English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 January 2005, 13:17   #1
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Love Emulators? - Dgen & Hatari emulators

Amigaworld member fishy_fis has released ports of 2 Emulators for AmigaOS (68k) They are:-

Dgen is a 68k amiga os port of the popular sega megadrive emulator.

Hatari is a 68k amiga os port of the Atari ST emulator based on 0.50 sources. It suports all versions of TOS and limited Gem support. Also supports 68000/68020/68040 cpus, gfx cards and harddrives

All the above are designed for Classic/68k Amiga/MOS and Amithlon users.

Source: amigaworld.net
Paul is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 January 2005, 14:03   #2
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
an Atari emulator ! that's a good news, we were just talking about this few days ago. I just hope it don't ask too much cpu ressource.
Frog is offline  
Old 06 January 2005, 14:11   #3
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Dgen was very good on pc before gens. Good work.
 
Old 06 January 2005, 17:17   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,282
it surely runs like arse on an 030 anyway
Akira is offline  
Old 10 January 2005, 12:24   #5
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
anyone tried dgen on 060 ??? is it any good?
keropi is offline  
Old 10 January 2005, 12:28   #6
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
tried it on my 030 / AGA, didn't work. Cannot find a proper screen display or something like this
Frog is offline  
Old 10 January 2005, 13:22   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
I gues it is just a plain re-compilation of the source, no optimizations whatsoever...
keropi is offline  
Old 10 January 2005, 16:16   #8
commie1974
Ami Worshipper
commie1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Piraeus-Greece
Age: 43
Posts: 215
Unhappy

Couldn't get Hatari to work on plain AGA/040 A1200
Anybody write a few lines to help???
Is a gfx board REQUIRED?
For god's sake, why can MAC be emulated in such a brilliant way with SS & Fusion, and no reasonable ST emulator is available for AGA amigas?
Hope later versions of Hatari will include some proper docs, this is not usable so far...
Anyway, thanx to fishy_fis for the effort
commie1974 is offline  
Old 17 January 2005, 21:16   #9
mrodfr
Registered User
mrodfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 62-France
Age: 50
Posts: 415
hello,

Hum, my first post in eab. Hello to all

There is a missing library in the archives (agd.library or something like that) but I don't know how It could be possible to found this library ???). See with snoopdos for correct name.

Sorry for my great english and to this so sad first message (without funny picture at the right when I wrote).

bye and happy to be here with all of you.
mrodfr is offline  
Old 28 January 2005, 15:31   #10
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
Hi MRodfr and Welcome to EAB

in fact i even don't think to run Snoopdos to check if some libs were missing. Thanks for the hints !

Anybody find this agd.library out there ?
Frog is offline  
Old 28 January 2005, 18:47   #11
mrodfr
Registered User
mrodfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 62-France
Age: 50
Posts: 415
Hello,

agd is a part of StormMesa, download: stmesa-libs68k.lha

http://www.haage-partner.net/downloa...rld/StormMesa/

Hope I haven't said a mistake. Just found, download but impossible to test. I must quit my home.

My first usefull message here

The HATARI emulator use SDL.library (not tested also because no ROM for ATARI here.

As ALL could see, my english is in ahigh level

Hum, I like eab. I slowly learn all the possibilities of eab GUI. Need to found a special avatar just for me.
mrodfr is offline  
Old 28 January 2005, 22:23   #12
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
Thanks for the link.

i'd transfert a TOS image tonight and the game crack'ed to see if it works

About your english, check mine and others french eab members...
Frog is offline  
Old 29 January 2005, 09:59   #13
mrodfr
Registered User
mrodfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 62-France
Age: 50
Posts: 415
Hello,

DGEN AND HATARI used also SDL. I have installed mesa libs 68x and try to launch dgen with a rom and Ihave:

5.CACHES:> dgen -f sonic1.bin
rc: Couldn't open rc file /.dgen/dgenrc, trying to create
rc: Couldn't create rc file /.dgen/dgenrc!
sdl: Couldn't init SDL: Found no sufficiently capable CGX visuals!
main: Couldn't initialize graphics!

Problem of SDL here. Work with 68x, SDL first ???

here voodoo3+P96+060.

I can't test HATARI (no TOS ROM here).

bye
mrodfr is offline  
Old 29 January 2005, 22:06   #14
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
quite the same with Hatari :
Configuration file SYS:/.hatari.cfg not found
Could not initialize SDL.library
Unable to open a suited CGX.library

if only the author has given more info, perhaps we could get to run it.
Waiting for a next release with i hope more doc.
if ony
Frog is offline  
Old 31 January 2005, 11:54   #15
CU_AMiGA
Banned
CU_AMiGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Exeter
Age: 32
Posts: 959
I wouldn'd mind hearing about the peformance of these 2 emulators. Another emulator i need information about is the AmiGNUBoy emulator. Does this work on AGA systems?

Regardsa,
CU_AMiGA is offline  
Old 12 March 2009, 18:08   #16
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Could this be softkicked somehow? Seems like a good idea... [ Show youtube player ]
Photon is offline  
Old 18 January 2012, 16:17   #17
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
Haha, sorry to resurrect an old thread guys, but I was kinda surprised to find this here.

Not really worth responding towards hatari as it's been maintained for 68k by someone else since version 0.80 or thereabouts.
Dgen never recieved updates, so this compile I did is probably worth the effort for uae/amithlon, and perhaps highly clocked '060 users (also requires rtg).
As I mentioned in a current thread I started here about amiga emulators, I mostly use my amithlon box for emulation so more or less did straight recompiles.

Damn, time flies
fishyfish is offline  
Old 19 January 2012, 19:28   #18
lost_lemming
Registered User
lost_lemming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Birmingham
Age: 32
Posts: 332
I looked at the thread title thinking it would be about something completly different, and disturbing, so I won't go there lol
lost_lemming is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to Amiga Emulators, help please Brduk New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 04 August 2011 09:29
Emulators on the amiga JACK98 Retrogaming General Discussion 20 18 January 2009 22:55
Playstation 2 emulators Galahad/FLT Retrogaming General Discussion 6 14 January 2008 16:34
Favourite Emulators aldo Retrogaming General Discussion 92 10 February 2007 02:16
Emulators on XBox? Adeptus Retrogaming General Discussion 31 26 April 2004 05:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34887 seconds with 11 queries