English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 December 2003, 14:25   #1
Echo
Registered User
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South-West Wales
Posts: 382
FAT95 word of warning...

Now unless I've set up the mountlist completely wrong - which I would assume either works or doesn't, there is a serious bug in FAT95.

For those who don't know, FAT95 is a filesystem for Amiga, compatible with Windows - and provides long filename / mixed case support. Most useful for zip disks and other magneto optical media.

I recently changed to FAT95 instead of Ami File Safe, and started doing my Work/Workbench backups to FAT95 formatted zip disks. This had the benefit of being able to pop them into my PC's IDE zip drive and copy over my whole configuration for use with WinUAE.

All was great until the time came when I needed to restore due to losing the hd contents. Smaller (about 100K or less) files were fine, but it corrupted almost every large file I had. Executables would no longer run, pictures and animations were garbled - total nightmare.

So by all means use it as a transfer method from PC to Amiga, but don't use it for critical backups
Echo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 December 2003, 14:45   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Re: FAT95 word of warning...

Quote:
Originally posted by Echo
Smaller (about 100K or less) files were fine, but it corrupted almost every large file I had.

Change MaxTransfer to 64k (0x10000) or less.
thomas is offline  
Old 06 December 2003, 15:26   #3
Echo
Registered User
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South-West Wales
Posts: 382
Hmm, that's the cause?

This is my current mountlist:

Code:
/* ZIP Drive 0 mount file for FAT95 */

Device         = squirrelscsi.device
Unit           = 5
LowCyl         = 0
HighCyl        = 24575
Surfaces       = 1
Flags          = 0
Interleave     = 0
Reserved       = 2
StackSize      = 8192
BlocksPerTrack = 8
MaxTransfer    = 0x1ffff
Mask           = 0xffffffe
GlobVec        = -1
Buffers        = 200
FileSystem  = L:fat95
DosType     = 0x41465301
#
I'll give it a try on some test files, thanks
Echo is offline  
Old 06 December 2003, 17:48   #4
Echo
Registered User
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South-West Wales
Posts: 382
Nope, 0x10000 doesn't cure it I'm afraid. Frontier for example gives a "bad loadfile hunk" when copied to and restored from a FAT95 zip disk.

Could mask or dostype be the cause perhaps?
Echo is offline  
Old 06 December 2003, 21:45   #5
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Quote:
Originally posted by Echo
Nope, 0x10000 doesn't cure it I'm afraid. Frontier for example gives a "bad loadfile hunk" when copied to and restored from a FAT95 zip disk.

Could mask or dostype be the cause perhaps?
Yep, it's your dos type, it's AFS1 (read it as a hex code).
Severin is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FAT95 (and ANAIIS) Gilloo support.Hardware 0 19 September 2011 14:53
Help with Deneb and FAT95 RMK support.Hardware 3 09 March 2011 09:26
looking for FAT95 filesystem sourcecode voxel request.Apps 4 22 November 2010 13:42
FAT95 Installation sbeehre support.Other 28 03 April 2008 22:11
Fat95 THX1138 support.Apps 22 09 June 2004 12:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11599 seconds with 11 queries