English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 December 2004, 01:23   #1
WaterTiger
 
Posts: n/a
Cool Devpac programming

Hi Everyone! - newbie here!

I`ve had an Amiga for as long as I can remember.

I`ve got an A1200 desktop with a Blizzard 1260 + SCSI kit + 36Mb Fast. I`m really into assembler programming and use Devpac V3.
My problem is, that I used to have a Blizzard 1230 IV, and used it with no problems at all, and now I`ve upgraded, my version of Devpac (3.04 I think?) can`t cope with the `060.

I know there are newer versions of Devpac but I can`t find one for sale anymore. I did a Google search and it threw up a thread here mentioning
V3.18. I can assemble and compile using the `060, though only compiling in
`040 mode but the real pain is the debugger, MonAm which won`t work.
I`ve read that the stack frames on an `060 are different from previous processor versions and I guess that this is the problem.
I can still debug in `020 mode but this is just a pain - I lose all my fast and my SCSI!

Anybody know where I can get a newer version of Devpac.
Any help would be appreciated. Thanx.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 December 2004, 08:26   #2
Jim
 
Posts: n/a
You can get a illegal* version of Devpac from many TOSEC sites. Read the FAQ.

For a better assembler (in many people's opinions) try PhxAss which is free, and legal to download. This program is occasionaly updated, Devpac isn't.

*By illegal I mean strictly illegal. The way the emulation community works is to download .ADF's (ROMz on other platforms) and play/use them through WinUAE. This is because they can't be arsed to transfer the disk images themselves or they never had the disk images to begin with - most software is considered abandonware and the ethos is if you already own it or cannot buy it, it's not now supported, it's not hurting anyone then why pay for it?
 
Old 11 December 2004, 08:56   #3
HCF
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Age: 47
Posts: 97
Maybe this helps...

http://atomnet.co.uk/amiga/Apps/Devp...7)(HiSoft).zip
HCF is offline  
Old 11 December 2004, 15:26   #4
WaterTiger
 
Posts: n/a
Grrrrrrrr8

Spot on HCF!
Thanx for that.

I know there are other assemblers Jim but I`m very comfortable with Devpac.
Thanks for your comments though.
I bought V2 for my old miggy 500 and then V3 for the 1200, which was a huge improvement, and I understand the development involved, but yeah, I feel like I`ve paid my dues in the past

Thanks again guys.
 
Old 12 December 2004, 00:04   #5
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
Just started assembly programming, and that'll come in handy. Isn't there supposed to be a second disk, though?

Also, any ideas where I can get the m68K assembly language manual from? Didn't Motorola give it away free at one time?
ant512 is offline  
Old 12 December 2004, 00:18   #6
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 45
Posts: 1,838
Not really free... but it was made available through some publishers as well as directly from Motorola.
You can still get the stuff if you know what you are looking for: user and programming manuals of the 68000 family. Try Freescale (Motorola Semiconductors) website, you shall find there what you are looking for.
http://www.freescale.com/

Just checked all the manuals are there, search by keyword, 68000, and obsolete parts if needed.

Last edited by IFW; 12 December 2004 at 00:30.
IFW is offline  
Old 12 December 2004, 00:27   #7
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
Just did a Google search for "68000 manual" and found it on about 90% of all the pages on the net. (Kicks self for not looking properly.) The Freescale site seems to have the most comprehensive collection of docs though - thanks!

Now I just need a book that puts all this moonman talk into English.
ant512 is offline  
Old 12 December 2004, 00:37   #8
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 45
Posts: 1,838
Freescale is the owner of the technology: you won't find better docs than that although some timings are still incorrect in the official docs - nothing that is of concern to you atm surely.
Motorola was kept as a brand for mobile and 3g devices Freescale is now the semiconductor business.
For a beginners book I can't really recommend these users manuals, try with some tutorials first, and once you think you grasp their concept go for the cpu manuals for fully authentic information, not urban legends
Basic/generic electronics and cpu knowledge can be a plus to understand some of the stuff most notably about signaling, interrupts, gates and interfaces. On the other hand you can live without understanding them properly as long as you are only interested in casual programming.
IFW is offline  
Old 12 December 2004, 01:06   #9
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
Think I've got the fundamentals from reading various tutorials on the net, and playing with the inline assembler built into Blitz Basic. It's astonishing how things in other languages (C, C++, Java, etc) make more sense when you've spent some time looking into it. Even some of the limitations of Speccy Basic make sense now. It's even more astonishing that so few assembly books/university courses exist these days. Just a few days of research has led me to the conclusion that you can't possibly be a really good programmer unless you know asm.

Why didn't I learnt this years ago?

Anyhoo, the eventual plan (once I've really got to grips with asm) is to switch to developing Mega Drive/Genesis games, and put my shiny new flash cartridge to good use.
ant512 is offline  
Old 12 December 2004, 02:51   #10
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 45
Posts: 1,838
For a more recent experience maybe you want to try GBA or PS2
Good luck!
IFW is offline  
Old 12 December 2004, 16:26   #11
WaterTiger
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by ant512
Just started assembly programming, and that'll come in handy. Isn't there supposed to be a second disk, though?
The second disk had the INCLUDE files on I think. These are in the NDK3.9 here;

http://www.amiga.com/3.9/download/NDK3.9.lha

I found this on a previous thread.

Last edited by WaterTiger; 12 December 2004 at 16:59.
 
Old 10 January 2005, 20:43   #12
TameBest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 17
Big grin Another solution...

By the way... if you don't feel easy using illegal software, we can switch our 2 accelerator cards
... Guess what ? I give you my MARVELLOUS Blizzard 030 - 50 MHz THAT WORKS FINE WITH YOUR DEVPAC and you gimme yours

Isn't it THE idea ???

You're always welcome

Tame
TameBest is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 15:16   #13
frost242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Noisy-Le-Grand / France
Age: 37
Posts: 92
Hello,

I'm an Atari ST programmer but I had got an Amiga already some years ago.
I recently bought and set up again an A1200 with Blizzard 060 and want to develop some stuff on it.
Actually, I downloaded Devpac 3.18 and I did a little test this morning. I launched Monam to debug a little proggy. I set up a breakpoint, runned the prog and simply got a freeze. So, I wonder if this version supports the 060.
Any clue someone ?

Regards,
frost/sct1
frost242 is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 17:04   #14
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
Was the breakpoint you set in a program that disables multitasking/dma/system? If so the monitor doesn't like this
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 17:09   #15
frost242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Noisy-Le-Grand / France
Age: 37
Posts: 92
Oh sh...t ! Yes, I used a startup rout provided in Trashcan #3, and it seems to disable at least multitasking (forbid), and probably other stuffs..
Damn, on Atari we have a pretty neat debugger called Adebug that works in IPL-7. It may be a good point to check if it still assembles for Amiga, sources here if anyone interested : http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=29135

Thanks Musashi for pointing this

Btw, has anyone any decent debugger to advise ?

Last edited by frost242; 11 October 2007 at 17:16.
frost242 is offline  
Old 12 October 2007, 09:04   #16
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
You could make yourself a IPL7 button and then use a piece of software called HRTMon (http://www.whdload.de/whdload/Tools/hrtmon230.lha) as a monitor. It has lots of nice features and when using OS friendly stuff it can be entered with a keypress or mouse button. The circuit for the button is included in the archive.

You and I have a similar thing in common. You are an ST coder who has started coding on Amiga - I am an Amiga coder who bought an STE
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 12 October 2007, 09:44   #17
frost242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Noisy-Le-Grand / France
Age: 37
Posts: 92
Yes, that may be an alternative. I'll check it.

Are you going to make some things on the STe ? You may take a look on http://www.atari-forum.com/ or http://www.dbug-automation.co.uk/
frost242 is offline  
Old 12 October 2007, 09:51   #18
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
I'm already registered at both of those

I'm just learning about the system at the moment. I've got my shell running and worked out how to do reset-routines
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 12 October 2007, 10:00   #19
frost242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Noisy-Le-Grand / France
Age: 37
Posts: 92
Great ! I hope to see some things from you soon
frost242 is offline  
Old 13 October 2007, 01:30   #20
YoJoe!
Amiga Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 217
SASC comes with a powerful debugger called CodeProbe.
It can step thru asm or c binary or source code. Loads o fun.
YoJoe! is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Devpac 3 BippyM MarketPlace 11 19 July 2012 18:21
devpac 3.5 zeGouky request.Apps 28 26 October 2011 20:36
Devpac, is that zoneable :D? remmah Coders. General 2 26 December 2009 20:50
Devpac/Assembler help please legoman0 Coders. General 7 07 July 2007 11:31
Devpac 3.x Frank Black request.Apps 13 27 August 2006 00:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21113 seconds with 11 queries