English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 May 2004, 17:21   #1
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Regarding Amiga Forever Kickstart images...

They can't be utilised by WHDLoad slaves that require KickROM images, can they?
MethodGit is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 May 2004, 17:48   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by MethodGit
They can't be utilised by WHDLoad slaves that require KickROM images, can they?
They are encrypted, so probably not. But you can start WinUAE with the desired ROM image + key file and then use transrom inside WinUAE to create a usable image. (Well, I don't know if it is usable for WHDLoad, at least it is decrypted now and can be used without key file).
thomas is offline  
Old 19 May 2004, 18:19   #3
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 925
Quote:
But you can start WinUAE with the desired ROM image + key file and then use transrom inside WinUAE to create a usable image.
However, that will work only with the 1.x roms. The other roms are modified by Cloanto and decrypting them this way will not work.
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 19 May 2004, 19:39   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,288
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by WindowsKiller
However, that will work only with the 1.x roms. The other roms are modified by Cloanto and decrypting them this way will not work.
What sort of modifications?
Jope is offline  
Old 19 May 2004, 19:49   #5
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 925
Some sort of copy protection. e.g. You can not burn them back to an EPROM because they are modified to not work with a real Amiga.
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 19 May 2004, 21:05   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
BAstards
Akira is offline  
Old 20 May 2004, 10:06   #7
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira
BAstards
I must concur. This will only give peeps more of an incentive to Google for the 'real' images instead. Can't even imagine lots of people even knowing how to execute all that EPROM shizzat anyway.

Where'd you discover that copy protection info anyhoos, WK?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 21 May 2004, 19:06   #8
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 925
Quote:
Where'd you discover that copy protection info anyhoos, WK?
Can't remember where I've read it the first time, but I've also tried to use the decrypted Cloanto roms with a real Amiga several times and it did not work. (neither burned into an EPROM nor by using a softkicker)
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 01 June 2004, 09:33   #9
carfesh
Moderator

carfesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 48
Send a message via Skype™ to carfesh
Since I'm curious by nature I took a look at the decoded Cloanto Kickstart images; they have the very same checksums the ones I dumped from real Amigas have, so I really can't see how Cloanto modified them. I didn't bother doing a bit by bit comparison, but since they have the same checksum I suppose they actually are the same. Do you have any reliable source for that information?

I think if these ROMs didn't work, in the decoded form, either something went wrong during the decoding process, or you're doing something else wrong. Did you use any of the 'real' images the same way successfully?
carfesh is offline  
Old 01 June 2004, 11:07   #10
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 925
I don't know which version of Amiga Forever you have nor which Kickstart images you've decoded. The Kickstart 3.1 for example IS modified by Cloanto.

I'm into Kickstart images for years now and I don't make such stupid mistakes.
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 14 March 2012, 12:44   #11
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcGTW_Webmaster View Post
However, that will work only with the 1.x roms. The other roms are modified by Cloanto and decrypting them this way will not work.
Apologies for bumping a very old thread. However I must say, this is not quite accurate when it comes to recent Amiga Forever editions, although there is a grain of truth here.

Amiga Forever 2012 Plus or Premium (the edition I have) comes with several Commodore-Amiga 3.1 ROMs for different Amiga models, as well as a Cloanto "3.x" ROM. The former can be ripped with Transrom to produce an unencrypted ROM file (I tried it - it definitely works). The latter cannot be ripped this way.

It is also possible to use Transrom to rip both 1.3 and 1.2 ROMs from Amiga Forever Value Edition (which I also confirmed). This is the only way ROMs from the Value Edition can be used on non-x86 non-Windows platforms.

Last edited by Mequa; 14 March 2012 at 12:49.
Mequa is offline  
Old 14 March 2012, 14:56   #12
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,527
Quote:
This is the only way ROMs from the Value Edition can be used on non-x86 non-Windows platforms.
That's not true. All flavours of UAE can deal with encrypted roms and .key files. On older versions of UAE you may need to configure the file name of the rom.key file while current versions of WinUAE will find the rom.key file automatically.
thomas is offline  
Old 15 March 2012, 12:54   #13
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
The Value Edition of Amiga Forever 2012 does not include a rom.key file. Cloanto confirmed that for me via email, and I also confirmed it myself with my own install of the Value Edition.

Regarding my enquiry to them about using the Value Edition on non-Windows platforms, I got this reply:

Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroPlatform Help Desk
The Value Edition of Amiga Forever is not suitable for this use I am afraid (it is Windows-only, and there is no rom.key file).
Mequa is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Forever help mortismaker New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 28 October 2016 15:13
kickstart images scallyman55 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 04 April 2010 23:41
Amiga Forever and C64 Forever Live Video Meetup mcb News 1 30 May 2009 19:09
What's up with Amiga Forever? tempestf Amiga scene 7 24 July 2008 14:15
Any way to create an A1000 kickstart disk using Amiga Forever? mr_a500 request.Apps 5 09 September 2005 00:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29552 seconds with 11 queries