English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2004, 15:39   #1
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Hah! WinUAE v7 now... jeez!

Daily releases? Jeez...




WinUAEX Amiga Emulator port for XBox v7

What's New:

- Added extra video mode to game configuration screen : PAL 60Hz.
Select this mode for smooth scrolling at 60HZ (gameplay and sound
will be sped up, however.)

- Keyboard keys no longer repeat

- Fixed load state bug on multi-disk games where the wrong disk was being
inserted.



Meth
Methanoid is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 July 2004, 16:12   #2
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Bets are open, v11 this wednesday!
 
Old 16 July 2004, 16:57   #3
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid
Daily releases? Jeez...




WinUAEX Amiga Emulator port for XBox v7

What's New:

- Added extra video mode to game configuration screen : PAL 60Hz.
Select this mode for smooth scrolling at 60HZ (gameplay and sound
will be sped up, however.)

- Keyboard keys no longer repeat

- Fixed load state bug on multi-disk games where the wrong disk was being
inserted.



Meth
Old News !!!!!!
You can see a piccy of it in my winuaex v6 thread..
You may want to look at it
synchro is offline  
Old 16 July 2004, 17:50   #4
Ash
Zone Friend

Ash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aus
Posts: 175
Its a rather nice piccy and I'm glad for so many releases
Seeing as how the xbox Amiga emulation got left behind I'm sure once the emu is stable it should be updated less often like most other emus
Ash is offline  
Old 16 July 2004, 22:11   #5
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash
Its a rather nice piccy and I'm glad for so many releases
Seeing as how the xbox Amiga emulation got left behind I'm sure once the emu is stable it should be updated less often like most other emus
Actually i prefer to call them improvements rather than updates.....
The emu is very stable......they mostly keep adding features iv found
synchro is offline  
Old 17 July 2004, 01:14   #6
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
I'm curious as to why they keep calling them v1, v2, v3, v4, v5 etc. Usually a simple v1.1, v1.5, v1.7 (in this case) would do. Not that it matters, though.
StarEye is offline  
Old 17 July 2004, 01:52   #7
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarEye
I'm curious as to why they keep calling them v1, v2, v3, v4, v5 etc. Usually a simple v1.1, v1.5, v1.7 (in this case) would do. Not that it matters, though.
Actually iv always wondered the opposite...Honest !!!!

Why not use single numbers.....Its a lot easier finding the latest versions rather than 2.5.33 or whatever....It was anly a few weeks ago i found i wasnt using the latest WinUAE !!!!
synchro is offline  
Old 19 July 2004, 07:44   #8
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,684
Erm.. I may something stupid, so correct me if I am wrong.

Is the emulator on X-Box running under Windows? From what I know (And I know nothing ), you don't use Windows on X-Box, so... why call it WINUae? May X-Uae or something like this wouldn't be better?

Not that's any important anyway
Shatterhand is online now  
Old 19 July 2004, 10:10   #9
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 46
Posts: 1,838
XBox uses a butchered win2k kernel.
IFW is offline  
Old 19 July 2004, 10:28   #10
Bad Mr Frosty
Junior Member
Bad Mr Frosty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Praha / Ceska Republika
Age: 39
Posts: 107
It`s called WinUAE-x becuase it was ported using WinUAE sources.
Bad Mr Frosty is offline  
Old 24 July 2004, 15:05   #11
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand
Erm.. I may something stupid, so correct me if I am wrong.

Is the emulator on X-Box running under Windows? From what I know (And I know nothing ), you don't use Windows on X-Box, so... why call it WINUae? May X-Uae or something like this wouldn't be better?

Not that's any important anyway
WinUAEX (WinUAE for Xbox), WinUAEX uses the main core of WinUAE to run but compiled using Microsoft's Xbox development kit. (Illegal to use without the OKAY from MS themselves and they want to know how much you will make them before they okay, they take a percentage on sales).
whiteb is offline  
Old 24 July 2004, 18:23   #12
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteb
WinUAEX (WinUAE for Xbox), WinUAEX uses the main core of WinUAE to run but compiled using Microsoft's Xbox development kit. (Illegal to use without the OKAY from MS themselves and they want to know how much you will make them before they okay, they take a percentage on sales).
Well you can tell them from me that MS will make 100% of the profit sales of WinUAEX....Honest !!!!

As its sold for "SOD ALL" thats what MS will get...100% of "SOD ALL"

BTW...Shatterhand.....The original amiga emulator for xbox is called UAE-X. That would only confuse things. Calling it WinUAEX means you know what to expect

Last edited by synchro; 24 July 2004 at 18:33.
synchro is offline  
Old 24 July 2004, 18:54   #13
andyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 97
While I love the fact that xport has brought loads of emulators over to the Xbox (he deserves honouring for bringing Amstrad CPC gaming to xbox!!!) I do think that he seems to concentrate too much on his front end. They are chock full of absolutely useless menus and options with a layout that leaves a lot to be desired.

You have to navigate quite a few of these before you can start emulating whereas in something like Uae-x the menu was simple to use and most notably fast. It didn't give many options for emulation but if development had continued then it could still have evolved into an emulator with loads of emulation options while keeping the simple and fast menu layout.

I still prefer to use UAE-X 0.81 and xSnes9x 1.42 (WIP 4) on xbox because in only a couple of button presses I'm emulating and not navigating a load of menus - who cares how many sprites are on screen with the menu and where they are positioned!?
andyr is offline  
Old 24 July 2004, 19:36   #14
Ash
Zone Friend

Ash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aus
Posts: 175
I agree to a point but at least Xport did cut out some of the options, only cuz they caused the emulator to slow down too much
Perhaps someone can do a "simple" skin or perhaps a "fast" version like with the unofficial version of UAE-X?
Ash is offline  
Old 24 July 2004, 23:20   #15
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash
I agree to a point but at least Xport did cut out some of the options, only cuz they caused the emulator to slow down too much
Perhaps someone can do a "simple" skin or perhaps a "fast" version like with the unofficial version of UAE-X?
I have to agree with a lot of useless options the worst of all being ( TURN BACKGROUND MUSIC OFF WHEN GAME STARTS )

I mean PLEASE !!!! can you imagine ANYONE asking !!!!

Please can we have an option to play music that conflicts with a game whilst playing !!!!!!
synchro is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project-X.. hah Twin Galaxies, take this Retroplay Nostalgia & memories 7 17 May 2010 20:37
New French mag has Supercars 2! -hah!?- EmuChicken Retrogaming General Discussion 2 23 June 2007 16:03
WinUAE 0.9.92 "WinUAE 1.0 public beta #3" Released! Jim News 2 23 December 2004 12:29
WinUAE - HD, and WinUAE Beats me Mr.B support.WinUAE 19 26 October 2003 18:49
WinUAE 0817r3-GUI dissappears/ WinUAE freezes. 7-Zark-7 support.WinUAE 2 23 December 2001 15:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18773 seconds with 11 queries