English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 September 2001, 09:14   #1
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
WinUAE should have.....

This is something I think WinUAE should have had ever since day 1 of hard disk support

A hard disk light!

How many times have I wondered if my hard disk was being accessed (Amiga files are tiny so you can't see your hard disk light flashing). This is an essential..I have no idea why this hasn't been added yet. We've already got 4 disk drive lights, how hard can it be for a hard disk light.

Cmon WinUAE team. Help me out here!
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 September 2001, 09:43   #2
XoreX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MB
Age: 37
Posts: 161
CD32 support - would make a lot of people happy (specially me)!
XoreX is offline  
Old 18 September 2001, 09:43   #3
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,704
YES ! We deserve a HD light How about maybe a power light, which also begins to flicker, when getting a Guru ????
RetroMan is offline  
Old 18 September 2001, 09:48   #4
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
There already is a power light, and it already flashes when you guru.

Of course, I always run my emulation in Windowed mode, so I have no idea if this power light is present in full screen
 
Old 18 September 2001, 09:52   #5
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,704
Eek

Quote:
Originally posted by Amigaboy
There already is a power light, and it already flashes when you guru.
There is ???? damn ..... /me slaps myself *WHAP* :kill
RetroMan is offline  
Old 18 September 2001, 12:49   #6
dAbOTZ
 
Posts: n/a
Configurations tree

Here's some of my configurations:

AIAB (of course!)

A500 (68000 0.5 chip, no fast, no slow, OCS, kickstart 1.3, 640x480 full screen with scanlines, slow but more compatible, approssimate A500 speed, full sound)

OCS 1.3 800 (68000 1 chip, 0.5 slow, OCS, kickstart 1.3, 800x600 full screen with scanlines centered horizontal, CPU/chipset = 4)

A600 (...)

A1200 (... )



I also use some configurations for particular games like...

...First Samurai (68000 0.5 chip, 0.5 slow, OCS, kickstart 1.3, 640x480 fulll screen with scanlines, CPU/chipset = 7, full sound, no autoconfig)

and so on... now, I'd like to see a way to organize the configuration in a "tree" like explorer do... something like this:

Configs
|
-------Real
| |------------> A500
| |------------> A600
| |------------> A1200
| |- - - - - - -
| |- - - - - - -
| |------------> A4000
|
|------AIAB
| |-------------> with sound
| |-------------> without sound
| |- - - - - - -
|
|------Games
| |-------------> game name 1
| |-------------> game name 2
| |- - - - - - - -
| |- - - - - - - -
|
|- - - - - -
|- - - - - -


Am I a dreamer?
 
Old 18 September 2001, 21:37   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,416
The power light goes off and on when it gurus. It should go on and dim 50%, like in the real Amiga.

I'm all in for DISK DRIVE SOUND EMULATION This is most handy man, I recognize if a game works fine or not by the sound of teh drive. This is particularly true in C64 games
Akira is offline  
Old 18 September 2001, 22:20   #8
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 36
Posts: 1,785
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
I'm all in for DISK DRIVE SOUND EMULATION This is most handy man, I recognize if a game works fine or not by the sound of teh drive. This is particularly true in C64 games
The ST emulator SainT already has this feature and let me tell you, it doesn't half get annoying after a while. If that is added they better put in a bloody on/off switch for it
Ian is online now  
Old 19 September 2001, 00:58   #9
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 46
Posts: 2,797
You too, Ian?
Saint is a superb Atari St emulator, buggy ad not polished, sorta beta-ish, but it has nice gui, ease of use and compatability. Winston is still my fave PC emu, while Nostalgia is the best Mac emu, or any emu..very well done indeed!

Back on track. Life has been getting back on track here in New York City, actually..but.....*sighh*
Anyway, I have had my WinUAE wish list very much whittled down (I never wanted much tho..) to better OCS and more compatabilty. The compatability of 8.17 r1 is better than the 8.14's or the horrible 8.16's, which were all betas IMO, what with the damned JIT thing
but most of all, the saved state is HERE!!!!! Yes!!
Saving in the middle of a race, or a tough spot in Gods, in the middle of half time in Kickoff AGA..all that..cool work, WinUAE team!

Last edited by Fred the Fop; 19 September 2001 at 01:04.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 19 September 2001, 02:19   #10
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 36
Posts: 1,785
Where's the problem discussion in this thread??

I suggest this thread be moved to a new home in General Discusion or Amiga Scene.

But I'm not elite like the rest of you so why should you listen to me ....... bastards
Ian is online now  
Old 19 September 2001, 02:25   #11
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
The thread was started because of a problem with WinUAE (ie. The lack of a HD light), hence why I started it in Problems->Emulators....Since there's a problem with WinUAE
 
Old 19 September 2001, 02:36   #12
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 36
Posts: 1,785
Well I'm sorry I just don't see that as a problem

But I see your point of view, even though it is wrong

Sing along now:

AmigaBoy: You say Tom ato (Pronounced Eight O)
Ian: and I say Tom ato (Pronounced R Toe)
AmigaBoy: You say Problem
Ian: and I say Suggestion

Last edited by Ian; 19 September 2001 at 03:01.
Ian is online now  
Old 19 September 2001, 07:37   #13
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 46
Posts: 2,797
I say Amigaboy and Ian are both sluts
Gee...I'm getting back to my normal abnormal self sorta....

.

Last edited by Fred the Fop; 21 September 2001 at 01:55.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 19 September 2001, 12:00   #14
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
I deleted the damn thing as it kept crashing back to desktop closing winuae everytime I boot an adf up. I tried all kickstart roms. Also it is slow and the sound is choppy. I saw posts on the uae board even a 1Ghz cpu has problems.
Paul is offline  
Old 19 September 2001, 12:10   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 14,361
I am not sure if this is the cause of your problems but R1 has stupid bug causing crashes if resolution is too small. Use only 800x600 or higher. Fixed version will be available very soon.

Quote:
now freeze my entire computer
Applications can't freeze whole Windows except if there are broken driver (usually display or sound driver) or broken Windows, like all w9x-based
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 September 2001, 12:32   #16
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
I will give that a try. 800x600 instead of 640x480

Info from main site.
Quote:
KNOWN BUGS:
- Snapshot (save-state) support is not 100% yet.
- Centering modes will crash this release of WinUAE, if the window-size is
less than 800x600.
- Using more than 512-Megs of ZorroIII FastMem will fail.
- Does not work (currently) on Win95. Will be fixed in Release 2.
Paul is offline  
Old 19 September 2001, 17:57   #17
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 46
Posts: 2,797
Yeah, that was the cause of the crashing, Toni . Good snooping
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 23 September 2001, 16:56   #18
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 14,361
Quote:
CD32 support - would make a lot of people happy
I have been planning to add some CD32 support (like CD32 pad and Akiko) but I really need CD32 Kickstart and extended ROM (both are 512KB in size)

It seems only CD32 Kickstart have Akiko support build-in. Does anyone have CD32 with ability to dump ROMs? (I hope requesting CD32 ROMs is ok because you can't buy them like "normal" kickstarts) Of course, I don't mind if someone donates me real CD32

Also programming specs for CD32s hardware NVRAM would be nice to have. (Of course you can disassemble ROMs for this information but it is very time consuming)

Full CD support is probably the most difficult thing to emulate.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 September 2001, 17:00   #19
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Toni: You could try http://pub48.ezboard.com/bamigacd32

That's the CD32 ISO Board.

I also made a request for the CD32 Kickstart ROM not too long ago, but I got no replies....shame since I don't have an SX-32 on my CD32

But.....I do know that the admin of that board (cd32iso is his nick ) has the ability to dump the rom so I suggest you get in contact with him. He'll probably help out since lately he's been talking about the development of WinUAE CD32 by Airsoft. Just tell him you're a WinUAE developer who's hoping to add CD32 support. I'm assuming he'd help out.....assuming
 
Old 23 September 2001, 17:26   #20
XoreX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MB
Age: 37
Posts: 161
Excelent! Soon cd32 in winuae!
I wish you luck!
XoreX is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 0.9.92 "WinUAE 1.0 public beta #3" Released! Jim News 2 23 December 2004 12:29
WinUAE - HD, and WinUAE Beats me Mr.B support.WinUAE 19 26 October 2003 18:49
WinUAE 0817r3-GUI dissappears/ WinUAE freezes. 7-Zark-7 support.WinUAE 2 23 December 2001 15:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27261 seconds with 11 queries