anyone has an internal DCE scanmagic/flickermagic installed on an A4000D ???? car keropi Hardware pics 20 21 October 2006 13:28
STRICQ not working properly Unregistered support.WinUAE 4 11 December 2001 00:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31741 seconds with 11 queries