English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 July 2004, 03:31   #1
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Changing default Ram Disk: icon under 3.9

How do I do this? There isn't a def_ram in env. From where does os3.9 load the default icon on every boot?
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 July 2004, 09:37   #2
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
With earlier versions of WB, you just need to:

- Save the desired RAM disk to a directory on your hard disk (SYS:Storage, for example)
- Insert an extra line into the first few rows of your startup-sequence that copies the icon to RAM:

Copy SYS:Storage/disk.info RAM:

Dunno if WB3.9 works differently, though.
ant512 is offline  
Old 26 July 2004, 10:16   #3
BenniP
?

BenniP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnenden / Germany
Age: 32
Posts: 91
But you can create a def_ram icon. The system will then use this icon.
As far as I know.
BenniP is offline  
Old 26 July 2004, 12:23   #4
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,170
no it doesn't. you have still to load it wuth the startup-sequence (or user-startup)
Marcuz is offline  
Old 26 July 2004, 14:27   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
OS3.9 gets its Ram Disk icon from envarc:sys/def_ram.info. If this does not exist, it uses envarc:sys/def_disk.info.

In order to be able to snapshot the RAM icon you should use the following line in your user-startup:

makelink ram:disk.info envarc:sys/def_ram.info soft

However, envarc:sys/def_ram.info does only work if DefIcons is running. It is a common error to start DefIcons twice if NewIcons was installed before. Running it twice will stop it. So check if you have DefIcons in Sys:WBStartup and remove any call of it from user-startup.
thomas is offline  
Old 26 July 2004, 16:41   #6
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Thank you all. I solved it. There was a Def_Ram icon but it wasn't visible under workbench even when show all files was enabled. Powericons may be the cause although that specific icon was a standard glowicon. I replaced it with Directory Opus and fixed the location as Thomas suggested
 
Old 26 July 2004, 20:28   #7
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,170
so i can't understand: def_ram is not loaded no matter if it's a drawer or just an info file in my hdf, and deficons is running fine !? other explanations please? thanks

edit: btw i had to follow Retroman here in this thread to make it work
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=154571&postcount=12
Marcuz is offline  
Old 26 July 2004, 20:42   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
The file must be named "def_ram.info", it must be located in Sys:Prefs/Env-Archive/Sys (which is the same as Envarc:Sys) and it must be an icon with type Disk, not Drawer (use IconEdit to check). And DefIcons must be the version which comes with OS3.9, not an earlier one.

If you install OS3.9 from scratch, everything should be like I said. Only the makelink line must be added in order to be able to snapshot the icon. Maybe you need Boingbag2 also.

If you open Envarc:Sys with "Show all files" and you can see the ram icon, then you've done something wrong. Icons of type Disk are always invisible unless they are used as a disk icon.

And of course you have to reboot to apply changes.
thomas is offline  
Old 26 July 2004, 20:51   #9
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
One mistake I made was to copy it to ENV: instead of ENVARC:
ENV: is in Ram Disk!
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Default Icon amiga support.Apps 2 04 October 2008 13:48
Default CD icon Brakus New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 08 June 2008 12:21
wtf? The ram disk icon does not save its position... keropi support.Apps 3 29 November 2005 18:10
Changing the CrossDOS default disk icon? SkinE support.Apps 2 01 October 2005 16:42
Change Default floppy disk icon fc.studio support.Apps 1 07 August 2004 19:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16948 seconds with 11 queries