English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 January 2005, 04:40   #1
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Ok who uses xbox to emulate the Amiga !!!

Please answer.
It will be worth your while if i get a few responses
synchro is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 January 2005, 05:20   #2
Jim
 
Posts: n/a
Not me. I don't see how it's gonna be worth my while
 
Old 03 January 2005, 07:26   #3
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
me
BippyM is offline  
Old 03 January 2005, 12:41   #4
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
I do as well.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 03 January 2005, 12:47   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Me. UAE-X is good, but the lack of CAPS support. The speed of emulation in high compatibility mode is sometimes below 100% A500.

The biggest problem is that the majority of Amiga screen modes were what is called "Single Field, Non-interlaced". It is likely that the X-box can do such modes, but they are not supported in the X-box SDK.

As such all modes are promoted to interlace and flicker
alexh is online now  
Old 03 January 2005, 13:39   #6
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
I do. I have no Amiga anymore only XBox for Amiga games and WinUAE on my PC for PPaint.
cv643d is offline  
Old 03 January 2005, 13:54   #7
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Big grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim
Not me. I don't see how it's gonna be worth my while
Your right !!!
No benefit to you at all....
But everyone else above if you give me your address i will send you something i whipped up over the Xmas ( small break from Tribute 2 )
A little more than just the Amiga but what the hell
ISNT THIS FUN


synchro is offline  
Old 03 January 2005, 15:25   #8
LeeT
At Large
LeeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK - Hartlepool
Age: 46
Posts: 14
Me too!
LeeT is offline  
Old 03 January 2005, 15:38   #9
frostwork
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 152
I'd like to, but WinUAE-X doesn't seem to like my cd32 iso...
Well it loads, but it's damn slow and doesn't have any audio...?
Any hints?
frostwork is offline  
Old 03 January 2005, 16:37   #10
XrAyZ
Registered User
XrAyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Uk
Age: 47
Posts: 11
Send a message via MSN to XrAyZ
i do too got vicex and winuaex with just a few games on to test, i like the c64 emu on xbox and its silky smooth for the old demos
XrAyZ is offline  
Old 03 January 2005, 19:33   #11
Ash
Zone Friend

Ash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aus
Posts: 175
I use an xbox to emulate Amiga, C64, etc
Plus play Xbox, Homebrew, Game Ports and use Xbox Media Center to play audio and video
I got a 200 Gb HDD and have little more and 7Gb free
Ash is offline  
Old 03 January 2005, 21:04   #12
LeeT
At Large
LeeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK - Hartlepool
Age: 46
Posts: 14
Hands up who has a Yod@box?
LeeT is offline  
Old 03 January 2005, 21:48   #13
andyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 97
On my xbox there are emulators for...

Nes
Snes
Megadrive
Master System / Gamegear
GBA / Game Boy Colour / Gameboy
Amiga (WinUAE-X and UAE-X)
Amstrad CPC
Spectrum
C64
Arcade
Atari 2600
Atari ST
(All with tons of games)

Plus there's

XBMC & XBMP (plays everything from divx to real media files)
Dongle free DVD player
A few homebrew games

Also there's 10 or 12 commercial games.

The XBOX is the most convienient way for me to run emulators. I turn it on, get presented with a menu and then choose what I want to run - simple as that - and as it's connected to a 32" TV and 5.1 surround system then it really is the dogs gonads!

The only issue I do have I yet to find the perfect screen size for some emulators - some just aren't quite right.
andyr is offline  
Old 04 January 2005, 06:03   #14
Ash
Zone Friend

Ash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aus
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyr
XBMC & XBMP (plays everything from divx to real media files)
XBMP is dead and buried, anything XBMP could do XBMC can do better
It can play most quicktime files, has a builtin file manager that can read pc CD/DVD's, etc
Ash is offline  
Old 04 January 2005, 15:36   #15
galu
Registered User
galu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
Me. UAE-X is good, but the lack of CAPS support. The speed of emulation in high compatibility mode is sometimes below 100% A500.

The biggest problem is that the majority of Amiga screen modes were what is called "Single Field, Non-interlaced". It is likely that the X-box can do such modes, but they are not supported in the X-box SDK.

As such all modes are promoted to interlace and flicker
Are you talking about UAE-X? UAE-X is an old project, which is no longer developed. Try WinUAEX from XPort - in my opinion THE BEST Amiga emulator for gaming ever made on any platform. Well, there is no CAPS support at this moment, but I think that it is the only missing feature
galu is offline  
Old 04 January 2005, 16:07   #16
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Synchro, is this a DVD full of Xbox emulators with a fancy front end? It looks very nice... and like a good excuse to get emulating again on the 'box.....

I do wonder if anyone will support keyboard use in these emulators using the SmartJoy Frag (PS2 KB/Mouse adaptor for Xbox)... now that WOULD be VERY cool!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 04 January 2005, 17:47   #17
galu
Registered User
galu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid
I do wonder if anyone will support keyboard use in these emulators using the SmartJoy Frag (PS2 KB/Mouse adaptor for Xbox)... now that WOULD be VERY cool!
SmartJoy Frag is not just a "kb/mouse adaptor" - it's a converter that allows you to play commercial Xbox games (from Halo to... DoA ) using kb+mouse combo instead of gamepad - it translates keyboard keystrokes into pad button presses and mouse movement into analog thumbstick movement. It would be completely useless under Xbox Linux or emulators.
However, you can connect an ordinary PC USB mouse and USB keyboard to your Xbox console, because Xbox gamepad ports are in fact standard USB ports, but a little odd-shaped You will need to use soldering tool... or buy a cheap connector/adaptor (which costs a few dollars - look at eBay). Of course you will not be able to play commercial Xbox games - but underground stuff like Linux, emulators, web browsers usually support this. WinUAEX does.
galu is offline  
Old 05 January 2005, 01:44   #18
andyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 97
Quote:
XBMP is dead and buried, anything XBMP could do XBMC can do better
It can play most quicktime files, has a builtin file manager that can read pc CD/DVD's, etc
Personally, I prefer the way XBMP works which is why I still use it. For files it doesn't play I use XBMC. In a way it's analgous to the Amiga - just because it has been discontinued it doesn't make it any the less useful.

The cheap way of connecting a keyboard or mouse to the xbox is quite simply to cut off the usb connector of a keyboard or mouse and cut off the plug and cable of an old xbox controller. Then just twist each bare wire on the mouse keyboard with it's corresponding wire from the xbox connector and cover them in insulating tape. Job done.

Xbox cable > Usb Cable
=================
+5v = Red > Red
Data - = White > Yellow
Data + = Green > Orange
Ground = Black > Black

There should be an tutorial on www.xbox-scene.org somewhere.
andyr is offline  
Old 05 January 2005, 11:42   #19
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by galu
Are you talking about UAE-X? UAE-X is an old project, which is no longer developed. Try WinUAEX from XPort - in my opinion THE BEST Amiga emulator for gaming ever made on any platform. Well, there is no CAPS support at this moment, but I think that it is the only missing feature
I was talking about both. Neither support caps, both always use interlace and make things flicker (or blur).
alexh is online now  
Old 05 January 2005, 14:13   #20
galu
Registered User
galu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 118
alexh -> Flickering and lace-artifacts in WinUAEX are caused by wrong setup (for example, Agnus chipset setting always causes screen to flicker). I can even run 640x512 WB or DPIV without flickering and interlace. Team17 splashscreens are good examples - try ArcadePool on Agnus/FullECS/AGA settings.
And don't forget that new versions of WinUAEX are released frequently - if you have suggestions or feedback, visit XPort Forum on Xbox-Scene.org (http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showforum=96).
galu is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xbox console hard modded, Xbox Crystal soft modded blast MarketPlace 0 23 May 2010 20:22
XBOX and Amiga SYS3 Paradroid90 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 24 September 2008 19:53
Actually, what is the best way to emulate Amiga on Linux? etnablog support.OtherUAE 5 02 June 2008 01:02
Xbox amiga emulator Zeewolf Amiga scene 6 03 May 2005 11:40
Amiga Emu for the Xbox? Zeewolf Amiga scene 24 15 February 2003 23:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34037 seconds with 11 queries