English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 October 2004, 08:38   #1
tom
 
Posts: n/a
installing sas/c

hello

i found the sas/c 6.5 disks on amiganostalgia.com (five .dms files). now what i do with these ? if i try to read them with winua, amigaos says it can't read those disks, and apparently they aren't bootable neither.

cheers
tom
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 October 2004, 12:16   #2
HCF
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Age: 47
Posts: 97
Do you have problems with DMS files ? Maybe you need to update WinUAE then...You could try and convert them to ADFs and see if the image is just bad or where the problem is...Disks should be regular DOS disks and readable (I think you can even boot from them if I remember correctly...)
HCF is offline  
Old 14 October 2004, 12:47   #3
tom
 
Posts: n/a
i did both test and unpack (to adf) the dms files with xdms, which said that the images were ok. do i need a certain kickstart/workbench version (i tried it with 1.3 only) ?
 
Old 14 October 2004, 12:52   #4
HCF
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Age: 47
Posts: 97
No, it should run with 1.1+....Do you use the ADF image or the DMS image ? If you are using ADFs and it still doesn't work, maybe transfer the files with ADF Opus or something like that...Then make those disks bootable (assuming the version you have also boots)...
If they don't boot, use any Workbench disk and then use the CLI to look for the compiler...Hope this helps
HCF is offline  
Old 14 October 2004, 13:10   #5
tom
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by HCF
If they don't boot, use any Workbench disk and then use the CLI to look for the compiler...Hope this helps
that's what i already tried. i opened a cli, entered "cd df1:" and got the error message "Not a DOS disk in unit 1".

but i can see the content of the disk images with adf opus...
 
Old 14 October 2004, 13:24   #6
HCF
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Age: 47
Posts: 97
Try what I said....Use ADF Opus and make a blank disk, then transfer all the files...
HCF is offline  
Old 14 October 2004, 14:00   #7
tom
 
Posts: n/a
strange, seems to work when i create new images with adf opus, like you said. i haven't actually tried to install it yet, but at least i can read the disks now.

just out of curiosity, do you have any idea why ?
 
Old 14 October 2004, 14:08   #8
HCF
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Age: 47
Posts: 97
Probably WinUAE screwing up...Like I said, I had the same problem and could not read DMS or DMZ files until I installed the new version....If yours is older you might want to do the same, should fix your problem...
The alternative is of course that the image is bad but ADF Opus is more tolerant and by transferring the files you create new files on a new (error free) disk...

At least my two cents...
HCF is offline  
Old 14 October 2004, 14:19   #9
tom
 
Posts: n/a
uh...during installation i get the message that i should insert volume "envarc:"...what's this ?

i'm quite new to the amiga, i own one since 4 years or so, but never got around to do much on it, just toyed around with devpac a bit, and now i wanted to toy around a bit with c...
 
Old 15 October 2004, 05:58   #10
HCF
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Age: 47
Posts: 97
How do you install the program ? Do you boot from disk or Workbench ?? If you are using a Workbench disk, you should check out the startup-sequence on the first disk, most likely it is an assigned device...If neccessary just try to use Assign in the CLI to assign it to ram:envarc or something like that...

And if you want to toy around, maybe try Seka Assembler !
HCF is offline  
Old 15 October 2004, 08:10   #11
AmiGer
Registered User
AmiGer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by HCF
And if you want to toy around, maybe try Seka Assembler !
... or PhxAss
AmiGer is offline  
Old 15 October 2004, 08:46   #12
tom
 
Posts: n/a
nah, i bootet with another workbench disk, put sasc disk1 into df1 and start the installer. of course for toying around a bit with the copper an assembler is enough (i used devpac for that, but i might indeed change to phxass), but occasionally you need a lookup table or something like that, and it would be cool if i could write the code for that in c...

i might give vbcc and dice a try, vbcc looks pretty cool, and there's a win32 hosted version of it. it generates only > os 2.0 executables, though.
 
Old 16 October 2004, 00:20   #13
HCF
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Age: 47
Posts: 97
No idea about PhxAss...Seka is my favorite assembler of all time for the Amiga...Nothing comes even close and not without reason are Seka and Soundtracker some of the most popular programs on the Amiga no matter how old they are (I think they're from 86/87)...

And as I expected, the problem is the startup disk...Check out the startup-sequence and see what it does, most likely you will find your explanation there...And you can use inline assembler if you need it in C for simple stuff...
HCF is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sas/c Tiddlypeeps Coders. General 15 08 February 2010 00:32
Sas C 6.58 AmiCoder request.Apps 3 06 February 2010 01:19
SAS/C v6.50 zerostress request.Apps 3 08 October 2007 10:35
Sas C V 6.0 Jherek Carnelia request.Apps 1 20 March 2007 10:13
Sas C Scoglio request.Apps 0 28 October 2002 11:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15923 seconds with 11 queries