English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 January 2005, 19:16   #1
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,547
Propeck Unpack

I am trying to unpack a packed propack executable file..

While unpacking I get the error: UNEXPECTED HUNK

If I remove the header upto the beginning of the data RNC and I can unmpack that.

Any ideas?
BippyM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 January 2005, 07:19   #2
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 633
what tool have you tried to unpack?
XFD supports some variations of ProPack-Executables...
Wepl is offline  
Old 25 January 2005, 15:33   #3
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,547
I tried XFD but maybe I need to find more libraries and decrunchers as it says it isn't crunched!

I also tried propack itself but thats it really!

Also I examined what it does when loading, it loads the crunched data to $7f00 and then it unpacks it over itself, I just need to try and figure out where it is jumping to to start the game playing!

Alternatively maybe RNC packed data within the game is just datafiles, and the actual exe is the game and it unpacks the datafiles itself and then runs!!

It's a pity I don't completely understand asm atm but I'll keep playing and poking about as thats the best way to learn
BippyM is offline  
Old 26 January 2005, 12:31   #4
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 633
If it loads absolutely to $7f00 than it isn't probably any standard format.
I assume a selfmade exe containing RNC data.
So unpack the data and you have what you want?....
Wepl is offline  
Old 26 January 2005, 14:24   #5
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,547
I have extracted the data, changed what I needed to now I need to reload it and start it, so it needs to be repacked or I need to find where it jumps to after loading to start the game
BippyM is offline  
Old 26 January 2005, 16:32   #6
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 633
different methods possible
loading to absolut $7f00 is not os-conform anyway, and dangerous because this mem may be used already.
you could take the jump-in address and repack it using an absolute address cruncher (e.g. StoneCracker)
depends also on the other code in front of RNC data. is there only unpack and jmp or also other initialization done?

best would be to make it all relocatible, but probably a lot of effort
Wepl is offline  
Old 26 January 2005, 16:37   #7
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,547
Well i tried to jump to it using the replay and setting up the various registers etc.. but it just crashed
BippyM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to unpack files in directories cronos support.Other 6 18 July 2007 07:50
Unpack/Convert DMF? Photon support.Demos 8 21 November 2006 14:51
Unpack DiskExpander-packed files? andreas support.Apps 5 25 May 2006 23:38
demos with extension .xcd - how to unpack?? Flachkoepper support.Demos 4 07 September 2004 00:13
Unpack a MSDOS disk with DMS ???!!! Tony Landais support.Apps 3 20 June 2003 01:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12396 seconds with 11 queries