English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 December 2003, 16:56   #1
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
PS emulation

can anyone recomend me a good Playstation emulator that works with WinXP...

i've just bought one of those Sony PS2 to USB adaptors, which works pretty well...
Djay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 December 2003, 17:20   #2
Damage
 
Posts: n/a
This best one I know Of

http://www.epsxe.com/news.php

 
Old 13 December 2003, 20:28   #3
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Djay, don't bother with anything else but EPSXE. It's an incredible emu!
If you need help, setting it up (should be easy), just ask.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 14 December 2003, 12:42   #4
vertigo
 
Posts: n/a
You will need a Bios, search google or rip your own! and also some plugins, the best being here at Petes page.

http://home.t-online.de/home/PeteBernert/
 
Old 14 December 2003, 13:38   #5
Hammy
Junior Member
Hammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: England
Age: 30
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to Hammy
you might want to try the connectix one if you can get hold of it.
Hammy is offline  
Old 14 December 2003, 14:14   #6
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,318
For the BIOS, just google the word SCPH1001.
Enverex is offline  
Old 15 December 2003, 04:21   #7
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally posted by Hammy
you might want to try the connectix one if you can get hold of it.
NO
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 15 December 2003, 04:51   #8
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Quote:
Originally posted by Frederic
NO
Doesnt work too well? I have it for the mac but it needs specific video cards to run which I dont have and wont bother to get. Gaming on the mac isnt that great (except for the older stuff)
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 15 December 2003, 11:37   #9
lilalurl
T32
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 2,834
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Connectix VGS

Although it hasn't been updated for almost two years (and probably won't since if I remember correctly Sony bought the rights from Connectix), I think that this emulator remains the best for 2-D PS games.

ePSXe is far more superior for everything else. But I always had a better experience playing Castlevania SOTN/NITM on VGS than on ePSXe. No matter the settings, ePSXe gives me choppy screen transitions and the music sometimes becomes jungle techno for a few seconds.

Anyway, as there are some good memory cards converting tools, the time played to test VGS won't be wasted in vain.
lilalurl is offline  
Old 15 December 2003, 13:49   #10
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
what is the best video plug-in to use..

i'm running dx9

my machine spec is
P4 2gig
640mb ram
128 geforce4 mx blah blah blah

i'm having a few screen pausing problems using Pete's d3d 1.75

????
Djay is offline  
Old 15 December 2003, 19:38   #11
vertigo
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Djay
what is the best video plug-in to use..

????

Its hard to say which is best, sometimes its your sound or Cdrom plugin that may cause a graphic glitch, its one of those programs that need a lot of experementing with to get te best out of it.

The only games out of many I've tried that seems elusive to fix for me are Soulblade screen transitions just as you start to fight, I cant seem to fix this and Metal Gear Solid in game video seems very ropey at the best of times and I cant get te sound right, game plays fine though! funnily enough I have similar sound problems on the PC version of MGS2..

good luck.
 
Old 15 December 2003, 20:15   #12
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally posted by Unknown_K
Doesnt work too well? I have it for the mac but it needs specific video cards to run which I dont have and wont bother to get. Gaming on the mac isnt that great (except for the older stuff)
I remember trying it on the first iMacs, with the crappy ATI Rage cards.
Worked fine, if a bit slow.
I played Panzer General and FF Tactics.
I was commenting on the CVGS for Windows.
It's crap, crud, junk, ass, trash, etc.
And you have a 50/50 chance to get the XP patch to work (the last version, 1.41, won't work on XP most of the time).
Its crap.
EPSXE rocks..that has got to be the finest emulator ever, console-wise.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 15 December 2003, 20:34   #13
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Well I have a modded working PSX so never bothered trying the emulators out.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 15 December 2003, 21:27   #14
Peanutuk
Registered User
Peanutuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The North, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,067
I tried muppet racemania and its too fast!!

How do I slow it down?
Peanutuk is offline  
Old 15 December 2003, 21:36   #15
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Wasn't there someone who had released a GUI frontend for epsxe where you could make configurations in the style of winUAE configs so you could setup the best config for a game and load that because there were some plugins which were better for some games while other games might require different setup?
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 15 December 2003, 21:49   #16
vertigo
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Drake1009
Wasn't there someone who had released a GUI frontend for epsxe?

Yep, its epsxe executer, I think its on Petes page and the epsxe site. I always use it.
 
Old 16 December 2003, 04:13   #17
Damage
 
Posts: n/a
try this guy he has heaps of stuff for psx emulators, Mainly VGS and epsxe.

http://www.aldostools.com/index2.html

 
Old 16 December 2003, 15:10   #18
Matfink
Junior Member
Matfink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Like, a citizen of the world man
Age: 39
Posts: 39
Send a message via MSN to Matfink Send a message via Skype™ to Matfink
Quote:
Originally posted by Peanutuk
I tried muppet racemania and its too fast!!

How do I slow it down?
in the video config menu, make sure the "use FPS limit" box is ticked, and select "autodetect FPS / Frameskip limit".
Matfink is offline  
Old 17 December 2003, 04:37   #19
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
Quote:
Well I have a modded working PSX so never bothered trying the emulators out.
yeah, likewise...

but i've got a non-modded PS2 which doesn't play ermm backups and my PSX is stashed away somewhere...

having bought a Sony PS2 to USB adaptor, so using an emulator seems like a great idea for my needs

plus, my video card has S-video out so i can link that to my whoppingly big TV thats sits in my computer room
Djay is offline  
Old 17 December 2003, 09:40   #20
Peanutuk
Registered User
Peanutuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The North, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,067
Is there any kind of exploit for the PS2 similar to the gamecube exploit?
Peanutuk is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emulation Help sandruzzo Coders. Tutorials 0 02 May 2013 09:33
PC Emulation DyLucke support.Apps 6 15 November 2009 06:39
Emulation....why do we do it? Jim Nostalgia & memories 35 02 April 2004 09:28
Emulation punkie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 11 May 2002 02:16
New to emulation, need some help a500 support.WinUAE 1 26 April 2002 02:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37615 seconds with 11 queries