English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 September 2001, 21:25   #1
mikni
 
Posts: n/a
Angry lha

I have a "little" problem on my Amiga...
I can't unpack any .lha files. I think I have managed to
unpack one(1) file. Of about 10-15 tried.

It starts ok and unpacks a few files. But at one point in
the file it quits with an error.

"error on file 'file.name' : I/O error"
"Warning: skipping corrupt/extraneous data"

Anyone got an idea of what to do?

//admin: hey, please stop posting your signature here, use your UserCP instead
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 September 2001, 22:47   #2
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
Use AIAB for uncompressing your lha's, it has a pretty good uncompress util, with none of the CLi crap (If you’re a beginner)

What exactly are you trying to decompress??

You can unpack .lha files with most windows based archiving tools (WinACE and so on) couldn't be easier, drag and drop to get .lha files associated with whichever program you prefer

When a file has errors and won't unpack properly with any program, give up and download the thing again from somewhere else. Or alternatively post it here zipped up (Only zip files are allowed) and someone (Maybe me) will have a look for you

PS. Please don't use a direct signature, you know putting it in your post, use User CP --> Edit Profile --> Signature, if you don't want your signature to be deleted every time you post that is
Ian is offline  
Old 20 September 2001, 23:13   #3
mikni
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy re lha

AIAB? Sure you can't mean that 'emulator thingy helping
zipy file'? I'm talking about a real Amiga here.

As for what I'm trying to unpack, oh various stuff.
Mui for example, and a lot of files from aminet. Thats why
I don't think the problem is in the lha-files.

Sure I am a newbie to the Amiga but I tought 'lha e -x
file.name path:to/extract' was the way to go.

Well I'll keep trying to figure it out. If someone got a
suggestion please help.
 
Old 20 September 2001, 23:20   #4
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
Well, excuuuuussse me for not reading your post properly

Yeah your doing it right. Is it doing it with all your .lha's or are some de-compressing properly? In my experience some Aminet .lha's are corrupt.
Ian is offline  
Old 20 September 2001, 23:30   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
I definitely think yuor files got corrupt. Perhaps when you transferred them to your Amiga they got screwed up.

ANOTEHR thing, if you LHAed them with a PC program, you might get teh same error. Because PCs suck, you know
Akira is offline  
Old 20 September 2001, 23:36   #6
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
Lack of memory

If you are running low on memory using LZX and LHA you often get that error message come up. Make sure you are not unpacking files to RAM: on a 1Mb system as that will surely do it.

Other than that, I guess you have a lot of corrupt lha's!

As a test, grab a few from the WHDLoad site as they are all guaranteed 100% (they are rejected from the list if they do not unpack) and they are small enough to fit in a 1Mb machine...
Codetapper is online now  
Old 20 September 2001, 23:44   #7
mikni
 
Posts: n/a
new files tested

Tried a few new files. Downloaded these files from the
official sites.
Mui, miami, voyager and amirc. All failed.
Now I don't think the problem is in the files.
I have downloaded them to my dos based pc and transferd
them to my amiga using crossdos.

My bet is my pc knows i'm throwing it in the dumpster as
soon as I can get my Amiga connected to the internet...

I could always try uncompress the files on my pc and then
compress them with for example zip. But since it's dos
based I would have to rename a few files...

Hmm, I'll try that soon enough tough...

*UPDATE*

Ok now I know you DON'T want to uncompress Amiga archives
under dos. It takes just about every file it finds and
overwrites with the next... Stupid 8+3 file names...

I just don't understand why the files gets corrupted. All
I do is download them to my pc and put them on a disk...

Well, well. Soon I'll throw both the pc and the Amiga
trough the window. (Naah, I couldn't do that to my Amiga
)

Last edited by mikni; 20 September 2001 at 23:59.
 
Old 21 September 2001, 08:52   #8
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by IanCharge
You can unpack .lha files with most windows based archiving tools (WinACE and so on) couldn't be easier, drag and drop to get .lha files associated with whichever program you prefer
You cannot use that on all files, cause some Amiga archives contain illegal Dos/Win filenames like "*" or "AUX" so it won´t decompress that way but I guess you allready know that

@mikni

you could try the following : download the lha files onto your PC and decrompress them with LHA on WinUAE, if that works fine, there´s a problem with your transfer to your real amiga. Else your PC might mess up the LHA file while downloading, u using any download manager ???
RetroMan is offline  
Old 21 September 2001, 09:55   #9
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
I used to have the same problem. Here's what you do:

Go to Aminet and look for a file called Fixlha. What happens is your browser doesn't recognize the extension and for some reasons, appends data to the file (or something like that...it's explained in the docs). It happens with LZX files, as well. Fixlha will restore the file to its original sheen.

Note that the prgram is uncomfortably tricky to use (I think you have to execute a script, as I recall). If you are using IE, I dunno the fix, but I use Netscape and was able to go in and set the filetypes for LHA and LZX files so that when I click on a link with one of these files on the other end, it automatically pops up a requester to download. This means the system knows the filetype and that extra data doesn't get appended.

I hope this helps. It's gotta be the solution, methinks.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 21 September 2001, 09:55   #10
mikni
 
Posts: n/a
I can't try it under uae, my pc is kinda old...

But I got something new to try. Now I'm using this
dosbased www browser... Maybe it's stupid and screw up my files.
I think I better install netscape.
If it is as simple as that, well I'll slam my head in the
wall...
 
Old 21 September 2001, 10:39   #11
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Get an old version of Netscape then (4.x - don't bugger with that 6.x stuff!)

Most importantly, get that Fixlha file...

ftp://de.aminet.net/pub/aminet/util/arc/FixLhA.lha

And even with Netscape, you have to mess with getting the filetype working. That may take a bit of fiddling. Good luck
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I know nothing about LHA... Muzkat New to Emulation or Amiga scene 11 19 July 2006 00:53
Lha 2.12 Paul News 0 16 March 2006 15:51
Lha swirligig New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 25 June 2002 01:32
Lha?? Lisa New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 04 May 2002 13:47
lha on the pc q. poppe Retrogaming General Discussion 11 10 January 2002 19:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23759 seconds with 11 queries