English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 May 2004, 06:45   #1
Computolio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: California
Posts: 174
Wait a sec - what about Macs?

Has any serious investigation been made into whether or not older Macs (from the beige G3 on back) are capable of reading/writing Amiga disks? The controller used, though (maybe) somewhat undocumented, is radically different from the standard PC kind and might have the features and abilities needed for the job. It'd be worth the effort, especially since in the end it's a lot easier for someone to find an older Mac than it is to spend a lot of money on a Catweasel or spend a long time using a serial link.

Last edited by Computolio; 30 May 2004 at 08:55.
Computolio is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 May 2004, 09:22   #2
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
Not sure about the Mac thing, but I think you can read Amiga disks on a PC if you have 2 floppy drives. There's some program out there that does a bunch of shifty stuff and somehow manages to get it to work. Dunno how well it does on non-DOS disks though.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 30 May 2004, 18:14   #3
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
Early Mac floppies were perculiar. The drive write speed was variable. They can't read Amiga disks, neither can anything else read those vari-speed floppies.
FromWithin is offline  
Old 30 May 2004, 23:08   #4
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
Does the Mac-Classic fall under this category? There was a program for the Amiga that let me read and write those disks, and I think there might've even been one for the PC as well.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 31 May 2004, 00:33   #5
darkwave
Registered User
darkwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cambridge, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 119
th4t1guy: That may have been something called 'A-max' (or something) iirc. It was either just a device that read mac disks or it may have been an early mac emulator which came with a device to read disks. Saying that, this is only a faint memory and this could all be rubbish. Can anybody verify?
darkwave is offline  
Old 31 May 2004, 00:59   #6
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
I don't remember the program for the PC, but the one I used on my Amiga was CrossMac.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 31 May 2004, 04:52   #7
Oscar Castillo
Junior Member
Oscar Castillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 282
Send a message via AIM to Oscar Castillo
Wonder what the incompatabilities were that now you can buy external USB
floppies that are Mac & PC compatible. I have an external Mitsumi that does just that. By the way I have A-Max III and believe it was an emulator. Never tried it, just part of a collection of disks I picked up on eBay.
Oscar Castillo is offline  
Old 31 May 2004, 11:20   #8
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,926
AFAIK Apple pretty much shelved support for its old variable speed drives. So any USB model you find today is probably similar if not identical to dedicated PC USB drives anyway.
fiath is offline  
Old 01 June 2004, 11:10   #9
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 1,418
Amax was an emulator, but also allowed you to read Mac disks by connecting an Apple drive. I've uploaded a scan of an article from Amiga Format to the Zone.
Galaxy is offline  
Old 02 June 2004, 08:17   #10
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
CrossMac can not read low density Mac floppies without extra hardware. (ie. Amax + 800k Mac floppy drive)
adolescent is offline  
Old 02 June 2004, 08:23   #11
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscar Castillo
By the way I have A-Max III and believe it was an emulator. Never tried it, just part of a collection of disks I picked up on eBay.
All of the A-Max series are hardware solutions. Are you sure you have an AMax III? AFAIK, it was never released, only the A-Max, II/II+ and IV.
adolescent is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASM: Wait for Vertical Blank Asman Coders. Tutorials 59 22 July 2017 01:10
Emulating Amiga on PPC Macs....SUCK Fred the Fop Amiga scene 41 05 June 2008 21:59
timed wait using CIAs jotd support.Other 3 23 March 2008 15:55
Sound 7 sec. after graphics keithsonic support.WinUAE 8 23 December 2002 01:07
2-4 sec delay of music playing Lord support.Demos 0 24 June 2002 00:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27057 seconds with 11 queries