English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 January 2005, 15:27   #1
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Question Monkey Island 2, PC vs. AMIGA

Have during the last 2-3 days played Monkey Island 2 (256 colour PC version) with the SCUMMVM prog on my PC and started to wonder why the Amiga version didn't have any background animations as moving sea etc and more music + sound effects? IMO the Amiga is as capable as a PC back then to have these effects in the game.
Same goes for Indiana Jones & The Fate Of Atlantis and other Lucasarts point&click adventure games.
Grateful if someone had an answer
AMIGAZ is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 January 2005, 16:01   #2
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Big grin That Secret of the Monkey Island

Sorry for an OT, but...
Here's a little quote from a book i got about 8 years ago, about "Programming a demo in 68k on A500". It was a polish translation from the officiall Commodore "Amiga Hardware Reference Manual" probably released originally around 1990.:

"This part is in English to make lamers dizzy and keep'em. Firstly I want to thank S.S Captain for xero of this book and send a lot of fux to Mac. He's probably very good hacker, but ot a good fellow. He knows why. Also I have to tell you that Amiga is fine, but IBM is better. Did you see "That Secret of the Monkey Island" on it? Did you see those 256 colours at the same time on the screen, with resolution better than the highest one in Amiga? I was laughing at IBM a few months ago yet, but now I'm not. It's the future in Poland, I'm telling you. I know you hate me now."

Shoonay is offline  
Old 04 January 2005, 16:34   #3
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
Various reasons, but I'd guess the major ones were:

- 512K of chip RAM;
- 880K disks;
- No hard drives.
ant512 is offline  
Old 04 January 2005, 21:21   #4
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
I think that "chip ram" is to blame.... fine for the 1st maschines, but after a600 it was a prob....
keropi is offline  
Old 04 January 2005, 21:22   #5
viernez67
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Spain
Age: 43
Posts: 10
A hint: if you have a Roland MT32 sequencer use it or the emulated one(included in scummvm, but you need to find the needed roms). And you will get a kick ass music, better than the Amiga version.
viernez67 is offline  
Old 04 January 2005, 21:34   #6
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by viernez67
A hint: if you have a Roland MT32 sequencer use it or the emulated one(included in scummvm, but you need to find the needed roms). And you will get a kick ass music, better than the Amiga version.
Sounds cool!
Do you know the name of these rom files?

Too bad they didn't make an enhanced amiga version for pure HD install back then with more effects/music etc for the Amiga 2000 or 3000.
The extra effects in the PC version adds a bit more feel to the game.
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 04 January 2005, 22:34   #7
viernez67
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Spain
Age: 43
Posts: 10
Well those files are MT32_PCM.ROM and MT32_CONTROL.ROM

MT32_CONTROL.ROM: go here http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=7270, read a little and you'll know how to build it(it's easy).

MT32_PCM.ROM: http://vdmsound.sourceforge.net/file...f/MT32_PCM.zip

Put them in your scummvm folder, and select MT32 as device, the first time you run it it will take sometime to start, because scummvm is building the sound file, next runs will start as fast as usual.

To moderators: Legal situation of those roms are undertermined, as a previuos slashdot article, Roland was unable to demostrate that they own the rights of such roms, so to me, they're free until they can demostrate the opposite. If you think that you can have problems, simple delete the PCM link, but the other i think that it's legal.
viernez67 is offline  
Old 05 January 2005, 08:33   #8
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
What the bloody hell is the point of that SCUMM crap if you can use Dosbox?? I play all those old Lucasarts games just fine on Dosbox.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 05 January 2005, 09:16   #9
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred the Duck
What the bloody hell is the point of that SCUMM crap if you can use Dosbox?? I play all those old Lucasarts games just fine on Dosbox.
hey, hey...ease down...
I use Dosbox also for playing oldies but not the Lucasart ones at the monent since I've been lazy since Christmas....must be all that food I ate
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 05 January 2005, 12:24   #10
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred the Duck
What the bloody hell is the point of that SCUMM crap if you can use Dosbox?? I play all those old Lucasarts games just fine on Dosbox.
Means you can play all of the SCUMM games on the DC, GP32 and Amiga. Also means you can play the Mac, Amiga and FM Towns games on your PC without having to get hold of and set up emulators and system ROMs.
ant512 is offline  
Old 05 January 2005, 12:37   #11
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
not to mention that SCUMM is actually a new engine for playing these games, it is not an emulator...
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monkey Island 1 on Amiga 1200 boing_1000 support.Games 25 22 April 2016 14:32
Is Monkey Island 1 incompatible with Amiga 1200? daro2096 support.Games 17 08 March 2013 14:10
Monkey Island: was it slow on a 7Mhz Amiga? Gaula92 support.Games 10 17 November 2011 15:40
ScummVM and Amiga Monkey Island boing_1000 Retrogaming General Discussion 25 07 June 2008 08:04
Monkey island 2 amiga dlfrsilver Retrogaming General Discussion 15 27 December 2005 04:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24055 seconds with 11 queries