English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 September 2001, 13:17   #1
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,119
Wink If you like Dungeon Master read on....

Here's a small tip for you if you're a fan of RPGs like Dungeon Master and Eye of the Beholder. When you emulate these games on the PC you can add immesurably to the atmosphere of the game if you have a SoundBlaster Live soundcard. All you have to do is turn on the Stone Corridor or Stone Room option in the Environmental Audio settings. And like magic the whole atmosphere of the game changes to become much more immersive and realistic. It really sounds as if you are in a cold dark dungeon miles underground because the sounds are more accurate to their environment. It makes a 15 year old game seem almost new again. Try it.
Steve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 September 2001, 14:05   #2
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,743
I'll have to try that...

The echoes worked well when I tried Serious Sam with the Soundblaster Live.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 26 September 2001, 14:37   #3
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,119
Cool

Let me know what you think after you've tried it. I found that the Stone Room sounded more accurate to me than the Stone Corridor option.
Steve is offline  
Old 26 September 2001, 16:29   #4
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
I can tell you what I think of the effect without enabling it on my SBlive.

I think that it's a shame my computer's one big hardware conflict so when I activate the sound emulation it automatically activates "Ultra choppy laggy mode" which means halving my Frames per second. Somehow I don't think environmental effects will work well on choppy audio. Or does the game work on Winfellow? If so maybe I should find and try it. Never got around to testing the games there as I tried them on my Amiga and had bad cracked versions which left password protection in the game.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 26 September 2001, 17:10   #5
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,119
Cool Don't use Windows 95 or 98

Dungeon Master and Eye of the Beholder both work best in WinUAE v0.8.8
Steve is offline  
Old 27 September 2001, 12:55   #6
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
I have a Soundblaster Live! card, but I can't find the Environmental Audio option anywhere. I've only just had it fitted in the system last weekend, ya see. Could you give me some steps as to locating the options, stevieboy?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 27 September 2001, 13:23   #7
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,119
Arrow What you need to do is...

Go to the Creative website which is here:

http://www.europe.creative.com/suppo...rs/welcome.asp

Make sure you have got the latest drivers for your operating system. You need to download the latest version of Live!Ware 3.0 and PlayCenter 2. Once these are installed you will be able to access the environmental audio options. I think these should have come with your Soundblaster Live when you bought it though?
Steve is offline  
Old 27 September 2001, 14:48   #8
Muzkat
Into the Wonderful
Muzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earthrealm
Age: 36
Posts: 1,282
I can't get Eye of the Beholder working on any version of WinUAE. I use Winfellow to play it.

I haven't tried EoB with 8.17- is that what you are using, Steve?
Muzkat is offline  
Old 27 September 2001, 15:02   #9
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
I'd think the environmental audio should have come with the drivers. Maybe he just doesn't know where to look.

If it's possible you might have an icon in your system tray (Beside the clock) with a small speaker on a green card. From there you can access it. Otherwise you can find it in your AudioHQ under control panel. Hope that works.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 27 September 2001, 15:39   #10
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,119
Smile Muzkat try this:

It works for me on WinUAE0.8.8 with this config file:

It should work. Make sure you use a 3.1 Kickstart Rom. I have included 2 configs but the A1200 config should play the majority of Amiga games including DM and EOB. Have fun!!!

If you want full screen you will probably have to change the resolution also.


Attachment Removed

Last edited by Ian; 29 December 2001 at 21:11.
Steve is offline  
Old 29 September 2001, 04:35   #11
Muzkat
Into the Wonderful
Muzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earthrealm
Age: 36
Posts: 1,282
Thanx Steve Works great.
Muzkat is offline  
Old 29 September 2001, 20:54   #12
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,119
Thumbs up No Problem!

Glad to be of help.
Steve is offline  
Old 31 October 2001, 22:08   #13
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Happy Hey, steve-o!

It's me again.

I've tried to download Live!Ware 3.0 from the site, but all that seems to happen is that I get redirected to this Soundblaster CD page. Do you know a direct download link or anything to help, perhaps?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 01 November 2001, 16:10   #14
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,119
Floppy disk

Try www.soundblaster.com
Steve is offline  
Old 14 November 2001, 23:51   #15
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Me again.

Somehow it seems that Live!Ware isn't downloadable anymore (although you can still get drivers & updates for it from the site). Looks like you have to order the new SB Software CD in order to get it. Dunno how much it costs, but I know already that it involves overseas shipping. Damn.
MethodGit is offline  
Old 18 November 2001, 14:24   #16
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
I also noticed that Creative doesn't seem to have PlayCenter 2.50 for download anymore, although they still have PlayCenter 2.20 and PlayCenter 1.55.

Maybe I should find what I want with Google. Why didn't I think of doing that?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 23 November 2001, 02:08   #17
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Smile Hey. steve_b!

Which is the best version of PlayCenter to install: 1.55, 2.20 or 2.50?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 24 November 2001, 14:58   #18
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
stevie?



Hope you received the PM.
MethodGit is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
custom dungeon for dungeon master 1 meynaf project.Amiga Game Factory 73 17 October 2015 12:50
Sorry, Dungeon Master again :) Supamax request.Other 10 19 March 2009 04:52
Dungeon Master alexh HOL data problems 1 09 April 2007 18:17
Dungeon Master Kid Dungeon rodi request.Old Rare Games 0 23 June 2005 20:31
Dungeon Master Washac Retrogaming General Discussion 6 20 September 2002 05:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20495 seconds with 11 queries