English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 September 2001, 00:55   #21
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
In a word NO the only time I get problems is when they don't actually have the file I'm trying to download, then I just get a 404 error.

A little secret for you, when LGD is back online, expect a new release of WinSTon, but if anyone asks, you ain't seen me right
Ian is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 September 2001, 00:56   #22
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Quote:
Originally posted by IanCharge
I don't think anyone is really down on the games industry I think the problem is some of us (including me) don't have the same passion for playing games as we did in our Amiga days (ie Our youth for some of us)

My friends and I were only seperated from our computers when we had to goto school and learn *Spit* nowadays I can barely bring myself to play any games at all.

Softco's DO still release more crap games than they shoould though
Yep, tiem is an issue, but I am as passionate about them as I was before, if not more (since now I have more cash and I can buy whatever teh bloody hell I want )

The big difference is taht, when we started, teh industry was not an uindustry, it was hobbyists coding games for fun in their houses, teh typical 'bedroom coder'... This is what's lost today, it all went too mainstream and became a huge, huge business.

Money corrupts
Akira is offline  
Old 07 September 2001, 01:11   #23
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
Lightbulb Tips

Another url for Little Green Desktop : http://www.atarist.com/
RCK is offline  
Old 07 September 2001, 06:06   #24
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
Hardware St Emulator

I just recently discover that it exists an hardware ST Emulator for Amiga called : Medusa. In fact i guess it should be harder to find this card than a real ST Well it was just for info.
Frog is offline  
Old 07 September 2001, 09:38   #25
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
I have the Medusa software. Didn't know there was any hardware for it, as I was always able to make it work for me just from the floppy.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 07 September 2001, 13:21   #26
Puzzle
Registered User
Puzzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 99
Cool. Does it work well? Does it work for games, or just serious software?
Puzzle is offline  
Old 07 September 2001, 15:13   #27
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
Medusa


Wow Could you upload the Medusa Software please, i would like to see how it's running.

I don't know if it's linked with the hardware Medusa emulator as i think Medusa was the codename of Atari ST (?)
Frog is offline  
Old 08 September 2001, 11:47   #28
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
OK, y'all'r in luck. I actually had that one already xferr'd from my Amiga. This is probably the net debut since I've not seen it anywhere else. I loaded it up in WinUAE 8.8r8 and had no luck with the only 2 configs I tried, but I'm just not persistent. Feel free, those of you who bang through configs, versions and various emulators and let me know if you get it to work (and how).

Here's what little I remember about it:

I d/l it from Ice Station Zebra back in 1990 and had never seen an ST running (so didn't really know what to expect). Since there was an Amiga vs ST rivalry, I figured it had to be decent. All the other ST emulators I'd tried were joke hacks, but I'd read about this one already.

I can't remember my system at the time...may have been the A2000 but was more likely the A500 with 1meg Agnus. The menu loader was in German, but it was simple enough to figure out. Ultimately, there I was at the Atari desktop. Major disappointment right off the bat. What was with that color palette and resolution? And that ultra goofy mouse pointer that looked like a fly! Abysmal! I looked around the OS, which I also found underwhelming. Like a poor man's Amiga and a poor man's Mac SE rolled into one. So I now needed software.

I dare not waste my elite credits on pirate boards downloading ST stuff, so I hacked a free account with Compuserve and grabbed a Pacman clone, some game with apples and some silly trampoline jumping game. The latter two worked perfectly, but no luck with the Pacman clone.

And that was basically it. I never got around to finding any other ST stuff like warez (I think I may have found one game that I couldn't get to work...probably my original Starglider II combo Amiga/ST disk).

The disk also has the ancient Amiga copy program ACopy and DOS2DOS, which is needed to transfer ST files to (PC formatted 720k) disk. I'm pretty sure it needs two disk drives to work proper.

Have fun!
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 09 September 2001, 14:07   #29
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
Medusa

Thanks a lot Twistin'Ghost !!

It was the other ST emulator i was seeking with Chameleon

It doesn't seems to be easy to make it run on A1200, i could have a try on my old A500 later.
Frog is offline  
Old 10 September 2001, 00:12   #30
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
It should work on your A500 with no probs. Let us know how it works for you.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 10 September 2001, 00:33   #31
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
far, far away...

As i've not my A500 here, i've no idea at all when i could have a look to the emulator, but i'll try to keep you inform. Other A500 owners are welcome to says if it works and how
Frog is offline  
Old 21 September 2001, 02:38   #32
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
That's a nice pic
 
Old 22 September 2001, 12:29   #33
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
Hit

Tons of "souvenirs" hit my head... The little bee isn't dead

Thanks !
Frog is offline  
Old 20 January 2005, 14:51   #34
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
i was just mining when i stumbled in this thread, the title being nice, and alas i never had a real Atari...
Marcuz is online now  
Old 20 January 2005, 16:27   #35
Thoth Amon
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
, but i still own an Atari 800XL
With 16Ko Memory, and no disk drive...
As far as I know, all 800XLs came with 64KB of RAM. The 600XL, on the other hand, came with 16KB.
 
Old 20 January 2005, 16:55   #36
girv
Reticulator of Splines
girv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 920
Send a message via ICQ to girv Send a message via AIM to girv Send a message via MSN to girv Send a message via Yahoo to girv
I wanted an ST-E when I was looking to step up from my Amstrad CPC, but then my mate Dave bought an A500...

Thanks, Dave
girv is offline  
Old 20 January 2005, 17:11   #37
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
I had an Atari 520STFM with a 512MB RAM expansion (1MB total) back in late 80s early 90s. Unfortunately, due to a minor problem (my ST fell down after coming back home from a computer party), the ST died. I later bought a STE with 4 Megs of RAM that I still have today.
manicx is offline  
Old 21 January 2005, 11:31   #38
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
The Atari ST well..... you know, blows.
Pyromania is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Atari help anyone ? (sorry !) daznic Retrogaming General Discussion 6 20 July 2011 19:34
ATARI ST-E versus ATARI ST-FM ? megajetman Retrogaming General Discussion 19 18 March 2006 02:09
Atari Legend. Finally an Atari ST database similar to HOL! Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 23 04 December 2004 07:46
EBAY Amiga / Atari ST / Atari 2600 stuff Eggsplosion MarketPlace 0 09 October 2004 22:01
Atari XE Twistin'Ghost Retrogaming General Discussion 8 22 February 2002 04:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25663 seconds with 11 queries