English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 July 2004, 16:29   #1
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Workbench screen res advice please ???

This is for the DVD when running on the XBOX !!!!

What do you guys recommend for a Workbench screen resolution ???
( For XBOX )

So far the best i can come up with IS 800*600 but thats a standard workbench with magic workbench installed ....i have a huge telly

anyone played in winuaex yet and got that perfect look ????

Also what do you think is a good HDD size for Workbench ???

I wanted to install Nemac the directors cut but its 450 meg and doesnt want to install for some reason ( cant open c/installer )
I remember the error but not the reason....Its been a while since i dabbled properly with workbench
If i do get it on your looking at a shared 1 gig workbench ....is that to big ???
synchro is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 July 2004, 03:37   #2
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
LOL!!! Looks like not many have setup workbench on XBOX....
I will go with the standard....Looks best and You can always customise it
synchro is offline  
Old 03 July 2004, 08:44   #3
lostfriend
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: the middle of germany
Posts: 76
i havent played with the internal Screensettings in the WB on my Xbox, will try it and report.
# ( cant open c/installer )
you need to install the installer, go to the whdload page theres a link to it.
BTW the latest v4 crashes when i wanna take a screenshot.
lostfriend is offline  
Old 04 July 2004, 11:10   #4
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostfriend
i havent played with the internal Screensettings in the WB on my Xbox, will try it and report.
# ( cant open c/installer )
you need to install the installer, go to the whdload page theres a link to it.
BTW the latest v4 crashes when i wanna take a screenshot.
Thanks il take a look !!!!

To be honest there isnt a lot of choice on screen res for workbench on XBOX not for a standard telly anyway you can only just get away with it in default and still make out the text but it will be fine

PS.....I dont think i can lose the Scanlines when booting from XBOX
synchro is offline  
Old 29 August 2004, 13:35   #5
The Rom Alien
Elsewhere I am lsproc
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Notts
Posts: 33
1024X768 It's cool! (well at least on the pc)
The Rom Alien is offline  
Old 29 August 2004, 15:03   #6
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
synchro, i can tell you my screen settings for WinUAEx if you like
Antiriad is offline  
Old 29 August 2004, 15:31   #7
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antiriad
synchro, i can tell you my screen settings for WinUAEx if you like
Na its ok
I will leave it standard so you can set your own
synchro is offline  
Old 29 August 2004, 18:47   #8
andyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 97
It's a bit pointless going over 800x600 cause then you're going over the natural resolution of a TV set. Anything higher makes things hard to read or see properly.

The amount of detail conveyed is exactly the same for all TV's designed for the same format. This is considered to be 720 x 486 pixels for the PAL format. NTSC is 648 x 486 pixels. Digital film uses 2048 x 1536 pixels (for those interested)

A TV is quite a low resolution display device especially when compared to todays PC monitors.

As for WinUaeX and achieving the perfect look - I've got close but haven't managed it yet!
andyr is offline  
Old 30 August 2004, 00:24   #9
LocalH
Amiga user since 1990
LocalH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN / USA
Age: 37
Posts: 277
Plus, it's pointless, because unless you're using SuperHires, the Amiga doesn't display any more pixels than that, including the full overscan. And none of the UAE releases I've seen correctly support 35ns pixels (it treats them like the A3000 scandoubler, skipping every other column).

I recommend either going with 800x600 or 720x480 (NTSC)/720x576 (PAL), if you can set the latter, or anything with a width close to 720. Anything larger and you're just wasting space with 99% of games, since they use the custom chips for display and audio.

If you're running P96 compatible stuff also, I recommend just using the largest resolution that you can easily read that the XBox supports. These tips do also apply to standard UAE as well.
LocalH is offline  
Old 30 August 2004, 02:17   #10
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
All the games running from the PC open in 800*600 ( fullscreen )

Winuaex will be best left Default as i dont see much point in setting resolutions some people may not be able to get . The last thing i want is people downloading a 4.5 gig DVD then moaning they cant see it
synchro is offline  
Old 30 August 2004, 14:46   #11
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
actually i have no idea how to enlarge the resolution of my XBox tbh. anyone here know how?
Antiriad is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New icons for Classic Workbench - LO RES Hache project.ClassicWB 11 30 November 2013 01:37
Screen Res Washac support.OtherUAE 3 17 February 2010 20:44
setting workbench res on WB 3.1 greenchili New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 25 July 2006 16:19
Tweaking WinUAE screen res barkingboy support.WinUAE 8 27 March 2002 17:21
WB 3.0: Location of Hi-Res screen definitions? andreas New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 10 March 2002 17:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15203 seconds with 11 queries