English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 January 2005, 18:00   #1
Thoth Amon
 
Posts: n/a
Mac --> Amiga transfers?

Hello!

First: I am new here.

Second: I have an A1200HD, which I have had in my closet for a few years. I recently pulled it down to play around. I don't have much software - just the Magic Bundle, or whatever it was called, but am interested in getting more.

Third: I read quite a bit of the FAQ which was linked from the "Welcome letter" I received. I did not see any FAQs in regards to transferring files from a Mac. They seem to deal primarily with copying to a floppy (I have no floppy drive on my Mac). I also do not have a CD-Rom on the Amiga. Is there a FAQ dealing with this? If not, any ideas? My Mac has USB ports and a Firewire port, but nothing else. Am I screwed?

Thanks!
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 January 2005, 18:28   #2
Jim
 
Posts: n/a
You'll need to get a network card for your Amiga (I presume your Mac has one?), or maybe you'll have to get some sort of serial/parallel adaptor for your Mac so you can run a serial/parallel cable to your Amiga. Or a Amiga CD Drive.

As for the transfering software I don't know what you can use - with resident Mac pant-creamers Akira & Dred The *uck here I think you'll soon find out....
 
Old 07 January 2005, 19:07   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
I think you better search for the help of a PC owning chum, at least for the very first steps. It's sometimes not easy even with a PC. After the first steps have been taken (transferring your first programs into the miggy) your best bet is to look for nnetworking software and a NIC for your mac, since your mac has no serial port

alternatively you could purchase a serial port card expansion into your mac, if its not an imac sort of thing.
Akira is offline  
Old 07 January 2005, 19:17   #4
Thoth Amon
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
You'll need to get a network card for your Amiga
Wow! They can be networked? In that case, I assume I can just buy a NIC for the A1200 and get online over my router. That would be easier (I think) than trying to transfer files. The NIC hooks up to the expansion port? I will have to research this, I guess.
 
Old 07 January 2005, 19:19   #5
Thoth Amon
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
alternatively you could purchase a serial port card expansion into your mac, if its not an imac sort of thing.
It is an iBook. No expansion at all, other than externally.
 
Old 07 January 2005, 23:24   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
iBook like mine

No expansion port. You have to buy a notebook 16 bit PCMCIA NIC card. Which oine? Its one of the models compatible with the cnet.device you can find on aminet. Use the search function of this forum to find more data because it hasbeen discussed thoroughly
Akira is offline  
Old 13 January 2005, 17:54   #7
Android
A1200 Pervert OnBoard
Android's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uk
Posts: 45
Didnt the tool AMax read Mac floppy's ? and let you write to the amiga's devices ? I used to DTP on that emulator as i had Pagemaker 1 on a single floppy, and it was far superior to Wordsworth at the time and wasnt verticly resolution challenged lol ....
Android is offline  
Old 13 January 2005, 18:08   #8
Jim
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira
I think you better search for the help of a PC owning chum......
bwhahahaha

(you know why I'm laughing at this)
 
Old 20 January 2005, 02:42   #9
MacTO
Registered User
MacTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hogtown, Canada
Posts: 16
I'm in the same predicament. Here are a few Ideas I had. Anyone is willing to comment upon them.

I've been using ZTerm on the Mac, Term (available from Aminet) on the Amiga, and just transfering via z-modem. You should be able to get a USB to serial adapter for you iBook.

Another option which I would like to explore is hooking up an HFS formatted hard drive to the Mac, dumping files onto it, then connecting the hard drive to the Amiga (assuming that I can get the accelerator card working for Amiga OS 3.5).

Third option is to write stuff to a CD and read it from an external CD on my Amiga.
MacTO is offline  
Old 20 January 2005, 07:58   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
What about connecting your iBook's modem jack o a modem conencted to the Amiga? I think this should work,probably did it once with two PCs.
Akira is offline  
Old 10 February 2005, 19:59   #11
powrslave
 
Posts: n/a
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...sPageName=WDVW

just get one of these for amiga 1200
works great..less filling
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 crashes with PCMCIA transfers chocolate_boy support.Hardware 12 09 October 2011 15:44
HELP! Amiga Explorer transfers crashes Amiga 500 Psylicium support.Apps 3 17 September 2007 13:58
ADF transfers Amiga <-> Linux PC scaf New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 16 June 2007 14:57
PC-Amiga-PC transfers Yesideez New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 21 March 2007 16:15
PC<> miggy file transfers arizz support.Hardware 3 03 April 2005 02:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14460 seconds with 11 queries