English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 January 2005, 04:53   #1
JohnnyWalker
aka ThunderPeel2001
JohnnyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 267
Using my old Amiga joystick with my PC!

After messing around with WinUAE for a while now, I've realized there's only one thing missing... my original Amiga joystick!

Does anyone have any ideas how I could go about making my own Amiga to PC adapter? I imagine it would actually be pretty easy! Of course, I'm assuming that some of you fellas have already done this yourselves?

My stick of choice (which is still in great condition, including 2 meter cable modifications I made ) is my trusty Cruiser!

Thanks for any help!

Last edited by Paul; 06 January 2005 at 12:19. Reason: Deleted direct signature
JohnnyWalker is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 January 2005, 06:04   #2
Sune Salminen
Dinamáquina
Sune Salminen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BH/Brasil
Age: 43
Posts: 364
Save yourself the trouble...

And buy this:

http://www.atariage.com/store/produc...2c16d3859cd8d4
Sune Salminen is offline  
Old 06 January 2005, 06:59   #3
Jim
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sune Salminen
A bit expensive methinks, especially consdering you need to buy a USB cable too.

But then I suppose the advantage is not only do you get a converter if you get a 10m USB cable you also get a 10m extension
 
Old 06 January 2005, 15:44   #4
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
No no no, too expensive!!

check www.vesalia.de , for: Adapter 4-player, parallel, guess the price?? 2,5 Euro
!!

I have bought it some months ago, works great
kriz is offline  
Old 07 January 2005, 00:06   #5
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
So how does that work on the PC? Don't you need some sort of driver or something?
FromWithin is offline  
Old 07 January 2005, 01:22   #6
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
@FromWithin

Have a look for PPJOY on google, thats all you need to get it running

Btw. I just bought the new SPEEDLINK COMPETITION PRO USB for my PeCe, works like a charm and is as good as the old Amiga ones
RetroMan is offline  
Old 07 January 2005, 07:27   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroMan
Btw. I just bought the new SPEEDLINK COMPETITION PRO USB for my PeCe, works like a charm and is as good as the old Amiga ones ;) :D
Great.. We've been meaning to buy a few with some friends.

- how many logical buttons does it have?
- are the triangle buttons both for autofire?
- is the build quality the same as the Amiga versions?
Jope is offline  
Old 07 January 2005, 09:26   #8
dreamkatcha
My elbow tastes of icky

dreamkatcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 697
Does anyone know if the USB Competition Pro joystick is made by the original company? I imagine there would be copyright issues otherwise. It would be nice to think they're still around.
dreamkatcha is offline  
Old 07 January 2005, 15:40   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Suzo is still around..

Probably the design is licensed to Speed-Link
Jope is offline  
Old 12 January 2005, 23:19   #10
MSC
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Age: 45
Posts: 137
Comp Pro USB is a winner !

I ordered 2 of these from:

http://www.core-digital.co.uk/produc...roducts_id=543

I would recommend them as they were very helpful and delivery was prompt and without fuss. (Word has quickly spread though, there selling like hot cakes)

After using a Zipstick Pro for many years, i was glad to see that this had microswitch fire buttons. Win XP recognise it instantly & the stick works great, and yes you can set up winuae to use two at the same time. Just had a quick two player game of Bubble Bobble with the missus
Also had no problem using second fire button on games that use it including Apidya, in which the autofire also works well. Not sure how many games support the extra two buttons, but could be good for MAME.

My only reservation is that it is not as "tight" as the Zipstick, as the microswitches are pretty weak to press. This is just a personal thing, and i will order some firmer switches via work and change them over.

This is a must for anyone wanting a classic Amiga/Atari/C64 stick.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Compusb.jpg
Views:	401
Size:	52.3 KB
ID:	7806  

Last edited by MSC; 12 January 2005 at 23:31.
MSC is offline  
Old 25 January 2005, 20:08   #11
JohnnyWalker
aka ThunderPeel2001
JohnnyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kriz
No no no, too expensive!!

check www.vesalia.de , for: Adapter 4-player, parallel, guess the price?? 2,5 Euro
!!

I have bought it some months ago, works great
Care to explain how you connect and use this with a PC? Mine just turned up today and it's clearly an Amiga peripheral? Argh!

I want to user my Cruiser again (although those USB Competition Pro's look slightly tempting!).
JohnnyWalker is offline  
Old 25 January 2005, 23:05   #12
JohnnyWalker
aka ThunderPeel2001
JohnnyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 267
Update: Kriz has explained that I needed a peice of software called PPJOY (http://www.geocities.com/deonvdw/Docs/PPJoyMain.htm ) and now it works fantastically! This little cheap gizmo is highly recommended!!

Thanks Kriz!
JohnnyWalker is offline  
Old 26 January 2005, 12:13   #13
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 37
Posts: 657
DirectPadPro allows the use of Genesis joypads, which use the same interface as the Amiga. Might be worth checking this out. Last time I checked there were some problems with the interface and newer chipsets however.
TikTok is offline  
Old 28 January 2005, 02:25   #14
sarek2k
E.A.B Addict and Proud
sarek2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 49
Posts: 543
Send a message via MSN to sarek2k
i also got a competition pro usb from core-digital (my friend orderd 2) quick delivery and a fantastic product, i setup with winuae with goal hd installed and played on easy level and won 54-8 (20 mins each way) Fantastic joystick happy days are back again
sarek2k is offline  
Old 28 January 2005, 04:12   #15
Titler
Zone Friend
Titler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyWalker
Update: Kriz has explained that I needed a peice of software called PPJOY (http://www.geocities.com/deonvdw/Docs/PPJoyMain.htm ) and now it works fantastically! This little cheap gizmo is highly recommended!!

Thanks Kriz!
Oooh... that sounds interesting. I still have my old Sega Master System Control Stick, which survived over 12 years of continuous use, first with the SMS, and then plugged straight into the Amiga... it may have to be dragged out of retirement again! And I still have a working Competition Pro too... oooh again!
Titler is offline  
Old 28 January 2005, 04:40   #16
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Is there a way to get a CD32 pad working with all the buttons? PPJOY certainly doesn't do that.
 
Old 28 January 2005, 14:19   #17
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
yes i was wondering about this also, i only use competetion pro`s now, but should use a cd32 pad some time (honey bee)....
kriz is offline  
Old 01 February 2005, 19:07   #18
Titler
Zone Friend
Titler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyWalker
Care to explain how you connect and use this with a PC? Mine just turned up today and it's clearly an Amiga peripheral? Argh!

I want to user my Cruiser again (although those USB Competition Pro's look slightly tempting!).
Johnny, how did you transfer the funds to this company? I have ordered one, but Barclays want to charge a £20 fee for transfering a measally 7.95 Euro to Vesalia's Bank Account... I could but 2 USB Competition Pro's for that!
Titler is offline  
Old 02 February 2005, 10:11   #19
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParallaxScroll
Is there a way to get a CD32 pad working with all the buttons? PPJOY certainly doesn't do that.
Why do you want to use the rather crappy CD32 pad on a PC when you can buy a very good USB pad and use that instead?
manicx is offline  
Old 02 February 2005, 10:28   #20
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
With similar reasons of using amigas today. I'm already using a good gamepad but it's not the same.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Homemade Amiga Joystick T_hairy_bootson Hardware pics 45 11 May 2017 15:50
Quickshot Python: crap joystick or crappest joystick ever? T_hairy_bootson Nostalgia & memories 141 13 September 2016 16:36
Best way to use Amiga joystick on a PC? Smiley support.Hardware 82 16 September 2012 19:30
Amiga joystick on PC scaf support.Hardware 9 18 June 2007 20:40
Amiga joystick options Olecranon support.Hardware 1 11 August 2006 10:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21762 seconds with 12 queries