English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 August 2015, 04:15   #121
Yakumo9275
Registered User
Yakumo9275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lexington VA
Posts: 94
i remember having Elf and Risky Woods on my PC and Amiga but I dont remember which was better, I remember they played very fluid and had good sound so maybe they were late into the dos vga/soundblaster era. its been too long! lol
Yakumo9275 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 August 2015, 18:41   #122
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,222
Ultima VI.

The PC version is SO much better thanks to the VGA graphics and Adlib/MT32 sound!

I was also going to say "oh, and loading times". But I never tried to HD install U6 on my Amiga, so I'm not sure if that improves things. What's for sure is that the Amiga floppy version requires you to be a true disc jockey
jbenam is offline  
Old 20 August 2015, 00:21   #123
Yakumo9275
Registered User
Yakumo9275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lexington VA
Posts: 94
U6 was a very interesting exercise on C64 thats for sure! very surprised they even did a U6 on the c64
Yakumo9275 is offline  
Old 20 August 2015, 11:25   #124
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yakumo9275 View Post
U6 was a very interesting exercise on C64 thats for sure! very surprised they even did a U6 on the c64
Indeed, and lots of people played that version as well!

The C64 still had an huge market for RPGs back then, not making a C64 version would be foolish - the true mystery is why they did a C128 version of U5 but not U6? (which would've desperately needed it) I presume something to do with the C128 not selling well enough...
jbenam is offline  
Old 20 August 2015, 12:53   #125
Baboon
Moon Monkey
Baboon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Plymouth, Devon
Posts: 376
Probably already mentioned but Prince of Persia, Another World, Jimmy Whites Whirlwind Snooker and Moonstone are pretty much identical to the amiga versions
Baboon is offline  
Old 20 August 2015, 13:01   #126
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,541
Another World is slightly longer on PC.
s2325 is offline  
Old 20 August 2015, 16:05   #127
Gzegzolka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Warszawa / Polska
Posts: 948
Whale Voyage 2 on pc got additional pre-rendered animations and 3d engine is more advanced, floor is textures, sprites are animated and there is more different objects on maps. Still to bet game You have done same thing and visit same planets.
Gzegzolka is offline  
Old 20 August 2015, 20:36   #128
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by beezle View Post
Off the top of my head:

Mortal Kombat 1, 2, and 3, Super StreetFighter2, SSF2T, pretty much any point 'n click adventure, Settlers (almost splitting hairs with that one, but dos version has bug fixes vs Amiga), Zool2 (better gfx and less slowdown).
the irony of Zool 2 being better on PC than Amiga... it burns
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 16 June 2016, 20:33   #129
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,541
Amiga version have corrected typo:

s2325 is offline  
Old 16 June 2016, 21:06   #130
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
It only shows up as Objets in CGA mode, in EGA it's Objects, also being a French game it may not be a typo as such.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 17 June 2016, 01:01   #131
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred the Fop View Post
What I have noticed on this board.
Nary a being discusses or praises MS Dos gaming.
There is as much "MS-DOS gaming" as there is "AmigaDOS gaming".
idrougge is offline  
Old 17 June 2016, 04:50   #132
ReadOnlyCat
Code Kitten

 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Montreal/Canadia
Age: 46
Posts: 1,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath View Post
It only shows up as Objets in CGA mode, in EGA it's Objects, also being a French game it may not be a typo as such.
Indeed, that is the French spelling of "objects".
So, technically, it's a translation error, not a typo.
ReadOnlyCat is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to get old DOS games? Fingerlickin_B Retrogaming General Discussion 7 11 June 2008 15:20
DOS games JohnnyBeGood project.SPS (was CAPS) 5 08 April 2008 19:48
Amiga vs. DOS games suggestions Part 2 laffer Retrogaming General Discussion 36 19 January 2008 15:10
Games that were great on the Amiga and were ~equal on the ST. Tolismlf Nostalgia & memories 52 03 August 2006 23:07
For those of you that must run old MS-DOS games, DOS Box has been ported Pyromania Amiga scene 19 06 June 2003 11:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16545 seconds with 12 queries