English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 April 2004, 11:52   #1
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 31
Posts: 441
Winuae "hidden" feature

I have recently discovered an "hidden" feature of winuae.

Unfortunatly only now that Richard Drummond has already done an update for non-windows users.

It doesn't work perfectly but it works with jit too, and i haven't yet tested virtual hd and hd on filesystem.

The speed is moreless the same ( +- 3 %, sometimes faster, sometimes slower than with windows xp )
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WinuaeWithWine-Demo.jpg
Views:	485
Size:	97.8 KB
ID:	6717  
mtb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 29 April 2004, 12:13   #2
Enverex
Registered User
Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Age: 28
Posts: 1,193
Send a message via ICQ to Enverex Send a message via AIM to Enverex Send a message via MSN to Enverex Send a message via Skype™ to Enverex
Er, what is the hidden feature?
Enverex is offline  
Old 29 April 2004, 14:42   #3
turk182
Junior Member
turk182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: london
Age: 41
Posts: 187
I think he means that it works through Wine the linux Windowz emulator.
turk182 is offline  
Old 29 April 2004, 16:15   #4
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Thanks turk. You're so right. Needed a second glance on the pic until I spotted "it".

That's a "nice side-effect of WinUAE", not really a "feature", for Toni hasn't done anything special to make this program work under Wine
It just works - by coincidence & pure luck.

No wonder this thread title has attracted so many readers.
andreas is offline  
Old 30 April 2004, 20:21   #5
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 31
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by turk182
I think he means that it works through Wine the linux Windowz emulator.
Well you are right .

And as Andreas said, Toni hasn't done anything special to make this program work under Wine, but it works fine and i think nobody else has tried to run it under Wine ( i have tried after having reported a success running a modern pc demo at the same speed of windows native ), and i suppose there are other people interested in this feature.

Also i'm impressed that wine, as reported in its docs ( but before trying it i was really dubious ), can run a lot of software at moreless the same speed of windows.
mtb is offline  
Old 30 April 2004, 23:50   #6
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 59
Posts: 685
Of course, running WinUAE under Wine is actually an emulation running within an emulation, as already mentioned. If Wine emulates Windows accurately enough, then that would let you do one more level of nested emulations than what I've ever managed before. For folks running linux, you could then run:

Windows (emulated by Wine)
Amiga (emulated by WinUAE underneath Wine)
Mac (emulated by Shapeshifter underneath WinUAE)
Apple II (emulated by Stop the Madness under Shapeshifter)

The true nerd in me just LOVES doing stuff like this!
Chuckles is offline  
Old 01 May 2004, 10:46   #7
Mr Creosote
Evil Mastermind
Mr Creosote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckles
Of course, running WinUAE under Wine is actually an emulation running within an emulation, as already mentioned. If Wine emulates Windows accurately enough, then that would let you do one more level of nested emulations than what I've ever managed before.
Wine Is Not an Emulator
Mr Creosote is offline  
Old 02 May 2004, 07:34   #8
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 59
Posts: 685
Close enough for me, as it is running one OS under another, which isn't altogether different in nature.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 02 May 2004, 08:34   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,437
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckles
Close enough for me, as it is running one OS under another, which isn't altogether different in nature.
It's wrapping Windows OS calls to Linux calls. Not an emulator, but a wrapper.
Jope is offline  
Old 02 May 2004, 12:33   #10
turk182
Junior Member
turk182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: london
Age: 41
Posts: 187
Yes , Sorry I knew that & should have mentioned It.
But I sometimes forget how pedantic people get on this forum
turk182 is offline  
Old 02 May 2004, 18:51   #11
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 59
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope
It's wrapping Windows OS calls to Linux calls. Not an emulator, but a wrapper.
Well, that essentially makes it a "translator" rather than an emulator, but so long as it lets you run Windows apps without Windows, that's the main thing that counts. I'll have to check it out if I ever find myself playing around with Linux.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 02 May 2004, 19:27   #12
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,437
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckles
Well, that essentially makes it a "translator" rather than an emulator, but so long as it lets you run Windows apps without Windows, that's the main thing that counts. I'll have to check it out if I ever find myself playing around with Linux.
Yeah.. :-)

I guess the guys who created WINE are more uptight about it's non-emulatorness (seeing they named it with a recursive acronym about it :-D)..

Wine's come a long way since when it was born, it's surprisingly good nowadays.
Jope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 00:06
CD32 Image-Name-Bug: "...(bla)[!].zip" -> "...(bla)[" / "...[test].zip" -> "...[tes" cfTrio support.WinUAE 8 18 December 2012 16:31
"7-planes" feature and more.. coyote support.WinUAE 48 17 December 2008 22:47
Problems with "Thespywholovedme", "Flood", "Shinobi" sareks support.Games 12 03 May 2006 14:52
"Add Harddisk" feature problem.... mrpijey support.WinUAE 8 28 November 2002 21:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27976 seconds with 12 queries