English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 November 2004, 16:55   #1
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Scanning my demo collection & put on the web

Hello!

I'm new here on the forum, so please tell me if I've posted in the wrong forum (or move the thread if you're an admin ).

I was a prominent demo coder in the golden (imo) era of Amiga demos, 1987 to 1991-92. As a result I have an extensive collection of demo compilation disks from that time. I have only found a very few sites hosting demos from this era, and many of them have the same "famous" demos that everyone already has, or lacks many milestone demos.

The nostalgia bug has bitten me and I thought I'd spend part of my xmas holidays scanning Amiga demos from my old 880k disks and uploading them somewhere to share with Amiga fans.

I have two questions:
1. Which is the best solution for scanning 80-100 disks efficiently? (That costs less than $100, preferably.) If it requires that a transfer program is run on the Amiga 500, how do I get the transfer program to the A500? I have Diskmaster 2.3 on Amiga disk but not Directory Opus.

2. Where can I upload the disk files?

Thanks for any help,
Henrik.
Photon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 November 2004, 22:46   #2
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
1. Won't work on either my W2k PC or my XP PC.

2. What is tosec?
Photon is offline  
Old 24 November 2004, 23:37   #3
bobbybearing
Zone Friend
bobbybearing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 162
disk2fdi work only under real ms-Dos (not win2000/xp)

tosec=The oldskool emulation center www.tosec.org

if your demos are not in tosec, perhaps new, original prods to add !

you can find adf/dms disks by themes (demos, games...)
from sites like http://www.planetemu.net (amiga -> Roms) or back2roots, pouet...
bobbybearing is offline  
Old 25 November 2004, 01:52   #4
DPainter
Junior Member
DPainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: California
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon
1. Won't work on either my W2k PC or my XP PC.
You could use DISK2FDI under the following conditions: two floppy drives, a bootable DOS diskette, and a FAT16 or FAT32 formatted partition on which to copy the DISK2FDI dumps.

If you have a small hard drive sitting around somewhere you could format it to FAT32, etc, etc.

BTW, you wouldn't happen to have a very old Amiga music demo that used the graphics and sounds from the swordfighting game Barbarian? They used the sound effects to make a funny song.
DPainter is offline  
Old 25 November 2004, 03:31   #5
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by DPainter
BTW, you wouldn't happen to have a very old Amiga music demo that used the graphics and sounds from the swordfighting game Barbarian? They used the sound effects to make a funny song.
You on about the ' Bar Brian demo by the Plasma Force' are you?

Excellent ol demo .. It can be found here on Pouet.net
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 25 November 2004, 03:45   #6
DPainter
Junior Member
DPainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: California
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_0rga5m
You on about the ' Bar Brian demo by the Plasma Force' are you?

Excellent ol demo .. It can be found here on Pouet.net
YES, that's it! Thanks! Cool, I'm off to see it again after all these years. I'll stop hijacking this thread now.
DPainter is offline  
Old 25 November 2004, 14:28   #7
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by DPainter
You could use DISK2FDI under the following conditions: two floppy drives, a bootable DOS diskette, and a FAT16 or FAT32 formatted partition on which to copy the DISK2FDI dumps.

If you have a small hard drive sitting around somewhere you could format it to FAT32, etc, etc.
The disk2fdi site is down. And yes, I tried both the new and old url. So I can't read up on what it is capable of.

I would really like to have my W2k or XP partition running (both FAT32) while both reading and preferably writing disks, so I won't have to repartition the disk and install Windows 98. I *really* dislike Windows 98. W2k is soo stable.

The Catweasle could do that, I suppose, and it costs 100 Euros, which is just about what I can bear. Is it the best solution? Will it throw up on read/write errors or produce an almost working .adf which gives read/write error when emulated?

Can't find any purchasing info here

http://ami.ga/news/news99_e.htm

so where can I buy it?

Last edited by Photon; 25 November 2004 at 14:30. Reason: tags
Photon is offline  
Old 25 November 2004, 14:38   #8
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
After a bit of searching I found this dealer:

http://www.softhut.com/cgi-bin/test/...=3774828_10590

Can anyone recommend this dealer? Is there a better price somewhere else? Will the dealer ship to Sweden? Will I need to buy something extra or can I plug in the card in my PC and stick one of my external Amiga 880kb drives in it without adapters?

Last edited by Photon; 25 November 2004 at 14:42. Reason: re-phrasing
Photon is offline  
Old 25 November 2004, 14:54   #9
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
For that price you cvould probs pickup an HD'd 1200, which would be an even better solution
BippyM is offline  
Old 25 November 2004, 15:00   #10
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Why is that? Why HD? Read all disks to the A1200 HD and then stick it into the PC? Then I would need to transfer some kind of ADF producing program into the A1200, which I can't right now.

Put an Ethernet card into the A1200. Good. But I still need to transfer the drivers for it.

Please explain how you meant!
Photon is offline  
Old 25 November 2004, 15:15   #11
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
You could do both

The HD can be used directly withing WinUAE

An ADF producing prog will fit on a 720kb PC disk as Transadf is less than 20-30kb, so you simply put Transadf on a disk, mount PC0: (which comes with Workbench 2.05+)on the 1200 and away you go

I am not going into details here regarding connecting a HD to winuae unless you want to take that route

Networking is simple too, just get a pcmcia network card (can't remember the exact one, but mine cost about 4GBP from ebay) and simply go down that route
BippyM is offline  
Old 25 November 2004, 16:46   #12
Duke
HOL-Team
Duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Age: 37
Posts: 519
Send a message via ICQ to Duke Send a message via Skype™ to Duke
If you are going to buy the catweasle, wait for the MK4, it will be much improved and maybe it's even possible to use it for CAPS dumping.
Duke is offline  
Old 25 November 2004, 22:03   #13
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym
You could do both

The HD can be used directly withing WinUAE
An AmigaDOS formatted harddisk stuck in a PC, that WinUAE can access? How the he**!??!
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym
An ADF producing prog will fit on a 720kb PC disk as Transadf is less than 20-30kb, so you simply put Transadf on a disk, mount PC0: (which comes with Workbench 2.05+)on the 1200 and away you go
Will I get WB2.05+ with my A1200 then? Otherwise I'm stuck.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym
Networking is simple too, just get a pcmcia network card (can't remember the exact one, but mine cost about 4GBP from ebay) and simply go down that route
That also hinges on me getting WB 2.05+ with the A1200.

But thanks for the tips, will consider it. If you can, please respond to my doubts in this post.
Photon is offline  
Old 25 November 2004, 22:08   #14
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke
If you are going to buy the catweasle, wait for the MK4, it will be much improved and maybe it's even possible to use it for CAPS dumping.
I pretty much HAVE to wait for it, since MK3 is sold out. The author said MK4 would be available in October, the dealer says it will be available mid- to late November.
Photon is offline  
Old 25 November 2004, 22:20   #15
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon
An AmigaDOS formatted harddisk stuck in a PC, that WinUAE can access? How the he**!??!
Will I get WB2.05+ with my A1200 then? Otherwise I'm stuck.
That also hinges on me getting WB 2.05+ with the A1200.

But thanks for the tips, will consider it. If you can, please respond to my doubts in this post.

Yes an Amiga formatted HD can be used in a PC and WinUAE can access it, do a search on these here forums for more info

An A1200 should come with WB3.0 as a minimum so that'll be fine (anything newer than wb2.05 should do the job)

you'll need to ensure a HD comes with the 1200 or simply put your own in
BippyM is offline  
Old 26 November 2004, 02:20   #16
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Thanks for the answers. Will a 3.5" 10GB IDE drive fit?
Photon is offline  
Old 26 November 2004, 06:12   #17
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
I reccomend no drive bigger than 4gb tbh, the filesystem pre 3.5 don't like bigger HDs

Someone else with more knowledge here will help, but again do a search of these forums (almost everything is answered already )
BippyM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XBMC & Rom Collection Browser with WinUAE - can someone help me get it working? BobbyBobBob support.WinUAE 3 28 April 2013 15:49
Web page with kickstart list & checksums Gabriel Hardware mods 4 24 January 2010 03:53
Demo collection vol. I / Almathera NewDeli request.Demos 2 31 December 2009 12:10
Wanted >> Amiga Virus Free PD Collection & Fred Fish Collection Kitty request.Demos 34 06 January 2006 21:30
AD&D Collection Adeptus project.SPS (was CAPS) 2 23 February 2004 14:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20550 seconds with 11 queries