English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 October 2003, 16:27   #1
Matfink
Junior Member
Matfink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Like, a citizen of the world man
Age: 39
Posts: 39
Send a message via MSN to Matfink Send a message via Skype™ to Matfink
HDInstTool

ok, this is a two part question......

1) Does this program only come in German? i've looked a few places but that's the only language i can find.

2) is this the best prog to use for installing HD's? i've just bought a 534mb 2.5" HD on ebay for the princely sum of 7.10, and while i'm waiting for it to arrive i thought i'd do a bit of research as to how to get the thing working. i DL'd HDinstTool, and ran it in WinUAE under both KS1.3 and 3.1, but i get an error message (in German, obviously) saying something along the lines of "icon not found". this HD is going to be put in a stock A1200, so is this the program to use?

thanks...
Matfink is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 October 2003, 17:02   #2
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
- Load the program.
- On the main screen, press the right mouse button, move the mouse to the "Preferences" option (second option from the left, entitled "Einstellungen" in German).
- Now select the first item in the list ("Language..." or "Sprache" in German). Select "English", click "OK", and the program switches back to English.

It uses your Locale settings by default - are you using a German Workbench disk? Have you set your system to German using the Extras disk?

The two best programs are HDToolBox (by Commodore, supplied with hard disk versions of the Amiga on the Install disk) and HDInstTools. The latter is more useful with drives larger than 4GB; I use whichever I can find first on my messy hard disk.
ant512 is offline  
Old 20 October 2003, 17:12   #3
Matfink
Junior Member
Matfink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Like, a citizen of the world man
Age: 39
Posts: 39
Send a message via MSN to Matfink Send a message via Skype™ to Matfink
cool, thanks! just got to wait till it arrives now...and then keep looking for a cheap expansion board on eBay and get WHDLoad going!
Matfink is offline  
Old 20 October 2003, 20:08   #4
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
There's an 8MB Blizzard 1230-IV on the UK eBay site at the moment (search for "Blizzard", currently going for 30) - undoubtedly the greatest Amiga hardware expansion ever created, and perfect for WHDLoad.
ant512 is offline  
Old 20 October 2003, 20:10   #5
Matfink
Junior Member
Matfink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Like, a citizen of the world man
Age: 39
Posts: 39
Send a message via MSN to Matfink Send a message via Skype™ to Matfink
woah, that looks cool. cheers for the heads-up!
Matfink is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10664 seconds with 10 queries