English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 October 2003, 20:57   #1
Tony Landais
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 426
system-configuration editor

I am doing a CD32 compilation and i am looking for an editor for the system-configuration file to have a black WB in 320*256 2 colors and a black mousse pointer

I don t want to see the workbench when my apps load and i want to save the maximum memory possible
Tony Landais is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 October 2003, 21:08   #2
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
The system-configuration file is Workbench 1.x's equivalent of the IPrefs system. To edit it, you need to get a copy of the Workbench 1.3 disk.

Boot the WB1.3 disk, save the preferences as you'd like them using the standard WB prefs editor, then copy the system-configuration file from the WB disk to your CD-32 compilation.
ant512 is offline  
Old 17 October 2003, 21:13   #3
Tony Landais
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 426
the problem is the editor is too simple
you can t go lower than 4 colors and about the resolution it only propose to interlace or not so 640 256 or 640 512

is it possible to change it more ?
Tony Landais is offline  
Old 17 October 2003, 22:48   #4
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Quote:
I don t want to see the workbench when my apps load and i want to save the maximum memory possible
Then don't load workbench... If you don't have anything outputting to the cli, you won't get a cli window open either...
Severin is offline  
Old 17 October 2003, 22:52   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
Originally posted by Tony Landais
the problem is the editor is too simple
you can t go lower than 4 colors and about the resolution it only propose to interlace or not so 640 256 or 640 512

is it possible to change it more ?

Hasn't the CD32 Kickstart 3.1 ? With Kick 3.1 the screen stays black until the first screen or window is opened. Just ensure that no command outputs anything before your application starts.

As mentioned before the system-configuration file is limited to Kickstart 1.3 (and OCS chipset) features. The include file intuition/preferences.h contains the structure of the file. As far as I can see you can change the depth, width and height but not the resolution (so your 320 pixels will fill only half of the screen).

Last edited by thomas; 20 October 2003 at 10:54.
thomas is offline  
Old 20 October 2003, 08:15   #6
gary
Junior Member
gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 276
As said before if nothing echos text the initial CLI window won't open and I presume that will save you the most memory. I would have used that technique myself but I wanted to debug the startup/menus so what I did was:

1. Bootup an emulator with Kickstart 1.3 and use the 1.3 preferences program to change all colours to black, clear the mouse pointer and save the changes to system-configuration. It is obviously a little tricky as it is difficult to know where on screen to click but it can be done.

2. Use a program like 'add21k' or 'add44k' that reduces the current screen depth by 1 bitplane for a 2 colour workbench screen.
gary is offline  
Old 20 October 2003, 10:53   #7
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
How do you debug your startup files if you don't see anything on screen ?
thomas is offline  
Old 20 October 2003, 18:46   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
As soon as an error appears there is an output to the CLI and the window shows up, unless you have set FAILAT 21 (i think) which will not make the startup-sequence stop if there is an error in one line.
Akira is offline  
Old 21 October 2003, 07:24   #9
gary
Junior Member
gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally posted by thomas
How do you debug your startup files if you don't see anything on screen ?
I usually CTRL+D the startup or have a program like 'checkkey' to watch for ESC or something to break the startup-sequence. Then I have a command that uses a 'setprefs' program to use an alternative configuration than the default to change the colours/mouse to defaults so I can see what is going on.
gary is offline  
Old 23 October 2003, 08:28   #10
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Smile

I used SCT (set color table) by A. K. Levin. (PD)

Nice little tool ... but not on Aminet.
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turrican 2 Editor john4p request.Apps 31 19 October 2009 10:50
new text editor flipper Coders. Tutorials 8 17 December 2007 10:57
System is not validated! FFS (and I dont mean fast file system!) Macca support.Hardware 11 11 June 2007 13:04
system-configuration to save memory Tony Landais Coders. General 2 20 January 2004 21:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25157 seconds with 11 queries