English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

View Poll Results: Do you use WHDLoad? If not, why?
Yes - I've registered 109 50.70%
Yes - but I haven't registered 51 23.72%
No - It's too expensive 6 2.79%
No - Unavailability of the original/images files is a problem 7 3.26%
No - I only have a standard A500 0 0%
No - I prefer ADFs 16 7.44%
No - other reason 19 8.84%
What is WHDLoad? 7 3.26%
Voters: 215. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 July 2004, 20:55   #61
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
I love WHDload. It's probably the best and most useful utility I've used on the Amiga ever. Without it, I probably wouldn't still be into the Amiga, and thanks to Bert Jahn and his companions I still use my Amiga.

When it comes to incompatibility, it's usually because of wrong tooltypes settings. I had more than a few games work by tweaking the tooltypes according to my system. Try out different tooltypes before you give up a game completely.
StarEye is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 July 2004, 21:57   #62
rgen
Registered User
rgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Aachen/Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 190
Send a message via ICQ to rgen
@killergorilla: now, that you've mentioned it
rgen is offline  
Old 10 July 2004, 22:05   #63
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
lol... didn't notice that. Probably because I wasn't a member of the boards in 2001. If I had, maybe I'd remembered it and answered back then, not now.
StarEye is offline  
Old 10 July 2004, 23:22   #64
plasmatron
Zone Friend
plasmatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana
one of the reason i don't use it much is that i can't use savestate or actionreplay. apart of that i have no issue about it.
minor ones are that games fill hd fast and trainers are cut off, but that are just matter of my personal taste and use of winuae.
whdload is a cool software still.
i have already discussed elsewhere about the fact that i have no particulary simpathy for it being not free, as for principle not for any other reason: i understand the big work behind it and i respect the fact that creators should decide in perfect freedom how to charge their works. so no problem, still i'll never register.

Mhhhhh ???? Why do you think trainers are cut off in WHDLoad??? There are extra tooltypes in a lot of installs where you can set a lot of trainer options.
Especially Codetapper did loooooots of cool trainers for his installs.

That one and only thing that i miss till today is the fact, that there are no cracktros in front off the installs. Just to make it bit more attractive. But this is realy not a - point for me. But would be fuckin cool don`t you think ???
plasmatron is offline  
Old 11 July 2004, 00:29   #65
Dalai
Junior Member
Dalai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 148
WHDLoad is great and I'd register it in a second if I had my amiga disks around and some easy way to transfer them. I wish it worked with cracked/downloadable games.
Dalai is offline  
Old 11 July 2004, 01:17   #66
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
I would have liked to see some of the cracktros too, just to give you that extra nostalgic feeling. I love it when I try a downloaded Xbox game and I get a cracktro that shows who's cracked it and such, reminds me of all the C64 and Amiga games I had cracks of.

But if this was included, one should also have the option of skipping the cracktro completely, as some of the cracktros were simply annoying (especially those where you HAD to wait for the text to finish and THEN click the mouse button).

You could have two icons, one which includes the cracktro, and another which doesn't. Turning a "CRACKTRO" tooltype on or off would also be a possibility. Wonder how hard this would be to implement.
StarEye is offline  
Old 11 July 2004, 07:34   #67
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
I'm a registrated WHDLoad user for years, and also registered JST before that. Seriously the best thing to happen to accellerated Amiga owners.
adolescent is offline  
Old 11 July 2004, 10:26   #68
Dr. Dude
Senior Member
Dr. Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: On Ami World
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dalai
WHDLoad is great and I'd register it in a second if I had my amiga disks around and some easy way to transfer them. I wish it worked with cracked/downloadable games.
same for me
Dr. Dude is offline  
Old 11 July 2004, 11:11   #69
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
But it is so easy to find full-installs on the net !!!

No reason not to register ya
kriz is offline  
Old 11 July 2004, 12:33   #70
Dr. Dude
Senior Member
Dr. Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: On Ami World
Posts: 500
indeed, i rarely use whdload
If theres no installer. I try the "copy to HD" way first. And most of time that works

although those NDos disk won't
Dr. Dude is offline  
Old 11 July 2004, 20:59   #71
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmatron
Mhhhhh ???? Why do you think trainers are cut off in WHDLoad??? There are extra tooltypes in a lot of installs where you can set a lot of trainer options.
Especially Codetapper did loooooots of cool trainers for his installs.
yep i did not forgot it, just, in my experience, i would have had some more options/interface etc many times, the things that usually gets under cracktros and some of the games that usually beat my ass had no trainer option at all. just a matter of unlucky path i think
Marcuz is online now  
Old 10 October 2005, 02:16   #72
Jamos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Your Computer
Posts: 13
Thumbs down I tried to register it..

but 1 week and no key sent. Contacted paypal on getting my money back since I have not recieved any reply from the developer.
Jamos is offline  
Old 10 October 2005, 05:49   #73
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,135
Did you actually read the reg page on the website saying that Wepl has been on holiday for the last 2 weeks? He only just got back so I'm sure you will get your key *if* you haven't cancelled the payment.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 10 October 2005, 09:48   #74
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
jamos: wait abit more and you will get it!
kriz is offline  
Old 10 October 2005, 09:57   #75
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 1,276
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
Yes - but I haven't registered. I'm kind of ashamed for that.. It's definitely worth the €20. However, many might consider it too expensive for something most people do for nostalgia reasons.

Last edited by alkis21; 10 October 2005 at 10:05.
alkis21 is offline  
Old 10 October 2005, 10:22   #76
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Re-gis-te-red! And power-using it
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 10 October 2005, 10:58   #77
onedevotee75
Registered User
onedevotee75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 46
Yes i use also whdload but itīs not registered until now. But i will register it soon because i feel that i use it more and more and more. Itīs not new to me and i used it from time to time and then i feeled that i use this great program more and more from day to day The features are great.
onedevotee75 is offline  
Old 10 October 2005, 11:05   #78
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
Yes, I use WHDLoad but still have to req it. Superb program. Shame one me.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 10 October 2005, 11:07   #79
HOL2001
Amigamaniac

HOL2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neheim / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by onedevotee75
Yes i use also whdload but itīs not registered until now. But i will register it soon because i feel that i use it more and more and more. Itīs not new to me and i used it from time to time and then i feeled that i use this great program more and more from day to day The features are great.
That also applies to me. WHDLoad rocks !
HOL2001 is offline  
Old 10 October 2005, 11:30   #80
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Korodny
I love WHDLoad, for all the reasons you stated above.

Are other people experiencing similar problems ?

DUNE (I) - still buggy, but i think those bugs are in game itself
if anyone can repair those random quits, i will be very appreciated

(Iīm already registered, great piece of software for only 20 bucks!)
Chain is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE - Unregistered WHDLOAD : WHDLOAD.KEY - FIX Neil79 support.FS-UAE 14 29 January 2013 23:34
help me executing an whdload-installed game without whdload Gaula92 support.Games 7 26 January 2011 22:44
whdload instructions? [where to put WHDLoad games for GameBase Amiga v1.4] luke_70it project.MAGE 8 28 October 2009 07:36
WHDload issues (Complete WHDload nub, apologies in advance) dire_wolf project.WHDLoad 31 09 October 2009 21:41
http://www.whdload.de/whdload/vip/ Crank79 project.WHDLoad 37 11 April 2007 17:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28043 seconds with 12 queries