English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 January 2004, 15:10   #1
abelthorne
Registered User
abelthorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: France
Posts: 139
sound problems

I have many sound problems with WinUAE (in most of the games I play) : I hear "cracks" quite often and sometimes parts of the music seem to loop (maybe "lag" would be a better word). I've tried changing the sound buffer settings but it doesn't help.

Could this happen because of my sound card (sound blaster 128) ? My cpu not being powerful enough to play sound flawlessly (amd duron 800 mhz) ?

-- EDIT --

Whoops, posted too fast. Seems that trying to emulate a 68040 with sound on my computer is a bit too much. I've set a 68020 and it seems that my sound problems are gone (and emulation is quite faster ).

Last edited by abelthorne; 05 January 2004 at 15:42.
abelthorne is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 January 2004, 16:04   #2
P-J
EAB veteran... Honest!
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Warwickshire, England
Age: 34
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via MSN to P-J
To be honest, you've made the case yourself!

The sound card you're using shouldn't present any problems, but WinUAE (by the very nature of emulation) is quite CPU intensive and I'd recommend an upgrade before thinking about trying 040 again

Personally, I tend to find everything works better when using basic A500 emulation, since the sound/video sync is almost 'preset' and is usually flawless. I usually disable sound when using the OS/Picasso96 since it's a lot smoother and you get less slowdown problems.
P-J is offline  
Old 05 January 2004, 16:32   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 14,361
There shouldn't be any emulation speed difference between 020 and 040. (except if running program detects 040 and uses 040-optimized routines which may be more complex to emulate)

Check the "CPU-usage"-counter, > 100% means CPU is not powerful enough to emulate without slowdowns. Sound WILL start crackling immediately if there is not enough CPU power.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 05 January 2004, 18:31   #4
abelthorne
Registered User
abelthorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: France
Posts: 139
Mmm, the display seems to be a bit quicker when emulating a 68020 rather than a 68040, but it may be a visual impression only. And I tried Moonstone whdload (which had a lot of cracks and choppy sound), which seems really a lot faster when running from my new config (i.e. switching from 68040 to 68020).

As for the sound, I didn't think that it would come from the fact that I tried to emulate a 68040 because I thought that in that case I'd have had blanks in the music or something like that (not cracks, which made me think that it was frequency or buffering related).

Quote:
Personally, I tend to find everything works better when using basic A500 emulation, since the sound/video sync is almost 'preset' and is usually flawless. I usually disable sound when using the OS/Picasso96 since it's a lot smoother and you get less slowdown problems.
Well, in fact, I tried to emulate quite a "powerful" Amiga because I usually play whdload-installed games (and I'm too lazy to create a config for a "A500 + HD" - apart from the fact that I'm not even sure that whdload works below OS 2.x -).
abelthorne is offline  
Old 05 January 2004, 23:40   #5
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,127
Toni, you arent going to ever emulate the 030 and 060 cpus one day are you?
Antiriad is offline  
Old 06 January 2004, 00:20   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 14,361
"Answer" is still "Why"? I don't think there are any 68030 or 68060 -only programs (except programs that need MMU but MMU isn't emulated anyway..)

68030 is basically = 68020 + data cache and 68060 is optimized 68040. Both have 99.9% similar instruction set and are nearly identical from emulation point of view.
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound problems and more. Viserion support.Hardware 17 10 April 2013 00:31
Sound Problems... Steve support.WinUAE 3 18 July 2009 17:58
sound problems, please help pulley support.Hardware 4 19 October 2002 12:41
Sound problems punkie support.WinUAE 8 05 May 2002 03:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18900 seconds with 11 queries