English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

Old 26 June 2004, 22:14   #1
kuran

Connecting an Amiga to a television?

Hi,

I would like to know if its possible to hook my Amiga 500 to my television instead of a monitor... it would save me a lot of space.

To make Akira happy, here is a picture of my setup..

AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 June 2004, 22:27   #2
RetroMan

Sure Just use a cable from 23 pin to Scart
Old 26 June 2004, 22:29   #3
kuran

Where could I buy that online? And please explain it a little bit more…*I'm not that technically proficient… I've been a Macintosh user all my life you see.

Old 26 June 2004, 22:41   #4
Peanutuk

You need a 'TV Modulator' to attach a A500 to a TV using the standard kind of areil lead you may be used to attaching other computers and console with. These crop up on ebay from time to time. Again ebay is a good place for Amiga Scart cables although I am surePower Computing must sell one. They still make and supply Amiga harware. Haven't looked myself though.

BTW you need more used tissues and a Monkey in the room.
Old 26 June 2004, 22:45   #5
RetroMan

The picture you get with a TV Mod is crap, just try to get hold of an Amiga Video Cable (23pin Din to Scart) and connect it to the scart of your TV Not sure where to buy such things, I´m from germany and those cables are quite common here in Amiga Shops .... maybe these guys deliver to Belgium as well -> http://www.kabelspezialist.de ?
Old 26 June 2004, 22:48   #6
kuran

I'll ask if they ship to Belgium…*I'd guess that wouldn't be a problem.

They do have a Scart cable for Amiga, would the image quality be acceptible? I'll have to order one and find out…

Old 26 June 2004, 22:51   #7
RetroMan

The picture won´t be as sharp as an amiga monitor would be, but it´s definitely better than using a TV Modulator
Old 26 June 2004, 23:16   #8
Bloodwych