English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 October 2004, 06:27   #1
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,021
Minix images

Hi.

I'm not to sure if this is a error with winuae or not. I downloaded the minix set and well the first disk is a amiga disk, and the rest are atari 720kb disk images.

Does winuae support atari 720kb disk images? Because when ever I goto enter the root disk (disk 2) I seem to get a error.

my cfg.

k1.3 512kchip, 1.5mbfast, 68000, Match A500 emulation, ECS chipset.
redblade is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 October 2004, 11:32   #2
pjhutch
Peter
pjhutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sowerby Bridge,UK
Age: 51
Posts: 95
No that I know of. CrossDos might be able to read them. I forget which format Atari discs use.
pjhutch is offline  
Old 16 October 2004, 11:41   #3
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,021
atari uses the same format as the pc, 720kb. I'm busy trying this on UAE, might try a Atari eumlator, as I only have to d/l 2 extra disks.
redblade is offline  
Old 16 October 2004, 13:56   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,510
For each 720K disk, create an empty "custom adf", mount PC0 and use an ADF utilitiy like TSGui to write the 720K image to it. After that the custom ADF should be usable as Atari disk. It's just the same procedure as to create a boot ADF for PC-Task.
thomas is offline  
Old 17 October 2004, 01:31   #5
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,021
So WinUAE can't read Atari disks, I have to thru that extra effort then? :-(

Hmm didn't have much luck gettting it going on the atari emulator as the boot disk was missing minix.img
redblade is offline  
Old 05 July 2005, 23:00   #6
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
If you are still interested in trying this, I can upload my custom ADF set for you (incl. the ADOS boot disk); this will be Minix 1.5.10 with the patch 1.5.10.2 applied.
Total size is roughly 4 MB (RAR'ed, full 9-disk set).

Worked perfectly! The only thing is that the system seems to be read-only throughout; that is, you cannot modify the init and other scripts in /etc, as they always get auto-reverted to their defaults, and I haven't yet found out the reason why.

Last edited by andreas; 05 July 2005 at 23:17.
andreas is offline  
Old 06 July 2005, 01:43   #7
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,021
ah yes please upload them, can you do it as 2*2mb rar files tho ?

as i'm on dial up, and would prefer to do 2 seperate downloads at 2mb each.
redblade is offline  
Old 06 July 2005, 14:24   #8
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Hmm, it turned out that in RAR format, it's mere 3 MB.
Unfortunately, I had to revert to Minix 1.5 (original and unpatched) for now, as I encountered a couple of "last-minute" inode errors with my 1.5.10.2 set. I would not want to spread the set unless I know why these errors occur(red).
(Filesystem checking program is called fsck and it is located on USR disk #2 [Disk 4] in /bin).
andreas is offline  
Old 07 July 2005, 10:57   #9
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,021
cheers
redblade is offline  
Old 07 July 2005, 11:31   #10
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
you're welcome ... tell me about your experiences with it someday
andreas is offline  
Old 08 August 2005, 12:01   #11
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,021
Okay, finally got it going .

But one problem .

What's the 'root' account details so I can logon .

Also andreas are you running this of the .adf in Winuae or did you use the update to run it of a hard drive file ?!

cheers

--
righty o, just found the login accounts from:
http://www.jeacle.ie/pub/articles/minix/

login/password
ast/Wachtwoord
root/Geheim

and leave USR disks write enabled.

Last edited by redblade; 08 August 2005 at 12:15.
redblade is offline  
Old 13 August 2005, 09:50   #12
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Running off the adf, sure.
Running off hard drive is VERY difficult and IMPOSSIBLE on WinUAE at the moment, as you will need a real (pseudo) hard drive controller emulation! The system must be fooled into thinking that there was a real HDD connected, otherwise the recognition shall be doomed to fail.
andreas is offline  
Old 14 August 2005, 09:45   #13
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,021
ah right cheers matey.

do you max out the RAM when you use Minix?

You tried compiling anything?.

I havn't really done that much with it.
redblade is offline  
Old 31 August 2005, 15:04   #14
fmcpma
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portugal / Porto
Age: 53
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas
Running off the adf, sure.
Running off hard drive is VERY difficult and IMPOSSIBLE on WinUAE at the moment, as you will need a real (pseudo) hard drive controller emulation! The system must be fooled into thinking that there was a real HDD connected, otherwise the recognition shall be doomed to fail.
Isn't WinUAE's emulation of a hard drive "real"?
fmcpma is offline  
Old 31 August 2005, 16:04   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
UAE's harddrive is AmigaDOS device level (uaehf.device) or filesystem level (virtual directories) emulation. There is no IDE or SCSI hardware emulation.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 31 August 2005, 16:15   #16
a_petri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Budapest / Hungary
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmcpma
Isn't WinUAE's emulation of a hard drive "real"?
Yes, it is, but it is done through emulated AmigaOS device drivers (AFAIK uaehdf.device for hard disk image files,and uaescsi.device for actual hard disks), and not by emulating a hard disk controller *hardware*.

Minix expects an A2091 compatible SCSI host adapter, and it accesses it directly, without using any AmigaOS drivers. Therefore Minix hard disk support under WinUAE would require a precise hardware-level emulation of the A2091 card, and I suppose it would be too much effort for a relatively minimal improvement.
a_petri is offline  
Old 31 August 2005, 16:19   #17
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Strong disagreement. It would improve a LOT.
Since all that awkward disk-changing procedure would no longer be necessary. And please consider that the possibility of *expanding* the /usr directory by other tools or newer versions bigger in size is VERY limited at the moment. When the disk space is gone, it is gone. On a 10 MB HD, however, you could cram in a lot of useful tools which can make life a lot easier.
I've always been a huge UNIX freak and I'd love to have this in. Someday. But at the time when Toni decides to put it in.

Last edited by andreas; 31 August 2005 at 16:26.
andreas is offline  
Old 01 September 2005, 03:10   #18
fmcpma
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portugal / Porto
Age: 53
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by a_petri
Minix expects an A2091 compatible SCSI host adapter, and it accesses it directly, without using any AmigaOS drivers. Therefore Minix hard disk support under WinUAE would require a precise hardware-level emulation of the A2091 card, and I suppose it would be too much effort for a relatively minimal improvement.
Hmmm. I see. But can one not say that the harddrive emulated by WinUAE is as real as if it emulated an IDE or SCSI one -- it just uses a proprietery interface? In that case, "all" that is needed is a suitable driver for it in Minix!
fmcpma is offline  
Old 06 September 2005, 11:34   #19
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,021
Hmm is this Minix HD code attacks the IDE or the SCSI directly so that it can be 'compatible' with the Atari version?? Because that was the purpose of having the disks in the Atari 720kb format.
redblade is offline  
Old 13 September 2005, 23:57   #20
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas
If you are still interested in trying this, I can upload my custom ADF set for you (incl. the ADOS boot disk); this will be Minix 1.5.10 with the patch 1.5.10.2 applied.
Total size is roughly 4 MB (RAR'ed, full 9-disk set).

Worked perfectly! The only thing is that the system seems to be read-only throughout; that is, you cannot modify the init and other scripts in /etc, as they always get auto-reverted to their defaults, and I haven't yet found out the reason why.
Any chance you can upload the patched disks to the 1.5.10.2 release?

I have the boot disk, don't need that, just the MFM disks that have been patched please.

Also how do you mount the other /usr disks

i do /etc/umount /dev/dd0
insert a new disk then do
/etc/mount /dev/dd0 /usr

but when i do 'ls -la /usr' I have problems
redblade is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minix on Amiga tinto Amiga scene 9 18 January 2010 10:05
Minix under E-UAE gilgamesh New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 13 September 2008 12:15
Amiga MINIX boot disk _ThEcRoW support.Apps 3 30 December 2005 00:02
Minix on WinUAE dondilly support.WinUAE 1 03 November 2005 08:01
Amiga and Unix/Minix/Linux/*BSD harlequin Retrogaming General Discussion 5 27 April 2002 05:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25657 seconds with 11 queries