English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 June 2004, 17:13   #1
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
New CD on the way....Advice please :)

Ok im putting together a little cd for us.....nothing special but should be quite handy...

I have all the specs now for all Amigas and CD32....But i need the config for CDTV !!! can anyone help ???

Pics will be posted as i get it a little more presentable
synchro is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 June 2004, 15:48   #2
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Ok i sorted the config prob !!!....

BUT.....The initial CDTV screen starts off in the right colours but quickly goes to RED.......Any ideas on this one please ?????

BTW...click the mouse and the second screen is fine ????
synchro is offline  
Old 14 June 2004, 17:07   #3
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 925
Quote:
The initial CDTV screen starts off in the right colours but quickly goes to RED
Are you talking about WinUAE ? WinUAE cannot fully emulate the CDTV right now. That red screen is all you'll get...
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 14 June 2004, 18:55   #4
StephanK
 
Posts: n/a
Well, uh.. take this with a grain of salt, but it looks to me, like i am having no trouble emulating a CDTV with WinUAE.. Or lets put it another way, i get a perfectly fine logo screen and the prefs screen is working fine as well.. I haven't tried running any CDTV soft, cause i don't own any..

I am using: WinUAE 8.27 with Cloantos Amiga Forever Roms, Kick1.3 and the seperate amiga-ext-130-cdtv.rom. 68000, matchA500, no-Jit, FullECS, FastCopper 1Meg Chip..
 
Old 14 June 2004, 19:35   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by WindowsKiller
Are you talking about WinUAE ? WinUAE cannot fully emulate the CDTV right now. That red screen is all you'll get...
Try pressing any key
In Config screen press ESC to see non-red logo screen.

CD audio player or booting from CDROM won't work.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 14 June 2004, 19:44   #6
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 925
Yeah, I know that you can access the preferences screen and the cd audio player. But you can't do anything usefull with it because the cd drive/controller is not emulated. With "That red screen is all you'll get" I meant that the boot process will not go any further.
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 15 June 2004, 02:49   #7
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Ah ha !!! the esc key worked thanks Toni

Windowskiller thanks for the feedback now i know what not to try and do

Stephank thanks for the config ....I have some games so il see what happens with your setup

BTW...Toni...Will you be finishing the CDTV emulation or was it just for a gimmik type of thing ??? So far the CD32 side seems to be 99% perfect seems a shame not to finish the job Winuae has really come on leaps and bounds since you took over it even runs my old time favourite "Robocop 3 3D"
synchro is offline  
Old 15 June 2004, 15:52   #8
KombatSanta
Pipboy approved
KombatSanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Karlstad, Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 460
Send a message via ICQ to KombatSanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
Try pressing any key
Help! I can't find the "any key"
KombatSanta is offline  
Old 15 June 2004, 16:19   #9
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by KombatSanta
Help! I can't find the "any key"
Right beside the "other key" are you blind
synchro is offline  
Old 16 June 2004, 18:10   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by synchro
BTW...Toni...Will you be finishing the CDTV emulation or was it just for a gimmik type of thing ???
Probably someday when I am again interesting in tracing extended rom's cdrom routines. (thats more boring than watching grass grow..)

Having real CDTV would also help
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 June 2004, 07:50   #11
Runey
Survivor
Runey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Adelaide / Australia
Age: 46
Posts: 85
Anyone interested in splitting the cost of buying a CDTV for Toni?
Runey is offline  
Old 17 June 2004, 13:01   #12
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runey
Anyone interested in splitting the cost of buying a CDTV for Toni?
If your being REALLY serious in the interests of the future of WinUae then yes count me in......there must be some still around...Ebay maybe ???
synchro is offline  
Old 17 June 2004, 13:37   #13
Runey
Survivor
Runey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Adelaide / Australia
Age: 46
Posts: 85
Yes definately serious. Ebay has some I'm keeping an eye on the prices. I reckon they'll go for EUR70 - 90 plus postage. We'll see, still a few days to go yet. Also e-mailed some people I know in the UK to see if they still have theres and if they want to sell them. Preferably cheap

Thanks by the way
Runey is offline  
Old 17 June 2004, 13:38   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,925
Real CDTV is not 100% requirement but it would help a lot.

I did CD32 emulation without having real CD32.. but CD32's CDROM controller is very simple and brain dead.. CDTV controller is most likely some kind of SCSI-based.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 June 2004, 13:47   #15
Runey
Survivor
Runey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Adelaide / Australia
Age: 46
Posts: 85
Just for interests sake anybody know what one would actually be worth? Just found a guy in Prague who has 2 but doesn't want to split them? No price just asked for an offer (don't know what to offer )

Anything to help WinUAE. Otherwise how could I relive my mispent youth. The Amiga is probably why I have carpel tunnel syndrome
Runey is offline  
Old 17 June 2004, 14:25   #16
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
Real CDTV is not 100% requirement but it would help a lot.

I did CD32 emulation without having real CD32.. but CD32's CDROM controller is very simple and brain dead.. CDTV controller is most likely some kind of SCSI-based.
No Problem Toni......Anything to help..... But if you think having a JAGUAR would help with WinUae you can sod off !!!!



Seriously though......we can do this......we just have to work out how to go about it.....Probably have it sent direct to Toni.....its payment that may be the awkward bit
synchro is offline  
Old 17 June 2004, 16:44   #17
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
CDTV controller is most likely some kind of SCSI-based.
Same SCSI chip as used for the A2090 and A590, as far as I know. That should be one of the WD33C93 series from Western Digital.
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 17 June 2004, 17:01   #18
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by WindowsKiller
Same SCSI chip as used for the A2090 and A590, as far as I know. That should be one of the WD33C93 series from Western Digital.
Yes but there is one problem, CDTV extended ROM uses many non-existing 33C93 registers.. Either there is something else than real 33C93 or there is something else mapped to those addresses.

My plan is to remove CDTV extended ROM (I hope it is socketed) to prevent all Kickstart CDROM accesses and then poke controller addresses until something interesting happens.

Of course I need real CDTV first
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hi im new here advice please! sneaksby New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 26 April 2013 03:00
After some advice Mahilu MarketPlace 6 07 September 2011 22:43
Need some advice. CritAnime support.Hardware 6 22 December 2010 12:03
A little advice please !!! synchro Amiga scene 9 17 July 2004 19:24
Need some advice! Devious Amiga scene 1 20 June 2002 19:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19239 seconds with 11 queries