English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 October 2003, 23:07   #1
backtoskooldaze
Registered User
backtoskooldaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 103
Smile A500 disk based games to cd rom

Hi,Can anyone tell me if it's possible to transfer an A500 disc based game to cd rom so it can then be booted and played on an A500 with an A570 cd rom?????????
backtoskooldaze is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 October 2003, 08:44   #2
gary
Junior Member
gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 278
It is possible but not owning an A570 I'm not sure how they behave and what options you have.

1. Can you boot from an A570? Maybe you have to boot from floppy then continue on from CDROM?

2. How much memory do you have?

There aren't many games that are hard drive installable (and therefore able to be copied onto CDROM). Thanks to WHDload and JST there are now many more but some of them require Kickstart 2.0+ and usually at least 2 megs memory.

You should be able to get Amiga DOS games (eg: Wings/Monkey Islands 1 & 2) to work and the single-file games (Virus/IK+) but there are not many of them around.
gary is offline  
Old 21 October 2003, 10:33   #3
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 374
Yes it would be possible, you can boot up from a 570, but as Gary points out, you'll need more ram than a stock 500 offers and you'll probably need to put it up to wb2+ aswell for some games. For games that are stock HD installable (CIV,monkey island. ) (not many) you'd be able to get away with running them of a bootable CD on a stock a500 with 1MB ram.
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 21 October 2003, 16:39   #4
backtoskooldaze
Registered User
backtoskooldaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 103
Smile

Thanks for your replies
I have an a500 with a 1mb upgrade plus attached a 2mb ram upgrade then the a570.The 2mb extra ram upgrade is attached to the side of the A500 then the A570 is attached.
I have been playing loads of disk based games on the a500 but was wondering if there is a way to get them on to a cd instead that way it would be better to boot and play instead of the floppy disk swapping etc....
Also the disk based games can be played on an A600/A1200 with a cd rom if it's possible????

There must be a way to get disk based games on to a cd rom for any amiga surely???????
backtoskooldaze is offline  
Old 22 October 2003, 05:32   #5
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 374
sounds like your in business.... I'm drooling over the 2mb that you have in your 570, I just have a stock 570. What kickstart do you have?

I've ran games under whdload/jst from a cdrom on an amiga, you just need enough ram for it. The answer to your question is yes it possible and yes they would work with an a600/a1200 aslong as they have enough ram.
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 22 October 2003, 09:21   #6
gary
Junior Member
gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 278
Quote:
There must be a way to get disk based games on to a cd rom for any amiga surely???????
Sounds like there is still a little confusion.
YES You can play games from CDROM on any Amiga, *but* only those games that have been written in standard AmigaDOS format (eg: Monkey Island) or converted from the original floppy-disk-only format to standard AmigaDOS format (eg: WHDload/JST installs).

In other words most Amiga disk games are written specifically to load each part (level) from floppy disk (some even only from the internal drive). Reasons usually given for this was copy protection (they didn't want you to put them on hard disk because AmigaDOS files can be easily copied). Sometimes they were just lazy. An install program will usually 'fool' a floppy disk game into working as a large AmigaDOS file instead of a floppy disk. WHDload/JST installs also fix incompatibility problems and save the high scores as well.

RainbowIslands (not a AmigaDOS disk)
+ JST/WHDload
------------------------
AmigaDOS files

MonkeyIslands disks = AmigaDOS files

Copy the AmigaDOS files to hard disk or CDROM, setup up a startup-sequence perhaps add some memory and then the game should work.

To make matters more confusing there are some games (Ghosts'n'goblins) that do use AmigaDOS files but still can't run from hard disk/CDROM because the game still tries to use the floppy disk. There are installs available for those games too.
gary is offline  
Old 23 October 2003, 02:32   #7
Adeptus
epun umop ap!sdn
Adeptus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 285
Hey Gary,
How much of your CD32-200 would work on his A500? (if any)


(reminds me, gotta see if my friend has finished downloading it for me... I'm broadband-deprived... )
Adeptus is offline  
Old 23 October 2003, 05:01   #8
gary
Junior Member
gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 278
Assuming you've got enough memory (at least 2 meg in most cases) most of the WHDload games should work. The AGA games and CD32 specific games wouldn't work. Also the menu wouldn't work as it requires AGA.

To run the games you may have to boot from floppy, change directory to CD0:games/gamename
Then something like CD0:c/whdload game.slave

I don't have an A500 + CDrom so I don't know for sure. This is really just theoretical.
gary is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emulators List for Amiga 68000 -based (A500/600) superturrican2 request.Apps 2 01 February 2010 21:35
Which A500 SCSI interfaces are DMA-based? Photon support.Hardware 21 19 September 2009 20:32
Stampede - Disk based magazine stainy AMR contributions 8 03 January 2008 20:21
Cyberstorm MK2 and rom based cards MrZammler support.Hardware 14 20 June 2007 21:14
looking for Amiga disk based mag technium Looking for a game name ? 0 25 August 2004 11:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14472 seconds with 11 queries