English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 August 2004, 17:23   #1
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Floppy disk Aweb 3.5.01b available

CHANGES FROM 3.5 to 3.5.01

One new feature (improved relocation handling) and a few bug fixes have been added since 3.5 beta. Here is a quick overview, see comments/next post for the Changelog at the end of this document for full details.

Get the archive here.

Click here for more info.

Source: amigaworld.net
Paul is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 August 2004, 17:26   #2
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
RELOCATION

AWeb relocation handling has been much improved, Temporarily moved urls are now temporary! They are not cached and a second request to the original url will reload the document. Also the relocated url is displayed under the name of the destination not the original request (MSIE and mozilla both do this).

Thses changes mean a that many login systems work smoother without the need to manually refresh pages. Another example is that the "Continue To Message" link on a yahoo advert now works.

ENFORCER HITS

A few enforcer hit type bug have been cleaned up resulting in improved stabilty.

JAVASCRIPT IMAGE ONERROR

A bug in the javascript Image() objects onerror handling was fixed.

TRANSPARENT GIF ANIMATIONS

The new background image handling did not update the backgrounds of Animated gifs

CHARSET TRANSLATION

Two new charsets ahave been added as an interim fix to the problem of windows characters in iso-8859-1 documents.

iso-8859-1 translates the extra windows characters from windows-1252 to near equivalents (as the old compatable mode did, but with a few composite charatcers missing) windows-1252 translates true windows-1252 docs to iso-8859-1

A more comprehensive charset solution is in the works...

CHARACTER REFERENCES

Character refernces for unicode characters such as “ etc are now supported in all modes and not just in strict. The € reference should work now if you have the right fonts.
Paul is offline  
Old 22 June 2006, 10:17   #3
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 42
Posts: 5,070
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Hi all just breaking into amiga internet.
Using Aweb 3.5.08APL -- beta
I use Classic WB3.0 from Bloodwych, 3.1 Roms, Apollo 1240@25mhz with 68882 and MMU 2Mb Chip 16mb 60ns Fast. 1mb broadband.

How do I go about speeding up my web experience? Can I tweak things?

Am I using the wrong version of AWeb?

Is version 3.4 package http://aweb.sunsite.dk/files/full/AW...4_full_040.lha better?

Last edited by DDNI; 22 June 2006 at 10:34.
DDNI is offline  
Old 22 June 2006, 10:39   #4
DoctorQ
What?? Who?? DoctorQ!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rødding/Denmark
Age: 35
Posts: 313
Send a message via MSN to DoctorQ
You can speed up things a lot with getting a graphics card, but that might not be the easiest thing to do if you are using a desktop A1200. Upgrading your ram to more than 16 MB might also be of an advantage, so you can have a bigger buffer for images for instance. It's possible to get singlesided modules up to 64 MB (I know as I have a few ), but if there is room for a 128 MB module that would be the max.

You can find some speed up patches on Aminet, like FBlit and FText, but I don't know if these are already installed with Classic WB3.0. Datatypes that takes advantage of the might 040 might also be a good idea, look for WarpDT datatypes.
DoctorQ is offline  
Old 22 June 2006, 11:07   #5
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 42
Posts: 5,070
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Brilliant I will look through Classic WB to whats there and then try a few new things.
The max ram that the Apollo can take is 64mb split over 2 simm sockets.

Anyone with a 32mb simm going cheap? - Avoiding ebay for now
DDNI is offline  
Old 22 June 2006, 11:37   #6
DoctorQ
What?? Who?? DoctorQ!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rødding/Denmark
Age: 35
Posts: 313
Send a message via MSN to DoctorQ
Hmm, I thought it could take more, my mistake.
DoctorQ is offline  
Old 22 June 2006, 13:43   #7
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorQ
You can speed up things a lot with getting a graphics card, but that might not be the easiest thing to do if you are using a desktop A1200. Upgrading your ram to more than 16 MB might also be of an advantage, so you can have a bigger buffer for images for instance. It's possible to get singlesided modules up to 64 MB (I know as I have a few ), but if there is room for a 128 MB module that would be the max.

You can find some speed up patches on Aminet, like FBlit and FText, but I don't know if these are already installed with Classic WB3.0. Datatypes that takes advantage of the might 040 might also be a good idea, look for WarpDT datatypes.
I used FBlit on OS3.9 and previous (3.1) to save Chip Ram. (I remember I spent time to configure it). So you can surf easily internet and open
very large drawers!
fc.studio is offline  
Old 23 June 2006, 02:12   #8
sarek2k
E.A.B Addict and Proud
sarek2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 48
Posts: 543
Send a message via MSN to sarek2k
@DDNI i might have a couple of 32mb simms or even just one i have a few from 8mb upwards i'll have a look through if i have a couple spare they are yours for the postage ok m8! failing 2 how about 1 * 32 and a 16/8 would that still do?
sarek2k is offline  
Old 23 June 2006, 09:16   #9
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 42
Posts: 5,070
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarek2k
@DDNI i might have a couple of 32mb simms or even just one i have a few from 8mb upwards i'll have a look through if i have a couple spare they are yours for the postage ok m8! failing 2 how about 1 * 32 and a 16/8 would that still do?
Sarek2k that would be fantastic! My board only has the one simm slot, so I am limited to 32mb maximum...

Many Thanks!!!
DDNI is offline  
Old 24 June 2006, 01:32   #10
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 42
Posts: 5,070
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Anyone have advice about using MULib? Aminet has about 30 archive relating to it, but I dont know where to start with it.
DDNI is offline  
Old 24 June 2006, 02:22   #11
sarek2k
E.A.B Addict and Proud
sarek2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 48
Posts: 543
Send a message via MSN to sarek2k
sadly m8 so far i've only found 8's and 16's but i am sure i have more leave it with me and i'll hunt them out!

I think it's a case of i got 2*32mb simms off ebay for my printer (laser) and ended up putting the 2 in my amiga best place for them afterall
sarek2k is offline  
Old 24 June 2006, 15:27   #12
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 42
Posts: 5,070
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Sarek2k a 32mb simm would be most welcome if one turns up

All the best!
DDNI is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What happened to AWEB and the AWEB website... Xenon Amiga scene 7 01 December 2010 16:58
AWeb 3.1 - 3.2 patch anyone? amidave support.Apps 0 08 September 2010 18:18
CSS in AWeb - is it possible? squirminator2k support.Apps 11 09 April 2008 03:53
os 3.9 and AWeb aldo support.WinUAE 13 16 June 2006 21:37
AWeb PHP ??? Dj Dishcloth support.Apps 4 14 April 2005 23:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16528 seconds with 11 queries