English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 June 2004, 10:55   #1
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 56
Posts: 984
T.F.X Question ????

Im after the floppy version of this one .....Does anyone have it ???
It was given away free with CUAmiga years ago but i cant find it in ADF Format anywhere.......Even the TOSEC collection doesnt have it !!!!

If anyone could pass it my way or link me to it that would be great..

Thanks in advance!!
synchro is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 June 2004, 11:44   #2
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 36
Posts: 2,406
I think it only was on the "CU cd" ... i dont have that cd here
kriz is offline  
Old 29 June 2004, 11:56   #3
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 56
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriz
I think it only was on the "CU cd" ... i dont have that cd here
OMG!!! CD....this was pre-CD on the amiga.... It was on floppy on the PC first of all...I have the CUAmiga floppys in their original LZX format...which of course unpacks to real floppys.....I forget how to convert them to ADF's

I could be wrong of course but i seem to remember 3 or 4 highly compressed floppys on thew mag...that unpacked to 11 floppys

It just would have been handy not to go through that process if someone had a set of ADF's
synchro is offline  
Old 29 June 2004, 11:57   #4
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 1,417
I just checked the CD. There is no floppy version - hence no adfs. The CD has the TFX directory compressed with lzx and split into 720k chunks so that Amiga owners that had a PC with a CDROM drive could transfer the chunks across and recombine them on the Amiga (of course you needed a HD Amiga-side.) This would be the floppy version that you are thinking of.
Galaxy is offline  
Old 29 June 2004, 12:03   #5
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 56
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxy
I just checked the CD. There is no floppy version - hence no adfs. The CD has the TFX directory compressed with lzx and split into 720k chunks so that Amiga owners that had a PC with a CDROM drive could transfer the chunks across and recombine them on the Amiga (of course you needed a HD Amiga-side.) This would be the floppy version that you are thinking of.
Sounds like what i have yes !!!

Seeing it was free does anyone have a retail copy of the cd then ?????
It was sold in the shops so there must be something around ???

BTW...Is the CUAmiga cd available for download anywhere ???
synchro is offline  
Old 29 June 2004, 12:25   #6
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 925
I've created a floppy version some time ago... It should be in TOSEC.
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 29 June 2004, 12:48   #7
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 56
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally Posted by WindowsKiller
I've created a floppy version some time ago... It should be in TOSEC.
I have the full collection on dvd's and unless you gave it a wierd name it isnt there You dont still have it i suppose do you
synchro is offline  
Old 29 June 2004, 14:44   #8
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 1,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by synchro
Seeing it was free does anyone have a retail copy of the cd then ?????
TFX was not commercially released on the Amiga. It kept getting delayed, then Commodore went under, and Ocean decided not to release the game. There is no real point grabbing the disk images unless they are the only way to get the lzx files onto your Amiga. As far as I know, you *can't* play TFX from the CU Amiga floppies - they need to be installed on HD. This is certainly the case with the CU CD version.
Galaxy is offline  
Old 29 June 2004, 14:58   #9
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by synchro
Sounds like what i have yes !!!

Seeing it was free does anyone have a retail copy of the cd then ?????
It was sold in the shops so there must be something around ???

BTW...Is the CUAmiga cd available for download anywhere ???
Both the CD and the TFX folder are on my ftp
BippyM is offline  
Old 29 June 2004, 14:59   #10
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxy
As far as I know, you *can't* play TFX from the CU Amiga floppies - they need to be installed on HD. This is certainly the case with the CU CD version.
That's why I did a floppy version. My floppy version is fully playable from floppy.

@synchro: Yes, I still have it. If no one else can upload it, I'll do. However, I'm on 56k so don't expect it very soon...
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 29 June 2004, 15:02   #11
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 56
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally Posted by WindowsKiller
That's why I did a floppy version. My floppy version is fully playable from floppy.

@synchro: Yes, I still have it.
Is there any chance i could grab it off you and if so could i also put it on the DVD in the specials and rare section Course i just made that one up but i will put that secion in now

( full credit given of course )
synchro is offline  
Old 29 June 2004, 16:16   #12
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 925
It's uploaded to the zone now. Have fun and tell TOSEC to include it finally. I've already submitted it to TOSEC three times in the past...
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 29 June 2004, 17:23   #13
IanS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 209
I'm pretty sure I have the original CU cd version of TFX at home. It's free to those who want it, to save them a download.
IanS is offline  
Old 30 June 2004, 02:10   #14
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 56
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally Posted by WindowsKiller
It's uploaded to the zone now. Have fun and tell TOSEC to include it finally. I've already submitted it to TOSEC three times in the past...
I havent got permission to enter the zone !!!!!
Is this a ......( Cuz i like Startrek thing ) .....Or is there a valid reason

Last edited by synchro; 30 June 2004 at 02:24.
synchro is offline  
Old 30 June 2004, 05:43   #15
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 1,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by synchro
I havent got permission to enter the zone !!!!!
Is this a ......( Cuz i like Startrek thing ) .....Or is there a valid reason

Instructions at: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=150109&postcount=4

This should be added to the FAQs
Galaxy is offline  
Old 30 June 2004, 12:04   #16
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 56
Posts: 984
Thanks Galaxy !!!!
Sorted

BTW...Thanks WindowsKiller !!!!

Last edited by synchro; 30 June 2004 at 14:20.
synchro is offline  
Old 11 September 2004, 02:25   #17
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 34
Posts: 1,109
hmm has any one here tried getting it going on a bog std cd32 ??
redblade is offline  
Old 11 September 2004, 02:47   #18
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I don't think it would work, if memory serves, it requires more memory than a bog standard CD32 has (4MB of fast needed, I think?), and anyway, the 68EC020 must make it run like pure shit.

Not even taking into account that you need a keybaord to play it. Pure mess. Not worth the effort, I say.
Akira is offline  
Old 11 September 2004, 03:01   #19
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 56
Posts: 984
Funny i have it running like a dream ?????
As smooth as any PC flight sim but mind you thats emulating of course
synchro is offline  
Old 11 September 2004, 03:46   #20
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Emulation means fuck all, a bog standard CD32 can't run that one anywhere near a decent framerate.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cf question trydowave support.Hardware 4 18 July 2013 00:14
Sensible question mmmfreegoo support.Games 5 25 November 2006 17:10
question nnever2000 project.SPS (was CAPS) 2 16 July 2003 17:15
A Question... DoaBlade request.Old Rare Games 2 06 January 2002 05:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08838 seconds with 12 queries